Past #16: Scott Thompson - to retire end of 2019 season - thanks Scott

The quotes below really underline our culture, which is great to see. We don't need Buddy Franklin or Josh Gibson types at this club, that's for sure. Albeit that one is a star player and the other a B&F winner.

“The club approached me and my manager, Anthony McConville, about a month ago with a two year extension but I’m really keen to be a one-club player and we came to terms on an extra year on top of that,” Thompson toldNMFC.com.au.
“With the things going on at North at the moment, I’d be crazy to contemplate playing anywhere else. My future is here and this is the club that gave me an opportunity.”

It really is good news overload this week... Scotty T 'til 2017 is such an important signing. Saying all the right things in the article too.

Although going by the number of posts in this thread, it's nowhere near as important as the raging torrent of imaginary bullshit in the trade thread. Oh well.

when you think about it drip feeding the signings/extensions throughout trade week.......sends very clear messages throughout the footy community that we're doing the right things, this only helps getting a NDS for example to cross over. But to be honest its annoying the schizen out of me that we haven't scored a player of any note yet from another club.

Seriously not enough love for Hunter compared to other re-signings of late, possibly because noone was worried that he would leave? The "One club player" quote is testament to the bloke and the club. Fantastic result from one of our most important, if not most important player. :thumbsu:

I had no idea there was an imminent need to re-sign him, but stoked that we have. He's a vital part of our team and our team structure. Well done yet again Footy Dept, and well done and thank you Scotty T!! :thumbsu:

Seriously not enough love for Hunter compared to other re-signings of late, possibly because noone was worried that he would leave? The "One club player" quote is testament to the bloke and the club. Fantastic result from one of our most important, if not most important player. :thumbsu:
Of the three I thought only Cunnington was a breakthrough. Thomas and Thompson were never in doubt for mine, still good to hear though. Cunnington has only been at the club for four years and looks like breakin into the top tier of midfielders perhaps as soon as next year, locking him away until he's 26 was massive.

Reckon he will be a great loose man into his 30's once his days taking the key forwards are over. GUN!

I read that article with a huge smile on my face. Scotty is a ripper bloke and his quotes today just show how much he loves this club and shows the players are as excited with the recent news as we fans are. Congrats Scooter!

Sent from my Samsung iPhone using Tapatalk 4

tumblr_liqnr3tUu91qiunvpo1_500.gif

Awesome year. 19.6 disposals is a massive effort for such a defensive player. Would have pushed top 4 this year with a small defender as consistently stingy as Thompson. It's great to watch games and not give two ****s about the opposition's best full forwards with Thompson on the park.

Yep. You'd back him in against anyone these days.

Past #16: Scott Thompson - to retire end of 2019 season - thanks Scott