19 Red

can someone please tell me what fitzroys deal? round 1 they belted a supposedly good team from therry, but round 2 they just scraped over st emmaus leos, who arent very good at all. thoughts?

"can someone please tell me what fitzroys deal? round 1 they belted a supposedly good team from therry, but round 2 they just scraped over st emmaus leos, who arent very good at all. thoughts?"

with the change of lists in under 19's football, you don't really know who is good and who isn't good until about round 5-7.
Another thing is that the game was played in the wet for the first half.

rumers down at old xavs that milney has been replaced with a new cult hero. The Cashier...because he makes defenders pay. Old westbourne certainly saw that first hand, with wads of cash being handed to the cashman. Get around him! Just wat ive heard.

Fitzroy are the real deal . I think it is Leos you are underselling- they have lost in competitive games against two teams that will figure in finals. The Animals will be thereabouts too i think.

yeah fair point mate, but how sure are you that olx xavs will be up there in the finals? Last year they almost missed the finals due to a miserable second half of the season. seem to have started well this year though.

rumers down at old xavs that milney has been replaced with a new cult hero. The Cashier...because he makes defenders pay. Old westbourne certainly saw that first hand, with wads of cash being handed to the cashman. Get around him! Just wat ive heard.

Welcome to the thread cashier.

u19redfan, how many goals is the cashier aiming to kick this year? will it be enough to charge the old xavs into the finals? thanks.

not knowing the bloke all that well i would be just guessing, but i think it would be fair to say that he would be looking to pass milney's mark of 20 goals last year. i hear that is the challenge coach has thrown down to him. will be interesting to see how he goes...i for one will be following him. consider me on the wagon.

20 goals for the year??? and he is your key forward???

20 goals from a key forward from 18 games is a poor return...you would hope more from a cult figure...or is he a cult figure because he isn't very good but he is likable anyway?

"rumers down at old xavs that milney has been replaced with a new cult hero. The Cashier...because he makes defenders pay. Old westbourne certainly saw that first hand, with wads of cash being handed to the cashman. Get around him! Just wat ive heard."

i think that would mean he is a forward

Just want to say its very disappointing to see the Reds not up a division, after blitzing it the last few years. Its a credit to their coach, staff etc. to develop these boys the way they have and go no where with their football. Don't see many boys in the rep side from 19 north, but you do see a few from 19-3. Surely they would benefit from the tougher competition, or are they still contemplating what happened in the last 30 mins last year! majority of those boys are much better footballers than the level they are playing. Good on ya boys! Hope ya get done like last year!

I see they play the 2nd 19's team at Rupo tomorrow and more than likely will smash them as well. Though cant entirely blame them for not putting their hands up to go up a Div. if the VAFA haven't got the balls and be pro-active and force these Bogans through the grades, but I guess that's typical of the VAFA....just sit on their hands and it might, just might go away.....Lets hope Rupo kick more than 1 goal this week, otherwise more ink could be produced !!!!!!;)

In actual fact we did "put our hand up" to go into section 3, and were going to play there in '07. Unfortunately, about 3 or 4 weeks before round 1, the VAFA advised that because a lot of clubs that had intended to field Under 19sides in North weren't going ahead, we were forced back into North section. We would like nothing better than to be competing in section 3, and hope to do so next year. Maybe you need to do a bit of homework and research the facts before you start launching your slings and arrows, then again, why let the facts get in the way of a good story hey?

what do people think of last weeks results? only real suprise result was emmaus beating de la.....anyone see that game? reds look the team to beat, but old xavs thumping win over NOBs is good for them with therry next week. de la vs fitzroy: match of the round

I ventured out to see the Reds v Rupo game at Sunbury. From what I was told Rupo is virtually their u16's team from last year. They will struggle to beat most teams this year but from what I saw will battle out the 100 minutes. The Rupo coach (bald bloke) 'scarey man', needs to take some valium or do something else to release some of that aggression,......Wasn't overly impressed with Reds as they rely too much on a couple of players. Especially (# 4). It seemed that the instructions from the coach was to at all times kick to number 4. Basically on most kicks out and in general play around the ground the ball was directed to him. All Rupo did was run a tag and frustrate the crap out of him. And I can tell you he didn't like it either, neither did their runner with the dreds. ......was a couple of funny incidents with the skinny tagger for Rupo, yapping away at #4. I dont think he realised where his accent was from and thought he was taking the piss out of him, and the hulk hogan impersonation of # 10 for the Reds was a classic. Enjoyable game too watch !!!!! ;)

Seeing as 4 of the teams fitzroy have beaten have been in the bottom 3, and the other has lost 1 of 2 and had a bye from it's other games, i reckon the fitzroy kids should just settle down a bit; too early for yapping about why they're not in grade 3 - especially as you'll upset ninja.

I'm not saying they aren't the best at the moment, nor am i saying they are, but either way they are in north and haven't 'smashed' any seemingly quality teams yet. I'd wager that they'd finish bottom 4 of div. 3 anyway (hypothetically). Just hold your horses until the straight fellas.

Cheers.

Seeing as 4 of the teams fitzroy have beaten have been in the bottom 3, and the other has lost 1 of 2 and had a bye from it's other games, i reckon the fitzroy kids should just settle down a bit; too early for yapping about why they're not in grade 3 - especially as you'll upset ninja.

I'm not saying they aren't the best at the moment, nor am i saying they are, but either way they are in north and haven't 'smashed' any seemingly quality teams yet. I'd wager that they'd finish bottom 4 of div. 3 anyway (hypothetically). Just hold your horses until the straight fellas.

Cheers.

Beaten 4 in the bottom 3? Maths not my strong suit, but does that make sense, 4 into 3? Anyway, maybe one of the reasons those teams are near the bottom is because Fitzroy beat them, thus putting them there?
As far as upsetting Ninja, not at all, just pointing out some facts to those that didn't know them.
(And I haven't seen any evidence here of the Fitzroy kids getting carried away with themselves.)

19 Red