Past #19: Sam Wright - "Mr September" - retiring from AFL in Round 20 - thanks Slammin' Sam

Posted this in another thread, probably more suited to here.

We don't have a suitable 'type' of player on the list to be a sub.

A quick offensive player who can find space and have an impact.

If anything it's poor list management.

Other teams subs are who??? Stokes, Nahas, ect. It's the type we don't have.

He should have played VFL. Garner, Daw or Harper should have been sub. His form prior to his injury was far from outstanding, I fail to see how he is an automatic inclusion.

I said this in the changes thread last week. Why rush players back in from injury when we have almost a full list to choose from and players outside the 22 are in good form. When fit he is best 18 but he is not in the top 5-6 who you rush back in.

The worst part was wasting the sub in a forward and then defensive role instead of letting him run riot in the middle.

Like others have said it mattered not. His first kick was a turnover that lead to a goal and then his dropped mark lead to another... so?

2 blokes in exactly the same situation late in the last when the team needs them more than ever.

1 delivers & his side wins and 1 doesn't and his gets beat.

Heartbreaking stuff :(

Got to hand it to Andy Krakouer in getting the Pies over the line.

2 blokes in exactly the same situation late in the last when the team needs them more than ever.

1 delivers & his side wins and 1 doesn't and his gets beat.

Heartbreaking stuff :(

Got to hand it to Andy Krakouer in getting the Pies over the line.

Did he have every tom,dick and harry telling him how to kick it.
Getting really sick of this when our team has a shot at goal.

I reckon he should of run around on his left.

One is a small goal kicking indigenous player who shares the same genes as one of our most gifted small men, the other is a white half forward who has been expertly developed as a defender, midfield tagger and half forward.

Tas I don't mind a lot of your posts but that's just a crock of shit.

You just described Paul Duffield or Brent Staker and they nailed one's yesterday when their side needed them the most.

2 arms, 2 legs & a footy......!!!

Who kicked a ripper goal from the pocket in the same match, a goal Krakouer would be envious of.

You just described Paul Duffield or Brent Staker and they nailed one's yesterday when their side needed them the most.

I'm not so sure. Very different skill sets. I question what Wright was doing before training in his junior years though. I'm not sure why so many rush their way through those situations. Geelong forwards have got it sorted

ummm guys
nic nat last qtr
same position hit the post too
more importantly
wright needs to muscle up too skinny

This is true. We look at Blacks disallowed mark and that shot may have missed too.

Both Naitanui and Wright would have iced those shots in the first quarter.

Andrews got it in his genes.

Yeah but you're oversimplifying it a bit. Did you ever watch Jim Krakouer play? It's in Andrew Krakouers blood to do that. Duffield and Staker aren't even regular first team players. They got lucky.

lol do you honestly believe that? If Staker took that shot 10 times he probably would be lucky to nail it twice, he got lucky. Black probably would have got it 5 or 6 times. Gene pool does not create a level playing field, look in the mirror and look at Daw, that is all you need to do. ;)

Shane Harvey..............................................................

Past #19: Sam Wright - "Mr September" - retiring from AFL in Round 20 - thanks Slammin' Sam