1st round draft pick 2010

I reckon we must have him earmarked for specialist back pocket.

He's good defensively, has speed and while there are varying accounts on his height, I think he looks closer to the 190cm mark, with good reach. He loves to provide some rebound too so he'd keep his opponent accountable.

It's the only scenario that makes any sense to me. His selection can release Smith, Sheppard, Hurn etc further up the ground.

Fair summation, definitely loves to provide rebound.

Is he any good though?

Yep, I reckon he can play. Bringing a bit more mongrel, as someone else so eloquently put it :p, into the team as well. Real competitor, but so was monkey, so no surprise there.:thumbsu:

If the scenario eventuates that no one else bids on him, we can take him with our last pick in the ND, so that's not too bad.

According to the AFL were almost certain to select Gaff with 4, but why? TBH he's kicking seems a bit suss, and he tends to take to long to dispose of the pill, has good pace, without being exceptional, but hardly ever uses it in the game. I'd be able to accept us picking him at 4, but I'd much rather Heppell, Polec or even Smith or Atley.

Bigfooty untruth more than anything. Hes not going to be delivering Hurn-like laser beams into the forward line, but he hits his targets, is creative with plenty of poise and time. His kicking even at this stage would still be an improvement over 85% of the players in our team. Would be thrilled if we got him.

Yer same tesseract....

And to bighit, my mistake. I too, would prefer Gaff over Heppel. Though I'm still not 100% keen in Victorians after Judd... Feels safer taking SA/WA boys.

Yer same tesseract....

And to bighit, my mistake. I too, would prefer Gaff over Heppel. Though I'm still not 100% keen in Victorians after Judd... Feels safer taking SA/WA boys.
what, judd is only victorian to have played out of victoria? blown out of proportion. we have had some excellent victorian players over the years. besides, we got some excellent draft picks and players in return (what we did with those is irrelevant). good thing about recruiting vic players is that if they do want to return, there are plenty of clubs willing. almost worth taking them over sa/wa boys just for that.

but at same time, if we arent keen on players because they are victorian, shows disrespect and it can only help players to choose to leave. self filling prophecy.

Yer same tesseract....

Completely Agree with Galileo9, Moreover we have to go for the best available talent at pick 4 doesnt matter if its a Victorian and i reckon its Gaff after looking at the Draft Combine Results this guy has everything that we need, An elite kick,has speed, good user of the football.

what, judd is only victorian to have played out of victoria? blown out of proportion. we have had some excellent victorian players over the years. besides, we got some excellent draft picks and players in return (what we did with those is irrelevant). good thing about recruiting vic players is that if they do want to return, there are plenty of clubs willing. almost worth taking them over sa/wa boys just for that.

but at same time, if we arent keen on players because they are victorian, shows disrespect and it can only help players to choose to leave. self filling prophecy.

No disrespect is shown to Victorians because the supposed Victorian we may have been likely to select wouldn't know the reason WC overlooked him. Said Victorian can't take offense at a reasoning he knows nothing of.

WC have discretion to chose who they like. WC ain't apartheid South Africa with affirmative action being implemented. There's no quota of Victorians WC must have.

Some draftniks have compared Gaff to Cousins in style of play, so nothing to sneeze at. For all those that are advocating Heppell, how many have seen footage of him playing midfield?

Gaff seems like a really solid, hard-working midfielder. Hence, do not want! I want Heppell for his exceptional kicking skills, or Polec for his pace and arrogance.
This.
We have enough endurance based, accumulating midfielders.
We need players who can damage the opposition. Polec and Heppell can do that.

I imagine we have talked to both Heppell (he's the one for me) and Gaff, but does anyone have any info on which players we have talked to at the Draft Combine? It might give us insight into who we are looking at.

This.
We have enough endurance based, accumulating midfielders.
We need players who can damage the opposition. Polec and Heppell can do that.

Yep, that why I'm in the Polec camp. WC need the variety that he brings and his game breaking flair. Goals from an attack minded Wingman will help take the scoring burden somewhat off our forwards too.
Polec offers something different from anything we currently have. A run and carry player will go a ways in preventing the continuance of boring predictable same ol, same ol, handball fest, when we have someone who can receive and break away from the contest with run.

I do think that Heppell and Gaff's game will hold up better in finals type games though.

I definitely wouldn't be unhappy if we were to select Gaff or Heppell. Gaff is a Wingman, I've been calling for one and he's quality, so no complaints from me if we were to select him.
If Heppell has the tank to play on a Wing, and actually gets played there, I'd be very happy with that too.

Pick 4 needs to be used to select the best Wingman that remains left in the draft at our pick.

not sure id go polec in the footage ive seen think smith is better. polecs kicking looks a little sus at times and on goal isnt the best but gets plenty of it and shows good poise and run. smith just seems a better decision maker though and a bit tougher (better tackler that is for sure). but we seem to have cooled on both havent seen any results for either.

so my order would be heppell, smith, lynch, gaff, polec, lamb, darling hopefully we can get some upgrades for mckinley and spangher. if lamb is gone would go andreoli. pick 35 is still good le cras our best player was around this mark so can get some good pics later. think darling will slide because of his current health issues and others overtaking think he might still be there for the mid 20's

not sure id go polec in the footage ive seen think smith is better. polecs kicking looks a little sus at times and on goal isnt the best but gets plenty of it and shows good poise and run. smith just seems a better decision maker though and a bit tougher (better tackler that is for sure). but we seem to have cooled on both havent seen any results for either.

so my order would be heppell, smith, lynch, gaff, polec, lamb, darling hopefully we can get some upgrades for mckinley and spangher. if lamb is gone would go andreoli. pick 35 is still good le cras our best player was around this mark so can get some good pics later. think darling will slide because of his current health issues and others overtaking think he might still be there for the mid 20's

I think it's better to choose a player on base attributes rather than current draftee comparisons that compare them to other current draftees. We know that players develop at different rates and that some early picks get surpassed by lower ranked players sooner or later.

While Polec looked ordinary on the clip, it goes against what has been spoken of his football feats throughout the year.

Just on player choice E4L, as D&M mentioned, do you believe we need anymore tougher types like Smith as you've mentioned, considering the young similar types we have already? Team balance must surely be a consideration when drafting. Best available doesn't always makes sense. It's possible to build a team of best available, with all being the same type, half of them not playing due to having too many of the same type, which leads to a lack of quality in other areas which could possibly impede the club from winning and progression.

Our early picks are predominantly tough Inside Midfielders. Yet we have so many at present, we can't even play them all in the same side. Another tough IM with pick 4 makes no sense whatsoever, hence my previous post on the need for a Wingman.
WC have too many Inside Midfielders and HBF's. We're bursting at the seams with them. WC have so many, that it'll be hard to give them all a regular game time to satisfy them. WC will lose good, promising players because of a lack of opportunity from this. Why do you and so many others want even more on top of the over abundance we have. Think it through. It's the same mistake our list managers have made. They're professionals and they've still f***** up.

*What WC need, IMO, is an A-grade Wingman. We should get that at pick#4. Positional quality balance and team balance dictate this.
*A 197cm+ Full Forward, who can pinch hit in the Ruck, so Naitanui can rest forward. The days of playing 2 linear Ruckman are coming to an end. We need to ready ourselves and be prepared for the change, so as to not be left behind and suffer the consequence; which will be loses, due to a change in interchange format and the effects that will have on rotations.
Such a player is required in preparations for the seasons we won't have Cox around. Picking such a player now allows development time while Cox is still playing and mentoring.
* A quality FP. I hold out little hope for the rookies we select. If we want quality, we can't bypass it in the ND; even if it means using a pick in the teens or 20's or whatever pick we have at around that stage.

Yep, that why I'm in the Polec camp. WC need the variety that he brings and his game breaking flair. Goals from an attack minded Wingman will help take the scoring burden somewhat off our forwards too.
Polec offers something different from anything we currently have. A run and carry player will go a ways in preventing the continuance of boring predictable same ol, same ol, handball fest, when we have someone who can receive and break away from the contest with run.

I do think that Heppell and Gaff's game will hold up better in finals type games though.

I definitely wouldn't be unhappy if we were to select Gaff or Heppell. Gaff is a Wingman, I've been calling for one and he's quality, so no complaints from me if we were to select him.
If Heppell has the tank to play on a Wing, and actually gets played there, I'd be very happy with that too.

Pick 4 needs to be used to select the best Wingman that remains left in the draft at our pick.

Can Gaff play anywhere else other than wing. Can he rotate on the ball, back or forward?

Heppell can play pretty much anywhere and can also release / rotate with Sheppard and Smith onto a wing.

I've mentioned before that I'm in the Heppell camp; however, I would be happy with the following scenario: If Bennell is signed by GC, trade pick 4 to GC for him and the Krak - we'd get exactly what we need, and the GC would have the first 5 picks and the flexibility of drafting that'd go with that. I think that would suit both parties.

That doesn't make sense. U want the eagles to trade pick 4 for Bennel and Krakeour? Bennel is a #2 draft pick. It just doesn't make sense.

ok calm down teseract

if u read all of what i read i agree on the winger just think lamb would be for us and if not im more than happy with andreoli? even though i think there are a number of players on our list currently who do ok at this role now or will in time ie houlihan, rosa, stevenson, shepperd, oakley-nichols, ash smith. i agree on the tall which is y to be honest i would trade cox now and get the draft picks we need for this player or better kids. i know people dont like the idea and i love the big guy but lets face it he is the only player on our list that wont be there next time round that will get something above decent.

as for brodie smith it was a personal opinion the toughness i was mostly refering to was his ability to take a hit and still get the ball to a team mate to actually tackle the opposition and be rewarded (not many of our current players do this). but as for him being an inside player i think he is also an outside player he bursts away from and through packs, has decent skills and is a good size as well as having a good footy brain. which is why i was asking about him in terms of results at the camp as i havent really heard anything

Can Gaff play anywhere else other than wing. Can he rotate on the ball, back or forward?

Heppell can play pretty much anywhere and can also release / rotate with Sheppard and Smith onto a wing.

I'm unsure if Gaff can rotate anywhere other than to the centre square. I would say a midfield rotation role is likely if he were to play any other position. When playing on a wing, rotating to other positions isn't as necessary. With all the running a Wingman does, they need a spell on the bench, rather than a rotation to another on field position.
Woosha would test his utility with a season as a HFF.:(

I've heard that Heppell is a Midfielder/HBF. I haven't heard of Heppell as a noted Outside Midfielder who can become a viable Wingman though. If Heppell has the tank and the nous to be a long term option for a place on the wing, then I'm not against his selection.
As good as Heppell sounds, we have the least need of an IM and HBF utility.

While it sounds good to play Smith on the wing, I don't see that happening until he develops the required tank. A BP, HBF, HFF is his go for the meantime, IMO.

Utility is somewhat overrated. Staker is utility+, he's a jack of all trades, but a master of none. Whoever WC get with pick 4, they better be A-grade in their favoured position. Utility be damned. Competent and average in another position while resting is enough.