Certified Legendary Thread 2 x Premiership Coach Chris Scott contracted to 2026 (aka the Chris Scott volumes

More attacking and less controlling. And he has to give more young players a chance.
I wonder if the defensive gameplay is too taxing on the young players and ironically enough the attacking gameplay is too taxing on the older players

it just seems we never get the balance right, so it may come down to what list the GFC focuses on moving forward for next year …the old list …or the young list

If chris goes 2, we may not have a coach 4 2022, a lot of posters on here reckon the 2011 team coached themselves, well
maybe we just have joel and danger captain coaches and we should finish at least 3rd or 4th coaching themselves.

That way we can still have griggy and the girls running out the water bottles and cutting up oranges win win.

Did Scott ever talk about ball in hand defence?

Wasn't that Scarlett in a radio interview talking about that, it's just that I don't recall Scott saying that
Scarlett publicly said it but I have absolutely no doubt that its a directive from Scott, as we went further and further towards a possession based gameplan and defence from 2014 onwards.

I wonder if the defensive gameplay is too taxing on the young players and ironically enough the attacking gameplay is too taxing on the older players

it just seems we never get the balance right, so it may come down to what list the GFC focuses on moving forward for next year …the old list …or the young list
Football is a simple game. Things slightly changed from the 80s to the 90s to the 2000s to now, but ultimately mids in their mid to late 20s win flags, you need an age profile that has youth and experience, you need a good ruckman and teams with a strong spine win flags.

WCE of the 90s would be as good now as they were then, ditto Lions of 01/02/03, ditto Geelong 07, and Hawks 2013.

We play too defensive. We also play a style that I think Scott adopted from Hawks which is far more control of the ball. But Hawthorn had pace in their teams and moved the ball far more quickly than we do.

It does but it does for all teams in an 18 team competition.

richmond had a gun 4 but then fell away too.

there wasnt a team that i thought we wouldnt beat in the 2012-13 and 2016-19 period on talent and our home and away records show that.

I think last year was the best not just because we made the grand final
But because that middle tier really lifted. It’s a cliche to talk aboit the bottom six and you probably have a point in that every team’s bottom six are ordinary but it felt to me last year like our middle tier lifted - Menegola, Guthrie, your mate Blicavs, stanley played some reasonable footy, bews was ok, tuohy was impressive, Rohan played some good footy and even played a good final

It was mentioned a few posts ago that we have that attacking football in us but seem to shelve it towards the end of the season - and it’s true to a degree.

I wonder though if it’s a combination of a) other teams regularly seem more frenetic than us, more crazed almost, in finals. So if we have that deficit in attack on the ball and the opponent, it doesn’t matter what gameplan we have, we won’t have the opportunity to implement it if our pressure and all our intensity is below that of the opposition, b) when we DO get games on our terms, our default is still a slower more methodical and defensive style of play - I wonder sometimes if that’s a subconscious acknowledgement of the generally messy and lower scoring footy that the successful teams have used over the last five years, we just try and do it a bit too strategically.

What I mean is, even allowing for having two gun key forwards and a freak midfielder-forward, Richmond you’d hardly say were a smooth attacking unit. Their success was still built around a very tight defence. It sometimes seems to me as though weve thought ‘ok defence is winning flags, we can do that too but we will make our defensive style a more system based one with and without the ball.’ We’d have been better served just playing entirely negative and deliberately messy footy

It's irrelevant how you feel about such a trivial thing a week or 2 after our season has finished.
Have some patience.
Off season extends now until next year. Why the need for instant gratification?
If the club had any news, of course we would be in formed.
Just because Carlton and Collingwood have made big calls- and they had to- we have nothing to declare. You already know all our assistants have left. Do you think they have already been replaced?
Maybe they’ll never tell us, and we’ll all die wondering 🤣

You’re absolutely right - we’ll find out when we find out. It’s more important for the club to get to work on organising the replacements at this stage.

Either assistants all walked or were pushed - both not great, fresh ideas needed but this is an exodus or clean out.

Something makes me feel Scotty is being told he has to accept entering his last year without an extension

I hope scotty can be supported to be the Geelong person he claims to be and pass the Batton -

Radio silence could be Yze or Giansiracusa both assistants in granny- being selected as in coming coach with a transition year with Scotty-

At least I ****ing hope so

We can’t extend Scotty over the summer- we can let him fight for his job in his last year and we can explore late next year but **** me let’s have some bravery and put the club first

If Scott loves Geelong he will be willing to do either of the above and it’s his choice

Do we have the players to play a more attacking style though? With such an old list (I assume of Scott's making), do we have the players that can execute such a style that is more physically demanding of players?

2020 - we got away with it until the last two quarters of the season, because of less games and shorter quarters.
2021 - we couldn't get away with it, so the slower 'controlled' game plan had to be used to help preserve the older legs. But that came crashing down anyway once finals arrived.

Do we have the players to play a more attacking style though? With such an old list (I assume of Scott's making), do we have the players that can execute such a style that is more physically demanding of players?

2020 - we got away with it until the last two quarters of the season, because of less games and shorter quarters.
2021 - we couldn't get away with it, so the slower 'controlled' game plan had to be used to help preserve the older legs. But that came crashing down anyway once finals arrived.

Love that insight.

As for potential faster placed game plan - Evans, Simpson, Narkle, Parfitt and hopefully Krueger and Clarke could all offer some pace

As could SDK over hendo

haven’t seen much of him but stevens looks mobile

Also skilled disposal moves the ball as quick as anything and in terms of the above you can add Stewart to that as he missed finals

In terms of home and away Duncan missed a lot of games, Simpson has a great ability to change angles and missed a lot of games, Cameron can roam up the wings and offer a target and missed a lot of games and so did danger

Not all doom

We do and we see glimpse of it on and off over the years…the issue is for whatever reason the list cannot sustain it

They are 2 different words that are spelt differently

Just that some people decide to spell them the same way - generally though the media gets it right
They are actually spelt the same, but we can add a hyphen
Resign = to quit, as you said.
Re-sign = to sign again

Football is a simple game. Things slightly changed from the 80s to the 90s to the 2000s to now, but ultimately mids in their mid to late 20s win flags, you need an age profile that has youth and experience, you need a good ruckman and teams with a strong spine win flags.

WCE of the 90s would be as good now as they were then, ditto Lions of 01/02/03, ditto Geelong 07, and Hawks 2013.

We play too defensive. We also play a style that I think Scott adopted from Hawks which is far more control of the ball. But Hawthorn had pace in their teams and moved the ball far more quickly than we do.
Sam Mitchell was the key to the hawks premiership years. Without him, it's an even money bet on the game being a contested v an uncontested one. He was able to get it on their terms so effectively from the stoppage. From there it was like watching a boring and unstoppable kick-mark machine going through its paces.

Either assistants all walked or were pushed - both not great, fresh ideas needed but this is an exodus or clean out.

Something makes me feel Scotty is being told he has to accept entering his last year without an extension

I hope scotty can be supported to be the Geelong person he claims to be and pass the Batton -

Radio silence could be Yze or Giansiracusa both assistants in granny- being selected as in coming coach with a transition year with Scotty-

At least I ******* hope so

We can’t extend Scotty over the summer- we can let him fight for his job in his last year and we can explore late next year but fu** me let’s have some bravery and put the club first

If Scott loves Geelong he will be willing to do either of the above and it’s his choice

Long been reported and reported yet again today that Scott will sign an extension over summer

I wonder if the appointments of Boris and Scarlo were not by CS, but by Cook to appease the unrest related to unhappy departures by our immortals.
And that if he re-signs for a long tenure, it's on the proviso he chooses the assistants?

Madness - who are we bidding against for his services? His well-being or the clubs? I’m not saying sack him but im also not sure what we are basing our faith on that he is the best man for the next five years

Im sure those that have long been reporting it didn’t see the assistant exodus coming

Likely to sign over summer… likely that behind closed doors no one knows where these exciting times will finally settle

It was mentioned a few posts ago that we have that attacking football in us but seem to shelve it towards the end of the season - and it’s true to a degree.

I wonder though if it’s a combination of a) other teams regularly seem more frenetic than us, more crazed almost, in finals. So if we have that deficit in attack on the ball and the opponent, it doesn’t matter what gameplan we have, we won’t have the opportunity to implement it if our pressure and all our intensity is below that of the opposition, b) when we DO get games on our terms, our default is still a slower more methodical and defensive style of play - I wonder sometimes if that’s a subconscious acknowledgement of the generally messy and lower scoring footy that the successful teams have used over the last five years, we just try and do it a bit too strategically.

What I mean is, even allowing for having two gun key forwards and a freak midfielder-forward, Richmond you’d hardly say were a smooth attacking unit. Their success was still built around a very tight defence. It sometimes seems to me as though weve thought ‘ok defence is winning flags, we can do that too but we will make our defensive style a more system based one with and without the ball.’ We’d have been better served just playing entirely negative and deliberately messy footy
It's clear that getting outnumbered and pressured around the ball is our Achilles heel. And this ramps up in finals. We just don't like it hot. And we don't look like we're willing to work hard enough for one another. That's the one thing that has really gone backwards over the past few years. For me it's not about gameplan but probably conditioning and/or teamwork or something. We always seem to be nursing ourselves through to Sept and falling into bad habits at the wrong time.

Yes....obvious he will get an extension...I would assume a 2 to 3 year extension taking him to the end of 2024/25

Hide the razor blades..

I wonder if the appointments of Boris and Scarlo were not by CS, but by Cook to appease the unrest related to unhappy departures by our immortals.
And that if he re-signs for a long tenure, it's on the proviso he chooses the assistants?
Interesting theory. Though I do seem to recall Scott being quite vocal about the trust he had in his assistants. Which makes the exodus even more fascinating. If Scott were to have his pick of the bunch, who do you think he would select?

Madness - who are we bidding against for his services? His well-being or the clubs? I’m not saying sack him but im also not sure what we are basing our faith on that he is the best man for the next five years

Im sure those that have long been reporting it didn’t see the assistant exodus coming

Likely to sign over summer… likely that behind closed doors no one knows where these exciting times will finally settle

The reports of Scott signing an extension came after Simon Lloyd gave a pre-match interview in early August where he spoke about both parties being happy to extend the relationship

One thing he did mention which raised my eyebrow more than the contract extension was the mention of it being a long term extension - so maybe back a couple of months ago those behind the scenes were anticipating that there may be some changes coming and that there were looking at stability in the form of the senior coach across this period

After he signed his last contract I said would wait until the last season of this deal before looking at where things stood, but there's a number of senior coaches out of contract at the end of next season and if the club doesn't want to lose Scott I can understand why they would want to extend the relationship sooner than later

Again all I’ll say is any reporting pre prelim and pre exodus of assistants is not relevant. We were going to offer hendo an extension l, not sure we should stick with that plan either.

Not sure who we are prioritising by extending him,

At best -I’d like to offer him a years extension but front load it so if we have to pay him out end of next then we can without to much of a hit.

Scott has said it’s not a very good job mid year and this is with a plethora of senior talented players and being top four -what makes us think he is up for or capable of a rebuild. Is it his positive relationship with the youth and future of the club?

Happy to risk losing him if he demands more from us then the offer of a front ended one year extension. To me that would show he is either to self serving or insecure to be the right man for next five years

Again all I’ll say is any reporting pre prelim and pre exodus of assistants is not relevant. We were going to offer hendo an extension l, not sure we should stick with that plan either.

Not sure who we are prioritising by extending him,

At best -I’d like to offer him a years extension but front load it so if we have to pay him out end of next then we can without to much of a hit.

Scott has said it’s not a very good job mid year and this is with a plethora of senior talented players and being top four -what makes us think he is up for or capable of a rebuild. Is it his positive relationship with the youth and future of the club?

Happy to risk losing him if he demands more from us then the offer of a front ended one year extension. To me that would show he is either to self serving or insecure to be the right man for next five years

Happy to risk losing him? Of course you are..you,ve been calling for his head for weeks...

Every man and his dog knows Scott is going to be offered an extension and I am happy to go out on a limb and predict it will be more than one year...

Chris Scott self serving? To a degree like any of us, but giving up your salary during the pandemic so others could keep their job indicates there's more to him than just that..

Chris Scott insecure?.....er...no...

Time to change the narrative mate and hit the reality button, no matter how much it pains you to do so.

Yes....obvious he will get an extension...I would assume a 2 to 3 year extension taking him to the end of 2024/25

Hide the razor blades..
we'll be in part 9 of this in no time....

Gonna have to go to Star Wars references for that many parts.... wow

GO Catters

Happy to risk losing him? Of course you are..you,ve been calling for his head for weeks...

Every man and his dog knows Scott is going to be offered an extension and I am happy to go out on a limb and predict it will be more than one year...

Chris Scott self serving? To a degree like any of us, but giving up your salary during the pandemic so others could keep their job indicates there's more to him than just that..

Chris Scott insecure?.....er...no...

Time to change the narrative mate and hit the reality button, no matter how much it pains you to do so.

All right all right, I hope management meet the moment that’s all— security manifests many different ways- but I’ll pipe down as I understand it could be a bore.

I actually like the guy so if man and dog are correct .. who would compliment Scotty. Mark Williams is raved about - Caracella has influence wherever he goes - don pyke credited with Sydney’s attacking turnaround they are invested where they are but who out there fits the bill- as these suggest it matters we get this right

To me if the plan has always been to extend we must be a little worried about lack of assistants with Collingwood taken a lot of assistant candidates off the market as will Carlton.

Could Steven King return from doggies?
If lappin leaves can we offer the long contract to Daniel Giansiracusa or Yze

If we need a development role outgoing dees Jones is a clubman’s clubman and if he has teaching skill set - given what he has endured at melb over his journey could support young draftees well I imagine

Given his relocation to the region in the twilight I would love to keep Isaac post playing days as an assistant coach - potential for Grigg to graduate to coaches box and Smith take his role end of next

Stevie J could assist with more attacking ball movement I imagine

Is Lloyds position looked at?

Lyon could be a candidate for Lloyd

Certified Legendary Thread 2 x Premiership Coach Chris Scott contracted to 2026 (aka the Chris Scott volumes