2011 Official AFL Fixture

Carlton's draw is very nice :). Only four interstate games, one of them the Suns first game ever.

We play Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, Sydney, Melbourne and St.Kilda twice. Given that we're always going to play Collingwood, Essendon and Richmond twice, they've given us two games against one team that was clearly better than us in 2010, one team clearly worse and one roughly the same.

probably the easiest draw we have had in some time. No excuses to not make top 4 or even top 2 thats for sure.

Interesting quote this morning made...

But the AFL has acknowledged their rivals' desperation to play the Pies in high-drawing home encounters means they will always have a leg up on rivals.

perhaps in the future the other clubs might want to think twice about requesting home games against us or maybe the AFL can just deny the requests. Cant win either way, your going to piss someone off.

Yet another dream draw for Geelong, no surprises there
2luyotk.jpg

Collingwood, St Kilda, Geelong twice (and in Geelong for the 37th year on the trot) and two trips to WA before round 4. From a football POV it's as tough as it could possibly come for a side that didn't play finals. MCG once is bullshit.

Commercially, looks better than last year.

Collingwood have done well (not that it will matter that much).

If Melbourne don't play finals with this draw they are taking the piss.

Not overly happy with Brisbane's draw but mainly because our first 6 weeks minus the bye are a bit rough. Tougher teams at the Gabba and easier teams away at least, but the other way around to instill some confidence with a few wins might have been better. Gets better as the season goes on though and it'll most likely be a development year by the looks of it regardless.

Very excited for a lot of matchups on there though and it looks like I'll hopefully get to see some teams I enjoy watching (North, Port) on free-to-air a little more than this year. North have it rough though, I would have picked them making finals easily but playing the tougher teams twice is going to test them.

Thank god Freo have three games at the MCG this year (a couple definitely winnable as well), they have a tough start to the season but if they can grab some wins in the first bunch of rounds they can hopefully push up the ladder.

Now the hard part is waiting...:(

Yet another dream draw for Geelong, no surprises there

You're on drugs aren't ya???

We have 6 interstate trips - 2 to Perth, Syd, Bris, GC, Adelaide.... including a back to back Perth and Brisbane in rounds 16 & 17.

We play Hawks, Pies, Saints twice...

We have byes rd. 6 and 22... so a long stretch of 15 games without a rest...

We play sides coming off a bye 4 times....

The only saving grace is the bye in rd.22 leading into finals... but we may not even be there...

Probably not the worst draw, but in no way is it a good draw for us...

PP not worth pointing out the truth. The insecure types on here won't listen.
maybe my eyes are decieving me but Melbourne travel 3 times and Carlton and Richmond travel 4 times so its not just us that have been given a good run this time around.
Geelong and Saints travel 6 times!

Richmond are starting to attain more respect in the footy world, this is reflected through our draw. More Saturday games, a few Friday night matches, play twice against Carlton & Essendon, hopefully we can perform admirably...

Was it the back to back 15th placing that did it you reckon?

Carlton's draw is very nice :). Only four interstate games, one of them the Suns first game ever.

We play Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, Sydney, Melbourne and St.Kilda twice. Given that we're always going to play Collingwood, Essendon and Richmond twice, they've given us two games against one team that was clearly better than us in 2010, one team clearly worse and one roughly the same.

I assume your talking about Sydney with the team that's roughly the same, we beat you 3 times this year. You can pencil in another 2 wins for us next year.

Melbourne = top eight finish.

Just look through the draw.

4 interstate trips - including a home game against Port in NT.

Two interstate games cushioned by byes.

Heaps at the 'G

Only play each of the top 4 once.

We are home.

Richmond are starting to attain more respect in the footy world, this is reflected through our draw. More Saturday games, a few Friday night matches, play twice against Carlton & Essendon, hopefully we can perform admirably...

I don't think the fixture has much to do with respect, it's all about the numbers. Richmond's fans get them a better draw again than their play warrants, so good for you guys.

I think ours is tough onfield but a substantial improvement commercially - off a very low base in 2009 /2010 but even though it could a lot better I'm not too disappointed if the direction is right.

2011 Official AFL Fixture