2012 Draft wish list

free at last

Aug 16, 2009
south of lat 32
Footy has finished for us, now comes the all important ND.

What I'd like to see us select is a couple of Key forwards and then best availables.

I reckon we've got heaps of potential mids in neale,crozier,sutcliffe,sherro,mitchie,mora,scholithe,lower & suban.

I have to say that the reality is the list looks really good at the moment. I find it hard to find any one area where we don't have a player already developing. I would think that all of Crozier, Sheridan and Neale would be pushing for selection next year and that these players would fill a lot of what I think Lyon thinks he needs in the midfield as backup (And this is forgetting Morabito and Broughton). I thought we might need some 60m kicks but we also have them stored away in Forster and Pitt (although given that neither have made a lasting impression maybe this is still an area we need to target). Maybe we need a Mundy replacement (or a Mitch Duncan type player if we are comparing at the younger end), but I just don't see one sitting around in this draft in an easy to get position, and again for me Morabito is that replacement already on the list.

If we consider the changes, Grover is retiring from our list, Van Berlo and maybe Faulks/Anthony make up the three that most likely might get cut from the seniors list. Of the rookie list Spurr and perhaps Menangola on his WAFL form would seem to be pushing to promoted. I imagine there will also be some players leaving either through trade or free agency - Crowley, McPhee and Ibbotson are some of the names that have been raised. Given these names I have to admit Goddard would suit really really well, but possibly another "lock down" defender as well with our second or third round pick would be a nice to have.

The risk areas for us are in the tall department, given the ages of Pav and McPharlin and how much they mean to the team. Said it heaps of times now but Id like the club to try and get Jesse Hogan - even if that means paying up our first round pick and second round and then compensation from trades to do it. Hogan and Moeller having a development year in the WAFL, plus some kind of pre-season just seems like the best foot forward to trying to come up with backups. Jake Stringer is the backup option if we can't get the mini draft pic to get Hogan, but I reckon he will go picks 5-7, so again we should trade away to get in the right ball park.

In short I would be happy if we only used two picks in this years draft and hold onto the majority of this group. I know that is not going to be a popular suggestion, but if we did the above we are essentially drafting two players in Moeller and Hogan.

S
I have to say that the reality is the list looks really good at the moment. I find it hard to find any one area where we don't have a player already developing. I would think that all of Crozier, Sheridan and Neale would be pushing for selection next year and that these players would fill a lot of what I think Lyon thinks he needs in the midfield as backup (And this is forgetting Morabito and Broughton). I thought we might need some 60m kicks but we also have them stored away in Forster and Pitt (although given that neither have made a lasting impression maybe this is still an area we need to target). Maybe we need a Mundy replacement (or a Mitch Duncan type player if we are comparing at the younger end), but I just don't see one sitting around in this draft in an easy to get position, and again for me Morabito is that replacement already on the list.

If we consider the changes, Grover is retiring from our list, Van Berlo and maybe Faulks/Anthony make up the three that most likely might get cut from the seniors list. Of the rookie list Spurr and perhaps Menangola on his WAFL form would seem to be pushing to promoted. I imagine there will also be some players leaving either through trade or free agency - Crowley, McPhee and Ibbotson are some of the names that have been raised. Given these names I have to admit Goddard would suit really really well, but possibly another "lock down" defender as well with our second or third round pick would be a nice to have.

The risk areas for us are in the tall department, given the ages of Pav and McPharlin and how much they mean to the team. Said it heaps of times now but Id like the club to try and get Jesse Hogan - even if that means paying up our first round pick and second round and then compensation from trades to do it. Hogan and Moeller having a development year in the WAFL, plus some kind of pre-season just seems like the best foot forward to trying to come up with backups. Jake Stringer is the backup option if we can't get the mini draft pic to get Hogan, but I reckon he will go picks 5-7, so again we should trade away to get in the right ball park.

In short I would be happy if we only used two picks in this years draft and hold onto the majority of this group. I know that is not going to be a popular suggestion, but if we did the above we are essentially drafting two players in Moeller and Hogan.

Stringer has injury concerns, coming back from a broken leg. Hoping he slides to us.

How do you see us holding onto Moller and getting Hogan too Ysaye?

I don't think Moeller is worth much to anyone at the moment as he is really mainly potential - I don't think they will rate him well enough to give up their minidraft pick for him (at least not along), but if they do I would take it and use what I didn't have to use to get an equivalent type in the national draft.

I was thinking more along the lines of just getting a great package together of picks and an experienced player (perhaps one of our ruckmen) for the minidraft pick - that would be more attractive to me if I was GWS. We are a national competition - the only attraction of getting players from the home state is to avoid the homesickness factor.

I don't really agree with some of this.
Crowley just re-signed, he isn't going anywhere.
Pearce must be the first upgraded off the rookie list.
Highly unlikely that we will move Anthony on when he has another year to run on his contract.

We have shown we are a tall forward and an outside midfielder or two from a real crack at the premiership in the next 2 years whilst Pav, McP and Sandi are still contributing.
I wonder if we will take some risks this trade period/draft. I know it goes against the grain but if what we really need becomes available I'd be happy to give up early trade picks and players to chase any ready to go players in htese roles so we can have a genuine crack next year. Because of our appaling history of trading early picks for dud players we are gun-shy but we need to be bold if the right option is available (it might not become available of course).
In retrospect we tried to be too cute with Brisbane on Clark and got shafted. We have the AA CHB and FF (and ruckman in absentia) now and we should be trading to get the missing pieces to build a team around them that wins the flag. We can't invest everything in 18 year old prospects that will only become league players as Pav and McP retire.

I don't really agree with some of this.
Crowley just re-signed, he isn't going anywhere.
Pearce must be the first upgraded off the rookie list.
Highly unlikely that we will move Anthony on when he has another year to run on his contract.

We have shown we are a tall forward and an outside midfielder or two from a real crack at the premiership in the next 2 years whilst Pav, McP and Sandi are still contributing.
I wonder if we will take some risks this trade period/draft. I know it goes against the grain but if what we really need becomes available I'd be happy to give up early trade picks and players to chase any ready to go players in htese roles so we can have a genuine crack next year. Because of our appaling history of trading early picks for dud players we are gun-shy but we need to be bold if the right option is available (it might not become available of course).
In retrospect we tried to be too cute with Brisbane on Clark and got shafted. We have the AA CHB and FF (and ruckman in absentia) now and we should be trading to get the missing pieces to build a team around them that wins the flag. We can't invest everything in 18 year old prospects that will only become league players as Pav and McP retire.

While I agree with a lot of what you said, I beg to differ on the Clarke issue. Schwabby basically implied he would barter till the end, so I saw little point in us continuing on with it. We are way past giving anything it takes to get a player.
Our best chance of filling our immediate needs is through free agency and some trading, while still investing in the future in the draft and developing the young talent already on our list. Just my view.

I would like to see us make a big play for Hogan. Really think the kid will be a star, built like a brick house already.

I could deal with losing our first rounder & moller to get hogan.

The kid will have done 2 Lyon pre-seasons by the time he first plays a game of AFL.
Hopefully mora and mitchie can get a good chunk of the pre-season in,both are basically like new recruits.

Free Agent
I would go hard for Goddard.

Trade
If we got Goddard i would consider trying to trade Silvagni to Geelong for Kersten.

Mini Draft
I would love to get Hogan and would give up 1st rounder + a player (Ibbotson comes to mind, but there is a largish group of players we can consider. Perhaps Silvagni may have more appeal to GWS).

Draft
I would then target Lee or another mature KPF with our 2nd rounder. It may be possible to include Lee in the Hogan deal as a pre-listed player in which case I would target best available with 2nd rounder with a leaning towards KPD or speedy midfielder.

I would love Shaw, Stringer or Jachs at 1st pick if Hogan is unattainable.

Pre-season
  • I would put the screws on JA to become a genuine defender.
  • Put a lot of work into Clarke as a forward.
  • Put a lot of work into Morabitto as a forward. In my opinion it is probably ambitous to se him come back into the midfield, and a return to the game via the forward line may be successful.

Free Agent
I would go hard for Goddard.

Trade
If we got Goddard i would consider trying to trade Silvagni to Geelong for Kersten.

Mini Draft
I would love to get Hogan and would give up 1st rounder + a player (Ibbotson comes to mind, but there is a largish group of players we can consider. Perhaps Silvagni may have more appeal to GWS).

Draft
I would then target Lee or another mature KPF with our 2nd rounder. It may be possible to include Lee in the Hogan deal as a pre-listed player in which case I would target best available with 2nd rounder with a leaning towards KPD or speedy midfielder.

I would love Shaw, Stringer or Jachs at 1st pick if Hogan is unattainable.

Pre-season
  • I would put the screws on JA to become a genuine defender.
  • Put a lot of work into Clarke as a forward.
  • Put a lot of work into Morabitto as a forward. In my opinion it is probably ambitous to se him come back into the midfield, and a return to the game via the forward line may be successful.
Would put a lot of pressure on Clarke to grow some and would play Morabito as a line breaking midfielder when ready. If we can have Goddard why not and ? over Lee. If they thought he would make it surely they would have rookied him last year. Doesn't look like a big bodied contested marking type to me, which is what we need. May be wrong and they may take him now.

I agree with a lot of what is said.

If Shaw is there with our first pick in the draft I would snap him up. This draft we should bypass midfielders altogether and focus on KPF and KPD. Our midfield stocks are fine and we have decent depth. This season has shown we seriously lack a KPF when Pav isn't there or is having a poor game. We also need a defender to take the number 1 forward when McPharlin retires now that Grover has gone. The Adelaide game showed we have serious deficiencies in that area. As much as I like SCOS, he is too short and lightweight to play as a key defender and is better suited to Dawson's job. If we were able to walk away from the draft with Shaw and a key defender I will be satisfied.

If the club wants another midfielder then I would look at trying to entice Luke Blackwell back into the AFL. He has said he doesn't want to play AFL again after his time at Carlton but if we can lure him with the prospect of staying in WA I think it might be worth a punt.

The mini draft might be a problem as I don't think we really have anything the GWS would want (Moller excluded) or anything we would be willing to give up. However if we were able to satisfy their needs, I'd like to see a play at Hogan. If we are able to get him I would be ecstatic. After a season of bulking up, I think he has the potential to come in straight away like Darling did for the E-girls. As has been said, he is built like a tank already and just needs to build up a bit and work on his goal kicking. He won't get the number 1 or 2 defender IMO as they will go to Pav and Mayne so there isn't much harm in giving him games ASAP.

If we do decide to not go for him in the mini draft then I would like to see us go after Jack Martin. He impressed me a lot in the U18s and if no one snaps him up in this years mini draft he is almost certain to be a top 5 pick next season. He is quick and very good on both sides of his body. He could be the outside mid that everyone is crying out for.

Looking at the list of free agents, the only one I would want and that I think might come here is Goddard. I wouldn't mind Moloney but he would cost too much. If we do get Goddard I'm not sure how much midfield he would play. I like our midfield 5 at the moment so I'd love to see him coming off half back. Plus I wouldn't like him blocking the progress of our younger mids like Morabito, Crozier, Sheridan, Sutclife and Neale. One player that everyone seems to forget and one who I'd like to play mid eventually is Mellington. He started off the year very well and if he can get a full pre-season then I think he could be a bolter next season.

I thought we might need some 60m kicks but we also have them stored away in Forster and Pitt (although given that neither have made a lasting impression maybe this is still an area we need to target)

That's harsh on Forster since he has been injured for a lot of the season.

Pretty sure we have the pick before cats. H&A is the draft order, Finals are not considered.
Aint true. If you finish 4th and win the premiership you get the last pick in the round. In previous years the AFL website would update the Draft order on a weekly basis during the finals with the teams that got knocked out each weekend.

I'm hoping that we draft some linebreaking speed with quality disposal skills and some key position players.

I'd also prefer that if we're out of the race for a minidraft pick - that Hogan gets overlooked and goes into next years draft.

Aint true. If you finish 4th and win the premiership you get the last pick in the round. In previous years the AFL website would update the Draft order on a weekly basis during the finals with the teams that got knocked out each weekend.

I'm hoping that we draft some linebreaking speed with quality disposal skills and some key position players.

I'd also prefer that if we're out of the race for a minidraft pick - that Hogan gets overlooked and goes into next years draft.

I didnt know that. So do the eagles get the pick directly after us? So in pick order
North,
Cats,
Freo
then WCE?
Then Loser prelim1?
higher placed loser prelim,
GF loser
GF winner

I would like an inside mid with pace and a great work ethic then KPF.

Oliver Wines

Stringer or Shaw

These guys may be chosen before Freo get their first pick. But one may fall in what has been talked about as a strong draft.

I'm not quite sure what thread this should/not be in; but this off-season Freo will be quite interesting to watch. Lyon's preference in recent years was to chase 'ready made' players, whereas Freo (recently) have had a heavy reliance on the draft and/or mature-age state league recruits.

St Kilda didn't seem to have a particualrly strong-minded list management team, seemed to go largely by the coach's say so - whereas Lloyd/Bond seem to have almost total control of that area @ Freo.
Will be interesting to see what balance they strike.
Just my 2c.

2012 Draft wish list