2012 Membership Tally

I love the way Richmond fans think they have the right to troll other sides. Actually make the finals just once in the next decade before you talk smack. And it is just smack you talk, because it's a lie.

Here is the membership revenue for Hawthorn & Essendon in 2011 posted in the financials thread.

Hawthorn - $11,705,117 (inc. gate reciepts)
Essendon - $10,363,690 (inc. gate reciepts)

Keep on trying :thumbsu:

Explain this?

Membership Revenue

Richmond - $11,992,714 (inc. gate reciepts)

Don't you have '15,000' more members than us? ;)

Oh and this...

Sponsorship & Marketing Revenue

Richmond - $17,252,886
Hawthorn - $14,576,422

I mean only through taking vulnerable people's money do you gain an advantage over us. BTW, Collingwoods numbers are disgraceful.

Gaming Revenue and Hospitality

Collingwood - $19,201,114 (inc. Social Club)
Hawthorn - $10,057,704 (inc bar and bistro)
Richmond - $3,410,144 (inc Social club)

I mean only through taking vulnerable people's money do you gain an advantage over us. BTW, Collingwoods numbers are disgraceful.

OK then. If this is the ONLY area we gain an advantage from, how did we make ~$16million more in revenue? This is only a ~$7million difference and not all of it comes from gaming. You make about $3million more in marketing so where does the other $12 million come in if gaming is the only area we have an advantage.

Our membership situation should be pretty clear. Our memberships are less expensive due to games played in Tasmania. But this is more than compensated through growing our supporter base down there, money from Tas govt, extra merchandise income etc.

I couldn't beleive that in a pre-season membership thread, Hawthorn and Richmond supporters were getting along, celebrating mutual membership improvement and wishing each other future success. Then you came along...

No one wishes Hawthorn future success, you've had enough recent success, the wheel can keep on turning in my opinion.

Also, Donk came along, his clever trolling of Carlton, Collingwood, Richmond, Geelong, Essendon & St. Kilda cannot ease the sheer pain he felt after that 3 point loss to Collingwood in the prelim.

Stevie Wonder once said, "it takes talent to get you to the top, but it takes character to keep you there". Maybe if Donk didn't pander about Hawthorn's riches the gods from above may have shifted a few points away from Collingwoods final score. But alas, history works itself out, and Geelong win again :D

1. good stuff:thumbsu:
could that be from converting some of last year's non ticketed perhaps?

Who knows mate. Last year the membership and fanbase were led to believe the previous underestimation of the RFC total membership in the audited figure would be at an end becaue the non ticket "tiger Insiders" were to be judged as limited ticketeds. later in the season that seemed not to be the case.

Total membership revenue is all that matters really and that is very healthy for us given the ladder positions we have been occupying. Hopefully we can add a few thousand members and at least a million dollars in revenue.

You do realise that not the entire $19m is from the pokies don't you? With 70k members, they spend a heap of $ through the social club and other functions.

Did you forget that Richmond also has pokies?

You do realise that not the entire $19m is from the pokies don't you? With 70k members, they spend a heap of $ through the social club and other functions.

Did you forget that Richmond also has pokies?

yep dont support the argument cb has. the pies have numerous pubs which is the hospitality component. i also dont support the argument about pokies. yes there should be support groups/stratagies to tackle problem gambling but that doesnt mean irradication themes that stop punters the right to gamble if they wish.

Explain this?

Membership Revenue

Richmond - $11,992,714 (inc. gate reciepts)

Don't you have '15,000' more members than us? ;)

Oh and this...

Sponsorship & Marketing Revenue

Richmond - $17,252,886
Hawthorn - $14,576,422

We are 6.6 million ahead in hospitality and gaming revenue, yet we are 16 million ahead in gross revenue. I think it's a little more than gaming revenue mate that Hawthorn have over Richmond. Hawthorn continually turn over multi-million dollar profits, whilst you blokes celebrate the fact you just made a 51k operating profit, and are now only 3.5 million in debt. Hawthorn & Richmond are at opposite ends of the spectrum as football clubs mate.

Gross Revenue

Collingwood - $75,232,702
Essendon - $51,416,731
Hawthorn - $49,151,009
Geelong - $48,438,196
Brisbane - $42,297,354
Carlton - $39,950,000
Richmond - $33,403,202
Western Bulldogs - $32,453,030
North Melbourne - $26,017,066

We are 6.6 million ahead in hospitality and gaming revenue, yet we are 16 million ahead in gross revenue. I think it's a little more than gaming revenue mate that Hawthorn have over Richmond. Hawthorn continually turn over multi-million dollar profits, whilst you blokes celebrate the fact you just made a 51k operating profit, and are now only 3.5 million in debt. Hawthorn & Richmond are at opposite ends of the spectrum as football clubs mate.

Gross Revenue

Collingwood - $75,232,702
Essendon - $51,416,731
Hawthorn - $49,151,009
Geelong - $48,438,196
Brisbane - $42,297,354
Carlton - $39,950,000
Richmond - $33,403,202
Western Bulldogs - $32,453,030
North Melbourne - $26,017,066

the tigers profit last year was 1.3m if you add pokies monies into it.

As of 5/12 North is on 10,939

Looking promising compared to recent seasons.

Even better is this:

SUCH is the interest in Blundstone Arena's first AFL games, corporate hospitality for the first match is all but sold out four months in advance.

North Melbourne memberships are also in hot demand as the club prepares for its first home game in Hobart.

The Kangaroos' debut match at Tasmania's home of cricket the Easter Sunday clash on April 8 against Greater Western Sydney has sold close to the maximum 630 hospitality seats across 11 functions.

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/12/05/282031_tasmania-news.html

Mercury also reporting we've already signed up 650 new Tassie members.

very embarrassing for Brisbane if GC ends with more members than them... its pretty even at the moment isnt it?

Brissy need a good year onfield. Not finals but at least showing good signs. Could get ugly otherwise.

That's not a bad start. What's the number of Tassie members by the start of the season North are aiming for?

I haven't seen a target in print anywhere. What is the capacity of the stadium? That might have an impact if it is tiny...

That's not a bad start. What's the number of Tassie members by the start of the season North are aiming for?
The club was aiming for 3000-4000 for 2012 but the Tasmanian Marketing manager is now optimistic of reaching 5000-6000. This is pre-marketing campaign launch as well, so the interest is there.

The article I linked suggested 4000 - 5000. My understanding is year one the aim was 2000 - 3000.

For mine the most encouraging bit is the take up of the corporate stuff. That is where the real money is to be made.

Well nobody is going to purchase a St.kilda membership. They are not giving out free scarfs or hats anymore to members. ;)

The club was aiming for 3000-4000 for 2012 but the Tasmanian Marketing manager is now optimistic of reaching 5000-6000. This is pre-marketing campaign launch as well, so the interest is there.

Ah sweet! 3000-4000 extra members in your first year in Tassie would be huge. If you can 5k to 6k that is a massive win. It's good news.

Re: to Tas, I think Bellerive Oval hold about 16k :confused: