2012 SEQAFL Division 2 2012

A great bunch of guys and a very proud club . Yes indeed mates if mates this has contributed a lot with our 5 execptional recruits no $$$$ getting around the club and I tend to agree with ure comment on the aflq and helping , we are the least of there concerns as long as we don't trash the ground they at generally happy . I'm sure other clubs have had 5-10 new players this preseason !!! We are just very fortunate that 5 of ours are guns and well known around qld footy even if hey are older heads we feel this is what we needed to steer the devils shop in the right direction in 2013.
Yeronga were also a very proud club through the 80's. We were playing the equivelant to the Pineapple Cup back then - SQAFA I think it was called. We were always front runners with Aspley and MT Gravatt (Aspley were too good for us, beat us in 3-4 flags, and we were just ahead of Mounties, beat them in the same 3-4 prelims) - look where those 2 clubs are now. As long as John Coreless has any input into this club it will always be mediocre. Let's hope the young Corless is not following in his old mans footsteps and can take this club to where it should have been 10 years ago, state League.

Have people forgotten Yeronga won back-back premierships in mid 2000s, there doing everthing right in IMO

it was pretty widely discussed that the reason they went back down after the SQAFL re-alignment was to finally win a flag. you're right though, they should be in the current Allied Pickfords cup

There are many clubs playing state league and Allied Pickfords cup that south brisbane / yeronga used to pound on weekly basis we just never had the balls to take the next step in case of failure. (John Corless)
Always wondered as former player and coach of this great club what could have been if the admin of the club had vision. maybe we could be a Redland bay ? They did take our jumper.
all the best for the season boys but flags at this level with over qualified playing staff mean little unless its a stepping stone to go the next couple of levels. Challenge yourself !!!

I'm guessing that given the North South split of divisions Yeronga realised (or were told) that its up to Div 1 or they'll be kicking around with most of the clubs from Div 3 next season.

Wow Yeronga Yeronga Yeronga! Good on em for a productive recruitment drive, although I do agree it's a 1 year comp & a big QLD Footy structure is in the making. Having been a part of a club with ex-AFL players I hope the Devils coach is one of maturity, coaching experience & able to stand corrected, AFL boys know there stuff but team unity is a far more potent ingredient for success!
A young-ish mate of mine is heading up to 'live the dream' and moving to the sunshine coast, I have little advice for him but I suggested Caloundra or Nambour as I know nothing of Maroochydore or Noosa. He's a very handy running backman..any hints?

Good coaches at both clubs Footy 1st - one i know really well, the other just on rep but he did coach Aspley for the last 2 years. Maroochy has the SE Qld rep coach so they are pretty well serviced too. Depends on what the guy is looking for but I can tell you that Maroochy has a great thing going atm - how that will turn into onfield success is anyones guess.

Welcome back Stanley my good friend :)

Roos have got boeh on board and looking forward to seeing how he and a few of the other recruits go - clearly all playing for the chance to have yeronga beat us in the gf by a league record but hey at least we can say we were part of the greatest result in Aflq history!!

Haven't seen the draw myself but agree working towards a split comp.

Shut he gate didnt u come out last year and pot coreless?? Flogging a dead horse much? You've made ur point that u disagree with the bloke - twice that I've seen - let's all move on yeah? Lets discuss 2013 :)

Roos have organised own practise games - lets get controversial - surely the decision to ask clubs to provide an umpire for the reserves as home team opens up a massive problem - I know ull all say only when u play at robina, but surely this is a position they could make the sequel of "how to lose friends and alienate people" from...

Sorry BOC I didn't realise the rules were that you could only mention something once. Lets hope that we do not hear again about Yeronga winning this years flag for fear of BOC jumping down everyones throats. I guess it may be hard for you to undertsand BOC that when you give blood, sweat and tears to make one club successful and attempt to have it rise to higher levels and one person continually erodes those efforts to drop it down levels in the pursuit of Premierships it does leave a bitter taste. A history lesson for you BOC - Yeronga or South Brisbane as we were called then were on the cusp of State League in the 80's, we were the home ground of AFLQ as we are now - not much has changed except poker machines have been added and we have that elusive flag in Div 3 I believe ( I could be wrong about the Div).

Shut The Gate, every Club has had a bad committee here and there that has cost their respective Club, Yeronga doesn't have a Monopoly on bad decision making. Singling out an Individual may seem a bit rough.

Since the Draw is out, Can teams still withdraw from the Division due to lack of Numbers? Does the League set a "Cut Off Date"?

Nothing stopping anyone voting them out STG was there? Not sure Yeronga belong in NEAFL - maybe Div 1. If Magpies couldn't make a go of it, not sure the Devils can. Think the priority, if possible, for the AFLQ bosses would be to locate a team on the sunshine coast. The recent feasibility study showed this wasn't going to be a goer. Not sure the powers actually are looking to expand the Div 1 comp though past 12 sides so it could be Yeronga in this comp for a while. At least they didn't go out of business - Maroochydore did bc of poor decision making and this was in basically a 3 year period!!

STG - point I was making is that the forum is a place to discuss current div 2 issues - entitled to an opinion as we all are, but unsure the point of repeatedly potting someone about something from 30 years ago with no right of reply?

Sherrin draw for div 2 last year originally included caloundra - boys from up north can confirm but I think it was only this early 2012 they needed to drop down - obviously Aflq would be loathe to change but would imagine if only 1 team needed to drop to div 4 then u would just see a bye entered into the comp.

Good coaches at both clubs Footy 1st - one i know really well, the other just on rep but he did coach Aspley for the last 2 years. Maroochy has the SE Qld rep coach so they are pretty well serviced too. Depends on what the guy is looking for but I can tell you that Maroochy has a great thing going atm - how that will turn into onfield success is anyones guess.
Thanks for that smy, he's probably moving up around Mid-March & I have passed on the info of the clubs to check out.

BOC - good to be back, you running around again mate?

Not sure what to make of the yeronga inner circle...but sounds like there a few former disgruntled members on here, at the end of the day the board/committe can do what it wants, but its the 22 that pull on the colors on saturday that make or break the club IMO,

Anyone care to spec on whats going on with kedron?
or kenmore ? you would think kenmore would be aiming for a GF appearence to improve on last year?

i also think it would be good to get KING ME back!! see how many players have actually retired lol...
considerign they declined to go up a division.

Anyone from redcliffe or calbuture keen to share there news or lack of??

Stanley - dedicating my time to a few other goals atm - gc malf and noosa tri - see if can get some decent training loads in to those and see how the year plays out... June 30 is a long way away!!

both spook and i are threatening if the 2's require a cpl of specialist goal square occupiers we might be available later in the year!

Kings very quiet but not unusual - someone was saying kenmore were set to struggle and have heard a few x kedron boys say they think they might be in trouble numbers wise - hope for all involved not the case.

Hey guys, my ears were burning so I decided to make my way back onto the forum. Not sure exactly how each club is going individually as I'm not associated with any clubs, but below are the rumours I've heard.

I have a mate who said that Kenmore are trying to put a thirds team in this year. So they must have a fair few numbers down on the track.

I've heard Robina ressies have lost a few of their old guard, but that they'd be pretty keen to get involved later in the season if they're travelling well.

Haven't heard much about Kedron, but word is they are struggling with numbers and will be a long way down the ladder again.

I also have a buddy at Coorparoo who says that despite losing some big names over the off-season, they've managed to pick up some real goers as well. One bloke in particular will be in the top few players in the league if his training track performances are anything to go by. From what he was telling me they've been getting over 40 to trainings most nights and although they won't be as good as previous years, with university out of the comp we still feel that the threepeat is possible.

Looking forward to a good season!

Probably determined by where he is going to plonk himself and also how decent he is as a footballer. If he is capable of playing Div 1 then reckon Maroochy would be the go, if not then either Caloundra or Nambour would be good depending on where he is living.

Wow Yeronga Yeronga Yeronga! Good on em for a productive recruitment drive, although I do agree it's a 1 year comp & a big QLD Footy structure is in the making. Having been a part of a club with ex-AFL players I hope the Devils coach is one of maturity, coaching experience & able to stand corrected, AFL boys know there stuff but team unity is a far more potent ingredient for success!
A young-ish mate of mine is heading up to 'live the dream' and moving to the sunshine coast, I have little advice for him but I suggested Caloundra or Nambour as I know nothing of Maroochydore or Noosa. He's a very handy running backman..any hints?

im from nambour and think its a great club. im sure he would fit in espicially if he is young due to the fact that 90%of our team is young!

Cheers mate, he's early 20's & gonna stay with relatives in Kawana? I've passed on the info & will let him approach the clubs directly

Hey footy do you play yourself??? Anyone got any praccy matches this week????
We are having a intra club to kick off our practice matches this Friday.

Hey footy do you play yourself??? Anyone got any praccy matches this week????
We are having a intra club to kick off our practice matches this Friday.
Mate the mind is still willing but the legs have been shot for years! Work would also only allow 'cameos'

If he is at Kawana, let him challenge himself with the Roos. Alot happening there at present, building something exciting.