Unofficial Preview 2013 Draft Watch

So our pick 26 is going to be around 30 due to the compensation picks. I'm tipping the club might try trade greenwood/Anthony to try downgrade that pick to the earlier twenties. However I doubt this will happen. After that we have currently have 47 and 65. Hopefully we can improve our standing with Delaney moving on.

So at 30 we'll either be looking for a mid with good skills, or an exciting half forward. Or perhaps we'll just take best available. I'm tipping a number of these guys will be available:

Dayle Garlett - creative goal kicking mid/hf with exceptional skills and pace.
Jay Kennedy-Harris - natural crumbing foward, good skills and impressive defensive effort.
James Battersby - small creative mid/half back with elite skills.
Jarmen Impey - small crumbing forward, elite pace and agility exellent vision and skills.
Eli Templeton- skinny puremid who knows how to find the footy. Tough with good leadership credentials.
James Sicily - creative half forward/mid who is excellent in the air. Has a lot of tricks.
Dwayne Wilson - inconsistent but a real game breaker. Excellent skills and elite pace.
Good list. Impey and templeton are two I really want as that small forward/outside mid type .

Would only take garlett with whatever happens to be our last pick in the draft or rookie draft

Good list. Impey and templeton are two I really want as that small forward/outside mid type .

Would only take garlett with whatever happens to be our last pick in the draft or rookie draft

I like the way Templeton goes about it but at present he is below 70kg, he would be a 3 year prospect to get up to size I'd reckon.

God Garlett must be the worst kid in history. His highlights are exceptional and he has star quality written all over him. Someone seriously needs to take him out back and slap him around a bit just so he pulls his finger out! Some would trade everything to have that sort of ability.

White to Pies a done deal
Sydney Swans big man Jesse White will get his wish of a trade to Collingwood, after the clubs agreed to a three-way trade that also involves West Coast, reports Fairfax Media.

The report says the trade could be made official as early as Monday, with the Magpies to receive White and pick SIX in the NAB AFL Draft, the Eagles picks 11 and 31, and the Swans pick 44.

White, who has played 71 games for the Swans and booted 73 goals, will join Collingwood on a three-year deal.
The Eagles are expected to offer pick 31 to the Brisbane Lions for West Australian Elliot Yeo.

If the above unfolds l guess the Eagles did not really want Luke with pick 6 in the end :eek:

White to Pies a done deal
Sydney Swans big man Jesse White will get his wish of a trade to Collingwood, after the clubs agreed to a three-way trade that also involves West Coast, reports Fairfax Media.

The report says the trade could be made official as early as Monday, with the Magpies to receive White and pick SIX in the NAB AFL Draft, the Eagles picks 11 and 31, and the Swans pick 44.

White, who has played 71 games for the Swans and booted 73 goals, will join Collingwood on a three-year deal.
The Eagles are expected to offer pick 31 to the Brisbane Lions for West Australian Elliot Yeo.

If the above unfolds l guess the Eagles did not really want Luke with pick 6 in the end :eek:

Um yeh a ripper deal there for the swans?!

A couple of other names that may fall around 30:

Tom Cutler
Nick Bourke

Cutler is 190 with good excelleration. A Mackie type would could slot into hb in a couple years when Atley and McDonald are required in the middle.
Bourke is a winger type with good skills around 187. A bit light so may need a year or two. No problem where our lists sits.

God Garlett must be the worst kid in history. His highlights are exceptional and he has star quality written all over him. Someone seriously needs to take him out back and slap him around a bit just so he pulls his finger out! Some would trade everything to have that sort of ability.

His off field stuff I think is blown out of proportion I reckon.

A couple of other names that may fall around 30:

Tom Cutler
Nick Bourke

Cutler is 190 with good excelleration. A Mackie type would could slot into hb in a couple years when Atley and McDonald are required in the middle.
Bourke is a winger type with good skills around 187. A bit light so may need a year or two. No problem where our lists sits.

Not sure Cutler would be what we are looking for. We have enough mid/3rd tall types. I think we'd either go with a proper Key position player or a smaller lockdown type. For an attacking half back Cutler, he isn't overly damaging with his kicking.

His off field stuff I think is blown out of proportion I reckon.
I think what it does show is a lack of commitment. He needs to improve his tank if he wants to be a midfielder. Some of his choices aren't going to help.
An earlier report from Emma Quayle also mentioned his lack of application with regards to pressure and workratevin the fwd line.
The kid has talent, no doubt, but ther appear too many ??? to take him anywhere else but as a rookie.

I think what it does show is a lack of commitment. He needs to improve his tank if he wants to be a midfielder. Some of his choices aren't going to help.
An earlier report from Emma Quayle also mentioned his lack of application with regards to pressure and workratevin the fwd line.
The kid has talent, no doubt, but ther appear too many ??? to take him anywhere else but as a rookie.

Never really looked at it that way, very Good point.

Not sure Cutler would be what we are looking for. We have enough mid/3rd tall types. I think we'd either go with a proper Key position player or a smaller lockdown type. For an attacking half back Cutler, he isn't overly damaging with his kicking.
The draft appears thin on KP types and I doubt too many teams would use pick 30 on a lock down type. That is what trades and late picks are for.

At pick 30 we will probably take best available as usual.

He must be very bloody thick that's all I can say. He'll have plenty of time to smoke, drink, and act like an idiot after his AFL career. At this rate he'll have nothing. Waste of talent

Rumour mill suggests Delaney is going for pick 77.

Which is disappointing as it would have been a good opportunity to get a pick upgrade or two.
If it is true that it was part of the Dal Santo deal, I can accept that. It would still be a great outcome for the club, allowing us to hang on to a second round pick by basically swapping Delaney for Nick. If that was offered to me weeks ago I would have taken it without an doubt. But it could still be a media assumption. I reckon if it was agreed as part of the Dal deal, it would have been done on Friday afternoon or this morning. Given it hasn't happened yet, hopefully means that pick 77 rumors are false.

I dont understand why it hasnt been done yet either. Surely if it was a formality like the media are suggesting it would have been done by now. If it was a formality wouldnt both parties want it done quickly for delaneys sake.
Maybe we are waiting to see how the bruce trade pans out. If saints have to take bruce in the PSD draft, it allows us to play harder to get.

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2

Unofficial Preview 2013 Draft Watch