2013 Tasmanian Draft Prospects

You have got to be joking!! I was there too and was sitting behind Shifter!!! Webster did some good things but just kicks the ball....a few times to the opposition. Eli was average. Fox needs to learn how to kick straight in front of goal. Kade was everywhere played half back and kicked two goals. Prob got 40 touches and totally impressed!!! So were you really there Pie4Life?? If the players you mentioned were so good why did none of them get in best players?
Tasmania

Goal Kickers: B. Grey 2, A. Pearce 2, J. Fox 2, K. Kolodjashnij 2, R. Wiggins , T. Nankervis , J. Smith , T. Boscott
Best Players: K. Kolodjashnij, B. Grey, R. Bones, T. Boscott, M. Willis
My apologies, obviously I made a mistake. I've found throughout the year that the TAC Cup named best players are not necessarily the best players. As someone doing draft profiles, my focus for Tassie would be directed towards Webster and Templeton, however still thought Webster's ability to take on the game was fantastic. I agree that Eli was average hence my comment about short kicks. I also agreed with Fox being promising but still plenty to work on.

No worries mate! KK was best on IMO, and deservedly named. I think that they could be a chance at winning Div 2 title this year, one thing I really liked yesterday was seeing how closed they looked as a group which was a lot better from the previous game against Eastern, that being said it always takes the Div 2 sides longer to click as their preparation is always a bit shorter and trips away even for the Fri/Sat gives them a bit more time together.

I think after yesterday's game recruiters might be watching a few more of the Tassie boys a bit closer which is great, challenge now is to win a couple more.
Yes I think they will have a good chance at winning the title. The game against Eastern was after a five week break from playing together so it does take time to gel. There were about five different players in this team which I think made an improvement. Will look forward to the Champs now!

Kade Kolodjashnij named in the top 20 prospects by Callum Twomey. Think that's a pretty fair call. He's this year's Thurlow. Very similar game style, similar skills, probably a little bit better in close than Thurlow, but Thurlow is better overhead. Can definitely see him going pretty early with his size and skills.

Kade Kolodjashnij
Launceston, 188cm, 77kg, 9/8/95
The late call-up to the AIS-AFL Academy has some style about him. Is generally used as a rebounding and attacking half-back flanker or a creative wingman, where his run and decision-making has caught eyes. Perfectly sized to play a range of roles in the modern game.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-22/aflcomaus-top-20-draft-prospects

Glad to hear Webster had another good game. He is super consistent.
Is he a "leftie" like Jimmy?

Really liking what I've seen from Jimmy so far, so if Zac is better than him, as some are suggesting, he would be very, very well worth drafting, as Jimmy has some seriously attractive attributes and skills and has looked very much at home in the seniors, despite having missed so much footy in the past few years and clearly needing another summer in the gym.

Is he a "leftie" like Jimmy?

Really liking what I've seen from Jimmy so far, so if Zac is better than him, as some are suggesting, he would be very, very well worth drafting, as Jimmy has some seriously attractive attributes and skills and has looked very much at home in the seniors, despite having missed so much footy in the past few years and clearly needing another summer in the gym.
Jimmy is off to a very good start. Good to see him named on the HBF for the weekend! He is looking very fit, even though he is still quite wiry. Looks like he'd smash the time trials.

Zac is a right footer. It's hard to say whether he is a better prospect. At the same age, Jimmy was going through a series of injuries and subsequently didn't have a great draft year due to his injuries. Whereas if Zac keeps his very good form going, he is going to have a terrific year in the lead up to the draft. He has been putting in some impressive performances over the last year.

They are pretty different players though. Zac is shorter and looks a bit quicker, but doesn't quite have the kicking skills Jimmy does (although he is still a very good kick). Zac has a better inside game than Jimmy, but won't be as competitive in the air at AFL level (Jimmy has height and a good leap). It is hard to compare them, really. I think both will make very good footballers if they stay injury free.

Zac should be a bargain too. I reckon there is a good chance that he will get taken fairly late.

Cheers for that, hope he keeps it up. :thumbsu: I guess Zac will be well and truly on our radar, for starters.
Jimmy is off to a very good start. Good to see him named on the HBF for the weekend! He is looking very fit, even though he is still quite wiry. Looks like he'd smash the time trials.
Yeah, very happy with him so far. He's basically taken Nathan Wright's spot down back since Betts broke his jaw.

Looks very comfortable at the level and had his 14 possies last weekend at 93% efficiency and was one of only 4 in our team who didn't have a "clanger". I hadn't really seen what he was like overhead, but he took an intercept mark over the top of someone on Sunday and made it look incredibly easy. Just plucked it like it was nothing. And I reckon his handball is just as good as his kick. It's a serious bullet that covers distance in a flash and doesn't get over about chest height. Saw him do one in the NAB Cup that got my attention and he's done a couple more in the last two weeks that suggest the first one was no fluke. Lots to like there.

Thurlow2Mackie - do you know much about Ben Brown? Watching him in the Foxtel Cup match at the moment and looks very solid at this level. Great agility, good hands and good body use. Seems to be effective in a lot of positions as well.
No, I don't really know much more than what you have already observed sorry. He was talked about as a possible rookie by a few of the guys last year, but it didn't happen. He had been injury affected for a lot of his junior years, but seems to have that behind him now and could find himself on a list at the end of the year. I don't think the draft age ruck talent pool is huge this year, so could be a decent chance.

Noticed that Jake Kolodjashnij was BOG on the weekend for Launceston's big win. :thumbsu:
Much better player when he doesn't have to play CHB.

Ben Brown is soft, uncoordinated, injury prone and has poor skills. Was way overrated after a five goal game in the national under 18 champs against poor opposition, has been overlooked a few times for good reason.

Must say, I agree with most of that. I tend to think he is just big enough and just strong enough to have an impact at state level, but that's it. If this was 10 years ago, he might get a look in. But better players than him have been overlooked the past two years.

Lot of big unskilled plodders do make it on to AFL lists though, so you never know. Maybe he has improved enough to get a shot, given he has had a bit of an injury free run of late.

Have you watched him this year for werribee? He has been super impressive.

I watched a few of his underage game while studying down in Tas and I would have to agree with your sentiments. To me he has improved out of sight. His hands are good, he is cleaner below his feet, but the biggest improvement in his game is his work rate.

Whats julian dobosz doing these days?

Teams for the Tas v WA game tomorrow

Tas

B: 28 Josh McGuinness 35 Harrison Bailey 18 Jay Lockhart
HB: 24 Kade Kolodjashnij 31 Jake Kolodjashnij 14 Eli Templeton
C: 20 Stuart Donnelly 23 Alex Pearce 9 Thor Boscott
HF: 1 Jay Foon 30 Toby Nankervis 15 Perry Mannering
F: 11 Jake Smith 33 Josh Fox 2 Brodie Deverall
Foll: 32 Rohan Bones 6 Zac Webster 5 Brady Grey
INT: 34 Josh Watts 17 Brandt Lee 12 Mackenzie Willis 7 Matthew Hanson 29 Mitch Hibberd
4 Tim Jones 8 Phil Bellchambers 26 Braden Figg

WA

F: (20) Blaine Johnson, (53) Cameron McCarthy,(3) Richard Bourne
HF: (36) Bradley Walsh, (26) Jonathon Marsh, (19) Ben Sokol
C: (33) Jared Jansen, (10) Dylan Main, (32) Sean Fletcher
HB: (15) Alec Waterman, (51) Aliir Aliir, (5) Hayden Kennedy
B: (40) Brenden Abbott, (25) Tom Barrass, (21) Josh Cuneo

R: (31) Darcy Cameron, (9) Dom Sheed, (17) Patrick Cripps
INT: (29) Sam Bevan, (11) Charlie Cameron, (14) Clem Smith, (24) Beau Chatley, (28) Tom Hodgson

EMERG: (42) Tyler Keitel, (18) Steven Edwards, (34) Ryan Lim

I don't know why, but I have a feeling that Tassie could pull of a massive upset.

:oops: Last time I make any big calls :oops: Was regretting that half way through the first quarter.

Tassie were pretty competitive though, lost by 60 points. Clear standout for mine was Kade Kolodjashnij. No clue how many possessions he ended up with, but must have been at least in the 30s. He was terrific - used the ball well when he had it for the most part, never panicked, and moved very well.

Zac Webster had a down game. Tried hard, had a bit of the ball, but was used out of position. He was OK, but nowhere near his best. I get why he would be played off the half back, but I don't think he is suited to it. Not tall enough/competitive enough in the air, and he just looks like a better player further up the ground. Should be played exclusively through the midfield and on the forward flank, even if that means he gets less opportunities against the good sides.

Thought Jake Kolodjashnij and Josh Watts did a great job down back. Was happy with Pearce's game. Boscott was huge in the first half, kept us from getting completely embarrassed.

Brandt Lee was another I wanted to highlight. He is not yet draft age, but should probably be named in Tassie's best. Excellent user of the ball, good evasive skills, seems pretty quick, and had a fair bit of it. Kicked a nice running goal and did a lot of good work off half back and on the wing. Was one of the few Tassie players that won their position.

Toby Nankervis: A ruckmen with a massive frame at 199cm and 100kgs at only 18, Toby Nankervis was invited to the draft on the back of a solid champs and good TSL form, having consistently featured in North Launceston's best throughout the year. Still very raw, but has excellent hands both in the air and on the ground, kicks well for a big man, and competes nicely around the ground. Can go forward and kick a goal on occasion, but there will be some question marks over his endurance and agility.

Player Comparison: Tom Bellchambers (Essendon)
Draft Range: 50 - Rookie

Does this still apply to the lad? Is he a genuine ruckman, and ruckman only or more versatile than that?

37 touches for Kade Kolodjashnij. Looked out of sorts at half back in the first half but really lifted when he spent more time in the midfield in the second half. Gee he links up well.

Jake contested really well in the air all day, was outclassed at ground level by Marsh though.

Pearce in the midfield was interested, don't think I've ever seen anyone steal the ball out of an opponents hands so many times in one game before.

Webster was busy early but bullied out of it for most of the day Cripps. Got his hands to the ball a lot but didn't do anything with it.

Real shame Templeton and Wiggins didn't play.

Boscott is a real goer, inspires the team when he does something physical.

The skinny defenders Watts, Lockhard and McGuinness get a :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: for their efforts today. They're so thin and the ball was coming in thick and fast but they never gave up and had a real crack all day.

Hanson came into the game in the third quarter, they need more clean disposal from him otherwise Webster and Kolodjashnij will continue to do all the inside work.

T2M you're spot on about Lee's kicking, it's very good and for most of the day was a rose between about 21 thorns.

Fox is great on the lead. Really good hands, kicking was the best I've seen it today but they just don't get it to him enough. We should get more of an idea of what he's capable of against the other division 2 teams.

37 touches for Kade Kolodjashnij. Looked out of sorts at half back in the first half but really lifted when he spent more time in the midfield in the second half. Gee he links up well.

Jake contested really well in the air all day, was outclassed at ground level by Marsh though.

Pearce in the midfield was interested, don't think I've ever seen anyone steal the ball out of an opponents hands so many times in one game before.

Webster was busy early but bullied out of it for most of the day Cripps. Got his hands to the ball a lot but didn't do anything with it.

Real shame Templeton and Wiggins didn't play.

Boscott is a real goer, inspires the team when he does something physical.

The skinny defenders Watts, Lockhard and McGuinness get a :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: for their efforts today. They're so thin and the ball was coming in thick and fast but they never gave up and had a real crack all day.

Hanson came into the game in the third quarter, they need more clean disposal from him otherwise Webster and Kolodjashnij will continue to do all the inside work.

T2M you're spot on about Lee's kicking, it's very good and for most of the day was a rose between about 21 thorns.

Fox is great on the lead. Really good hands, kicking was the best I've seen it today but they just don't get it to him enough. We should get more of an idea of what he's capable of against the other division 2 teams.
Have to agree with your summarisation! Kade ended up with 37 disposals it just said on the TAC Cup show. I thought Jake Kolodjashnij did a great job on Marsh. Marsh is highly rated in WA and only got one goal which he achieved when he ran back on the ground from off the bench. I also thought Thor Boscott got in and had a good go at times.

As posted on the AFL website....

Despite the discrepancy in inside 50 entries, Tasmania held up quite well under the circumstances.

Jake Kolodjashnij played a pivotal role on WA dangerman Jonathon Marsh, while twin brother Kade racked up 37 possessions and 20 handball receives through the midfield.

Toby Nankervis, standing at 199cm and 100kg, had 23 touches and 10 marks – continuing to show improvement and maturity after testing well at the Draft Combine last season.

Eventually though, Western Australia's firepower proved to be too difficult to handle, as they shared the football and ran Tasmania ragged in the second half.

WA defeated 14.17 (101) to Tasmania's 5.9 (39) in perfect conditions in Launceston.

WESTERN AUSTRALIA 4.10 8.12 11.14 14.17 (101)
TASMANIA 0.3 2.3 4.6 5.9 (39)

GOALS
WA:
Bevan 3, Johnson 2, McCarthy 2, Abbott, Edwards, Waterman, Marsh, Sokol, Jansen, Cameron
Tasmania: Boscott, Smith, Lee, Bones, Fox

BEST
WA:
Sheed, Johnson, Cripps, Hodgson, Bevan, Jansen
Tasmania: J Kolodjashnij, Lockhart, Nankervis, K Kolodjashnij, Boscott, Hanson

2013 Tasmanian Draft Prospects