Competitions 2014 Bulldogs Supercoach & Dreamteam Questions

What about Pearce, instead of Fuller, if what Macca said is to be believed, that he is knocking on the door of best 22, he will get games.

I think you're closer to the mark than some in this thread might expect actually.

I've got faith in Pearcey and have said it since I started watching him play. I think he has a role in the side and I wouldn't be surprised if he does have a breakout year. The problem though is that he has too many players around the same mark who may steal games off him to be a reasonable fantasy selection at this stage; it's impossible to guarantee when he'll get games, or how many he'll play. I just think it's too early to make a call on him, but I certainly view him as having the potential to be best 22 this year. I don't, however, expect him to score heavily.

I want one of Pearce and Fuller, might wait until nab challenge to decide which one though, fuller with his long raking kick sounds like hed be pretty effective in SC.

Fuller had a bit of an injury over pre season so he's probably a bit behind where the coaching staff want him to be.

How do you know this? I haven't heard anything like this at all :confused:

Sorry to disrupt the backline player chat but how is Jake Stringer coming along?

He looked overweight when drafted but he was touted as a possible midfield pinch hitter when he gets his engine up and running.

So, at 250k, does he look fit and do people predict he'll play 20 games next year?

If he does, I reckon he'll turn his 250k into 400k on ability.

Sorry to disrupt the backline player chat but how is Jake Stringer coming along?

He looked overweight when drafted but he was touted as a possible midfield pinch hitter when he gets his engine up and running.

So, at 250k, does he look fit and do people predict he'll play 20 games next year?

If he does, I reckon he'll turn his 250k into 400k on ability.
Would be a massive long shot to play 20 games. Still has to work on his fitness. I'd say he'll play about 10 or so games. Maybe a few more.

Thanks for the quick responses. Maybe next year for him then. Cheers.

Hey fellas, just wondering how Sam Darley is tracking, thinking about him or suckling in the backline, bit stuck on it...
Keep an eye on him, but he's competing with Fuller and Daniel Pearce for spots - not even our most ardent fans know which of the three are likely to get game time against the other two - for the time being pick one of Fuller, or Pearce if you want a bit more uniqueness in your team if you're after a Bulldog, or indeed go with Suckling.

Ah ripper mate, will do, keep struggling over the decision haha the joys of supercoach..

How many games will Honeychurch play?
Anyone's guess at the minute, but I'd be surprised if it's more than 6-7. He's competing with the likes of Dahlhaus, Hrovat, Hunter, Smith, Dickson and Higgins, all of which are a fair way ahead of him at this stage. Track his NAB Challenge but at this stage I'm not expecting a heap of games. May be a good downgrade option later in the season if we suffer injuries.

How many games will Honeychurch play?

Weighing in at 67 kg, there are only two AFL listed players who are lighter than our Honeychurch. For as much attack on the ball as he brings, you'd have to expect that his body just isn't likely to take AFL punishment for too long in his first season.

I love that he is on our list, but don't expect to see more than a handful of games from him. It would likely take serious injuries to our other small forwards (Dahlhaus, Hunter) for Honeychurch to get an extended run this season.

Lachie hunter as a bit of a smoky boys? Copped the vest a few times last years is his score are all below what he is capable of. Has bags of talent, hopefully enough to avoid more vests you'd think. Could be a decent option to make some cash if he's in the 22.

Thoughts?

Lachie hunter as a bit of a smoky boys? Copped the vest a few times last years is his score are all below what he is capable of. Has bags of talent, hopefully enough to avoid more vests you'd think. Could be a decent option to make some cash if he's in the 22.

Thoughts?
Right on the money mate - very highly rated internally and by the posters of this board. We all think he's a chance to play 15+ games and get picked round 1. Probably won't get too many vests as well.

Yeah im a massive fan of the kid. And to think you guys got him at pick 46 or whatever it was, massive massive steal imo. Kinda sucks supporting a club like crows where FS picks are yet to come into play. I am definitely jelly haha.

But yeah, if you look at Hunter's points scored per minute from last years numbers they are very impressive for a first year player. Add to that he was well managed last year and only played a handful games, means that he should be able to avoid the renowned '2nd year blues' and really kick on with things this year. Im just hoping his talent gets him a spot in the 22 without the vest. Hows he going in training, any training reports in particular that have mentioned him etc etc?? Im certainly watching him with a keen eye for both SC and my draft league:)

Hows he going in training, any training reports in particular that have mentioned him etc etc?? Im certainly watching him with a keen eye for both SC and my draft league:)
I can find this

Who's flying: Lachie Hunter is tearing up the track, while Stewart Crameri, Tom Liberatore and Koby Stevens are also front-runners. Defender Tom Young is the big improver this year.
But I swear I can remember them going into a bit more detail on how he's going this preseason, but yeah from all reports has been really really good and is right up the front of the packs.Don't think too many opposition supporters have noticed him yet but he's definitely highly rated on this board, word is we told him to focus on his defensive and contested game last year so he got a whole year of improvement in that regard but also slipped down the radar for other clubs a little bit. He's going to be something special I reckon

I can find this

Who's flying: Lachie Hunter is tearing up the track, while Stewart Crameri, Tom Liberatore and Koby Stevens are also front-runners. Defender Tom Young is the big improver this year.
But I swear I can remember them going into a bit more detail on how he's going this preseason, but yeah from all reports has been really really good and is right up the front of the packs.Don't think too many opposition supporters have noticed him yet but he's definitely highly rated on this board, word is we told him to focus on his defensive and contested game last year so he got a whole year of improvement in that regard but also slipped down the radar for other clubs a little bit. He's going to be something special I reckon

Sweet thanks for the help! :)

And yeah I'll be eagerly watching him grow with you, despite playing for an opposition team. This kid will be elite.

I haven't noticed a lot of love for Griff in teams I've seen and articles written say he still can't handle a tag! My opinion is at the end of the year when he had a couple of quieter games he was cooked, the season caught up with him after him shouldering so much of the load for the most part of the season. So question is is he overpriced do you think? (I'm on the side of no as he'll probably start in my team and stay for the year)

I don't think there was a game last year when he didn't get tagged. Occasionally he had a relatively average game with a very, very, heavy tag (Round 23 comes to mind) but I'd say Griffen was in the top 5 or 10 most heavily tagged players of 2013.

I think he might be a tad overpriced, still very capable to score highly though and would be a great POD, and probably won't lose much value. I'm having Libba in my team so that's the main reason I'm not taking Griff.

Anyway, he was tagged every single game last year. No exceptions. To say he can't handle a tag is a complete lie, so disregard those articles. And I would say your opinion would be correct.

I had Griff in my team until his minor back tweak.
TBH I see more upside in Libba who is already elite in some areas of his game and should score consistently

Hey guys, what are the thoughts on Dahlhaus' fitness and hence his role in the team this year? I picked him in a draft league last year and was disappointed early, when I suppose he was starved of opportunities in the forward line of a pretty rubbish team.

Obviously he finished with a bang later on - was this to do with the better form of the team, or did he play more of a midfield role? Probably a combination I guess, but it then begs the question as to whether he will be playing more in the midfield this year.

Super exciting player, valuable goal-kicking nous, but I guess what he needs to do is score more consistently through manic tackling and more touches in the midfield rather than relying on crumbs up forward.

Thoughts?

Competitions 2014 Bulldogs Supercoach & Dreamteam Questions