BigFooty Official 2015 Big Footy Phantom Draft (Trial Run)

I just didn't have Silvagni on my list. He'll get taken, but I'd rather him as a rookie.

Minogue, Atkins and Glass-McCasker were the three remaining I considered, and then a bunch of other older players who should get interest - Uebergang, Harper, Hodgson, Keough, Bootsma. I'd be struggling to find 10 players picked in the final 2 rounds of this draft that I'd actually take, and I think that will be the hallmark of this draft. Opinions will be varied.

Draft review
Our post season will really decide Essendon's drafting. I believe Carlisle will leave- what can Essendon get for him? Bellchambers may follow him. Winderlich, Fletcher and Chapman will retire. KAVANAGH will seek opportunities elsewhere can he prove Essendon wrong like bachar houli did? Dempsey, hams, pears, giles, dalgleish, kommer all in real trouble.
OBrien Melksham will just hang on I imagine.cooney, Gwilt and Stanton will be there next year but are not the players they were. We also have a captain who has publicly admitted he isn't enjoying footy. Can you imagine Luke hodge saying that in any circumstance? Me neither.
A draft scenario I heard today was Carlisle to Carlton for pick 3 and 19 and Carlton will receive Carlisle and pick 5. This person in the industry but not tied to either club.He believes that essendon really like francis.Interesting times ahead.

first round d parish
Just a ripping kid and a ripper player. Should be an above average afl midfielder. My one query is he is lacking a bit of size for a modern afl midfielder.

Second round Callum Moore
Earlier than Callum Moore will go in the real thing both in big footy phantom draft and in November in the Gold Coast. However Callum can take contested mark and is a real exciting athlete. Him and Shaun Edwards would be fun to watch. Our forward line has Daniher and perhaps hooker. Am rose for grunt. Edwards for flair. We do not have a small forward and a jumping jack like Callum Moore would fit in well.

Third round Dylan smith
A lot of upside to this kid. Hard to see where he will fall come November. I like his hands and his athleticism. Essendon will need to trade for a genuine ruckman I would guess.

Fourth round Mitch brown
Safest pick I reckon and best bargain of my draft. Brown should be cherry ripe for his second shot at afl and would fill the void left by fletcher and pears on our list.

Fifth round Daniel rioli
Speculative pick but Essendon do not have an effective small forward. Paying the price for jetta and dell olio not developing. Would Essendon take a risk with Shane yarran?

I do not take father son selections from other clubs as I believe its no fun but Dunkley severely underrated and silvagni should be in first four rounds.

You all missed Kurt Mutimer.

he was on my list and a few other peoples who had sent their preferred lists through. He was probably going in the next 5-10 would have thought. I quite like him but was keen on Doedee who I dont think people really know given how little he has played but he is one kid people will watch in 2nd half depending on how he goes later in the year.

Beddison was another that plays a bit like him that I thought might have gone.

I just didn't have Silvagni on my list. He'll get taken, but I'd rather him as a rookie.

Minogue, Atkins and Glass-McCasker were the three remaining I considered, and then a bunch of other older players who should get interest - Uebergang, Harper, Hodgson, Keough, Bootsma. I'd be struggling to find 10 players picked in the final 2 rounds of this draft that I'd actually take, and I think that will be the hallmark of this draft. Opinions will be varied.

I reckon we won't see more than about 70 - 75 selections total in the both drafts. I reckon there will be a lot of upgrades and clubs re rookie senior players who they have delisted. I reckon the process we went demonstrates that finding 5 players to add to your list is going to be hard.

he was on my list and a few other peoples who had sent their preferred lists through. He was probably going in the next 5-10 would have thought. I quite like him
He's a footballer. Lovely left foot kick, good size, strong in the air and tackles. I'll be interested to see how he tests, and hopefully he finishes the year strongly.

Have enjoyed the trial run (always great hearing different opinions on how you all rate players differently) but have a question about what you are planning on the final run. As I support a club with an academy I am interested in how the bidding will go. I want to see how people will value the academy players versus the picks they have to move around (and who they could miss out on by matching a bid). Are you guys going to look at matching bids in the final run?

I reckon we won't see more than about 70 - 75 selections total in the both drafts. I reckon there will be a lot of upgrades and clubs re rookie senior players who they have delisted. I reckon the process we went demonstrates that finding 5 players to add to your list is going to be hard.
Agree with that. I see the rookie list being cleared to make way for some of this year's crop. More speculative than past few years and hence more likely to see spots opening up on the rookie list.

Summarising what I chose for Melbourne:

Pick 4. Melbourne – Aaron Francis (defender/forward/swing man)
Pick 22. Melbourne - Thomas Cole (half back/midfielder)
Pick 40: Melbourne - Brayden Fiorini (midfielder)
Pick 58: Melbourne - Nick Dodge (small-medium forward)
Pick 76: Melbourne - Bailey Rogers (midfielder)

Commentary: In what is supposedly a weaker draft, I feel Melbourne came away with some decent quality and some grounds for optimism. Once Francis had been secured, I went about the selections to complement the recent high draft talent that Melbourne has been accumulating in the last 2 years. The midfield depth of Melbourne could well turn into one of the best going around. In addition, seeing the development of Hogan this season highlighted the need to provide a team that can make the most of a shining forward target. Both Cole and Fiorini have spent time in defence and midfield and complement Brayshaw and Petracca so providing lots of versatility.

Stayed away from the talls – possibly add one or two in the rookie draft and would prefer to wait for 2016 to go hard on another first round KPP.

Pick 4. Melbourne – Aaron Francis (Defender/Forward/Swing Man)
191cm, 86kg, 10/8/1997
South Australia and West Adelaide
Comparison: A mix between Jack Darling and Brendon Goddard.
Is he a mid, defender, forward or tweener? Not sure but he is genuine A+ potential prospect and he finds a way to impact games. Is he high on Melbourne’s needs list? Not sure but I expected him to go at number 3 and could not resist. Would be an ideal addition for any club and offers massive versatility. Started the year as a defender and in the U18 carnival spent time back, forward (4 goals in one game) and even took some rotations through the midfield. Had a strong carnival and was the stand out South Australian. This saw him named in U18 All Australian team at CHF but more like a 3rd tall and swing man. His elite athleticism allows him to play taller than his height would suggest, similar to Jack Darling. He works hard and once he builds up his endurance, showed enough in midfield to suggest he may go the Fyfe big bodied midfielder role.

Excellent foot skills, strong aerial presence and has great decision making. Generally efficient by foot and he makes adjustments during games to adapt to what is happening. Given time, he will also be a strong on-field leader in the mould of Luke Hodge.

Like Darling, he is a real possibility to be playing in his first year. Like many recent top SA recruits, he has already shown he fits in at the SANFL league level removing some of the guesswork as to whether he can take the next step. This selection would fit well with the age profile of Melbourne’s list and be an integral member to take them to the next window of success.

Pick 22. Melbourne - Thomas Cole (Half back/Midfielder)
185 cm, 76kg, 28/8/97
Vic Country, Bendigo Pioneers
Thomas is a running half back flank who is starting to spend more time through the midfield. He has attributes that would add nicely to the formidable midfield that Melbourne are amassing. Versatility, speed and ability to go forward and impact the scoreboard. He uses the ball well without being elite and generally hits his targets (confidence to do so with both left and right).

Melbourne will continue to want players that will be versatile and work as a unit and I think Cole adds to the likes of Viney, Brayshaw, Petracca and co. Starting to show that he can be damaging and not afraid of going deep in attack and scoring. He is the sort of player that will flourish when surrounded by quality and will bring his game up to that level, as is the case with Tyson. A relatively safe selection but I believe one that will pay dividends.

A bit crafty and capable of using the ball well, Cole also has the versatility to play a number of spots, from half-back through to the midfield. He's composed with the ball, can kick on both feet and has the capacity to make an impact near goal. In May the Bendigo Pioneers prospect impressed in the VFL playing for Geelong's state-league team and he showed some explosive signs with ball in hand for Vic Country.

Pick 40: Melbourne - Brayden Fiorini (midfielder)
186 cm 75 kg, 06/9/97
Vic Metro, Northern Knights
In an era when foot skills are rated highly and elite foot skills are sought after by all clubs, you are going to be hard pressed to find many in this year’s draft who have better foot skills than Fiorini. The Greensborough local has a missile like left foot that hits targets time and time again. Fiorini is a free flowing and quick outside midfielder who’s run and carry is a real asset. As a bottom ager in 2014 he played every game for the Knights in 2014 and played well. This season has been a more difficult one as he has had a few annoying and niggling injuries to contend with however he still managed to be selected for Vic Metro.

As an outside midfielder he has all the tools needed to succeed at the next level. He does need to work on his inside game and mix it up a bit more. Having said that, he has been given more inside responsibilities at the Knights this season. He showed in the round 7 TAC Cup game against Ballarat that he can handle the inside role well. The Knights were getting hammered and in the last quarter Fiorini was moved into the middle (similar to what Knights did 2 years earlier with Bontempelli) where Brayden shone getting six clearances in the last quarter, so there is no question that he can play an inside role. He is light weight at this point in time and he will need to work hard on building up his strength and body into a bigger frame.

He is the youngest of four brothers and has been at the bottom of the pack and fighting outside his weight division all his life so he is not shy of a scrap (a la Scooter Selwood). He does come from good stock as his father Sam played reserves for Carlton before he popped a knee that put an end to a promising VFL career. At this juncture in the draft I believe Fiorini represents good value as his football smarts and skills are impressive, in particular his foot skills.

Pick 58: Melbourne -Nick Dodge (small-medium forward)
179 cm, 71 kg small, 6/02/1997
Tasmania,Tassie Mariners
Nick has been a consistent accumulator of goals in both the TAC Cup and the Under 18 Division 2 games. He has been bagging 4 - 5 goal hauls showing he likes kicking goals. At just under 6 foot, he is a medium forward with great goal sense. He knows where to position himself and can play a role feeding off the pack marks or getting separation from his defender and taking the mark himself.

The main reason why I chose him is to ensure that Hogan has allies around him. Hogan will be that main target and Dodge will offer alternate leads and ignore them at your peril. He may have an occasional run through the midfield but I suggest this is not his strength and he has not shown a large enough tank for him to spend sustained periods of time. Besides, you don’t need everyone capable of a large tank, you need some completer-finishers and that is what Dodge will deliver.

Pick 76: Melbourne - Bailey Rogers (midfielder)
183 cm, 77 kg, 22/3/1997
WA, Claremont
The last few years he has played in the shadows of Waterman and Hardisty (both at Claremont and with Marist). With them both having been drafted last year, Rogers has had an opportunity to shine and shine he has done for the Claremont Colts. He is a tough and effective inside midfielder, good by both hand and foot and some down at Claremont think he is a better player than Waterman and Hardisty. Rogers form guide in the Colts got him noticed and he played in the recent Championships. In what was a relatively week WA side Rogers was one of the better performers.

He is a player that will be worth monitoring in the second half of the Colts season, given he plays for Claremont (currently top of the Colts ladder) it will be interesting to see how he plays in the finals. Recently he played in the Claremont reserves side and played well gathering 19 disposals. May possibly get a chance at the Claremont league team towards the end of the year.

Whilst he is an inside mid he can also play the outside role as well. Rogers has beefed up his possession count this season and is averaging 23 possessions a game. The kid has a good work ethic and it would not be surprising to see him drafted either late in the National or secure a Rookie spot.

Have enjoyed the trial run (always great hearing different opinions on how you all rate players differently) but have a question about what you are planning on the final run. As I support a club with an academy I am interested in how the bidding will go. I want to see how people will value the academy players versus the picks they have to move around (and who they could miss out on by matching a bid). Are you guys going to look at matching bids in the final run?

yeah i am thinking about it.

I do not take father son selections from other clubs as I believe its no fun

I have to agree with this statement. I would not mind next year maybe before the draft getting everyone to place a ranking on all the academy and FS selections and maybe even applying the AFL system.

I am assuming next year Brisbane will be using most of their picks on academy players and Quigs could just draft for another team and we could use 1-3 less mock drafters next year.

yeah i am thinking about it.
I think it'd be handy to use the AFL points system in the real thing, to be honest. There's very clearly still some confusion around how the system works and using it in this mock may help a few understand it a bit better, and also help everybody to get a sense of what their club is likely to have to give up come draft time. Creates a more accurate mock, too. It does confuse things a little, but I really do think it's for the best. Perhaps have a non-drafter calculate the picks needed.

The live bidding aspect probably won't work, though.

I think it'd be handy to use the AFL points system in the real thing, to be honest. There's very clearly still some confusion around how the system works and using it in this mock may help a few understand it a bit better, and also help everybody to get a sense of what their club is likely to have to give up come draft time. Creates a more accurate mock, too. It does confuse things a little, but I really do think it's for the best. Perhaps have a non-drafter calculate the picks needed.

It will probably slow things down a little bit but I think you are right in getting someone, (independent from the draft maybe?) who understands the system well, to calc the picks needed.

the issue more for me is do we need to have a trade period with it. in real terms what will happen is the northern state clubs will most likely us the trade period to get the extra selections they will need to 'fund' them.

Will think through how to make it work but may try and build that in.

Draft review for the Gold Coast Suns:

Pick 2: Jacob Weitering

This is a best available pick, and imo he is the best player in the draft, just key forwards are worth more than key defenders. One of the best key defenders to come through the draft in recent times, if not the best. There is not one single weakness that I could find in his game, there are things that he could improve but he is a very well rounded player. Defensively he is great overhead and in the contests, he reads the play really well and is an elite intercept mark. Offensively he wins a lot of the ball uses it well and provides great rebound out of defence. I think it personally he could slot into the Gold Coast backline straight away as a third tall and play alongside Rory Thompson and Steven May. He has shown some good signs as a forward and taller midfielder but remains unproven there.

All in all a very strong pick who will strengthen the Gold Coast team.

Pick 20: Callum Ah Chee

I know Gold Coast need an inside mid and probably don't need another flashy type, but he was the best available player imo and has top 10 talent. As a small forward/half-forward he is an elite prospect. He may be unproven somewhat as a mid, but he presents as a dangerous goal kicking small forward who threatens in a number of different ways. He is good overhead, can take a speccy with his leap, great at crumbing and can do some special things on the field. Athletically his pace is elite and it really shows, he is very agile and has a super vertical leap so expect him to be a combine star. Defensively he could be a terror with his speed but needs to put in effort as is a weakness.

Gold Coast have some decent small forwards yet no elite option. Matera could get there and he is dangerous, Hall is inconsistent, and Bennell and Martin will push up the ground. So Gold Coast could use some forward help to provide another avenue to goal. Best case scenario is he has the talent to be an elite player who is capable of pushing up the ground and wins more of the ball.

Pick 38: Corey Wagner

Gold Coast grab a local Queensland boy who is underrated. He is a midfielder who is a good accumulator on the outside but has developed his inside game so that he is a good clearance winner now. He finds the ball easily he uses it effectively and he can push forward and kick goals. At this stage of the draft it is quite thin and Wagner is a solid player who does not have an elite skill set but is a good solid all rounder who has a lot of growth left in his game. He will take a while to develop but he expect him to become a neat accumulator type of midfielder if he makes the grade.

Pick 56: Matthew Nunn

Not who I would have picked but at this stage represents excellent value. He is a midfielder who first and foremost whose best work is done on the outside. His kicking can be a real weapon and he is quite clean around the contests. He is pretty quick and finds a fair bit of the ball. He tackles well and is improving as an inside player. Another well rounded ball winner with no real standout attributes but has talent.

He may actually be a little underrated on here as his SANFL work has been pretty impressive for a young kid.

Pick 74: Cody Filewood

Cody Filewood is an interesting player who is part of the Gold Coast Academy and is an intriguing talent. he plays primarilly as a medium forward. He hits the scoreboard, gets into good positions and presents as a dangerous option. He plays more as a lead up marking type rather than a crumber, but he is good overhead and gets to dangerous spots. Has a ton of redevelopment left so it will be good to see where he gets to as he has not always played AFL I understand. His skills are neat and he is a very good shot for goal.

Probably more of a rookie option to be realistic.

dlanod is your man.

If I was actually drafting for Fremantle, I'd probably go tall again. Dylan Atkins and Jesse Glass-McCasker are two defenders I like more than others, while Josh Minogue would be good value too. But...

Pick 90 Fremantle - Jock Cornell

I was going to take him with my last pick, he's easily the highest rated player I have left on the board. He had a good Championshps for NSW, kicked a few goals and showed some real potential. He reminds me a bit of Nick Suban, similar kick and a strong body.

His ability as a forward is known, but I liked him through the midfield. Showed some smarts and read the hitouts well, there's a fair bit to work with. One of the lesser known Academy players, he'd be better known for being a Daniher cousin. But he'd be a smart bid, because it's unlikely GWS will be able to match.
Good pick Chris , I have him end of 3rd round on my list 50-55

Better late than never I guess but here is my review of the Port picks

Rhys Mathieson
James Parsons
Dan Houston
Hugh Haysman
David Cunningham

Mathieson to me seemed a no brainer. I rate him highly and he is a great ball winner and accumulator. He was a safe pick and has a little bit of Ollie Wines about him. Not necessarily in playing style but in terms of being able to go straight away and be able to impact from the get go. Just seems like a tough player but reasonably well skilled and has that extra string to his bow by being able to kick goals.

I targeted speed for Port because the injuries to Polec and then White showed that there is very little depth in that area and as a result Port would struggle to outrun my grandmother at the moment. Parsons is exciting and is a linebreaker. He has great agility and good skills. As a tall wingman I think he will go well. I would have taken Skinner here and also considered Kade Stewart who I seem to rate far higher than most but having already taken Mathieson I felt he was too similar.

Dan Houston is a great medium forward with a number of draftable attributes. He can kick bags of goals, is very mobile and can play close to goal or up the ground. His marking for his size isn’t elite but his movement is. Port need a third tall and I rate him as the best available, better than the likes of Himmelberg who have received more hype. (Note I haven’t seen Burton or Curnow but from all reports they are actually better prospects. Houston is the best I HAVE SEEN).

Hugh Haysman is a similar pick to Parsons as that outside runner. He finds a bit more of the footy than Parsons, who tends to float in and out of games and will never be a high possession winner. He is a great runner who runs to really good areas and stretches opposition players by forcing them to work both ways, Skills need a bit of a tidy up but plenty to work with. Has also played a lot of league footy this year and played well which is something I really rate and like to see.

David Cunningham hasn’t received much hype but as a late pick (really a rookie pick) he is value. Another outside player/flanker who has great breakaway pace. Likes to take the game on all the time and is someone who I just always seem to notice. Tends to fade in and out of games but I think he has something to work with and could be suited to a gamestyle like Port’s.

BigFooty Official 2015 Big Footy Phantom Draft (Trial Run)