LukeParkerno1
Post-Human
Hope he is over all his issues too.
GWS then daylight to 6 or so sides.
We are one of them but wow do we need to improve and stay fit.
I reckon we need 2 guys to jump a class this season. Say a draftee and someone else to do a Rampe and just work their shit out.
Going to be tough though. We rely on so few for so much.
How good is it to hear Roughy is back at training?
Genuinely made me smile.
Good luck to the big fella.
If Naismith continues to develop his skills as a tap ruckman. Allir continues his amazing journey... and we find an outside midfielder who can carry the ball. The first two will happen....much depends on the third. JPK could do with a team mate to do the same thing as him. Win the contested ball. Then we would be a real contender. So who offers us the most likelihood of becoming an outside receiver/runner? Could it be Towers? And who is most likely to become our bull number 2? Parker?
There are few ifs. We will be in it over our arm pits next year. I expect Naismith and Allir to maintain their rocket like trajectory. Where Horse needed to address glaring inadequacies - a replacement for Jets from the year before, and a replacement for Tom Mitchell ( as much to provide relief for JPK ) - two accepted knowns - This is where Horse and the coaching staff will fail or succeed in the Club's ambitions to thwart GWS of next year's flag. Two ifs. If we find a midfielder outside runner and a player to assume and or assist JPK's role, especially when he needs a breather, then we will contend big time. I know that Rampe is a standout champion in defence, but we have a few whose CV makes them worthy replacements for Rampe. I would love Rampe to have a crack in the midfield. Rather than saving matches, Rampe could win them as a JPK mark 2.Few ifs there
There are few ifs. We will be in it over our arm pits next year. I expect Naismith and Allir to maintain their rocket like trajectory. Where Horse needed to address glaring inadequacies - a replacement for Jets from the year before, and a replacement for Tom Mitchell ( as much to provide relief for JPK ) - two accepted knowns - This is where Horse and the coaching staff will fail or succeed in the Club's ambitions to thwart GWS of next year's flag. Two ifs. If we find a midfielder outside runner and a player to assume and or assist JPK's role, especially when he needs a breather, then we will contend big time. I know that Rampe is a standout champion in defence, but we have a few whose CV makes them worthy replacements for Rampe. I would love Rampe to have a crack in the midfield. Rather than saving matches, Rampe could win them as a JPK mark 2.
And the outside runner? Towers. Get him to copy Isaac Smith.
You are too kind. Just wait. I have too many ways of eating my own words. But I do honestly think that we are not far way. So many kids with massive upside. We will be a better team next year and the year after that. The issue is addressing what we know are our inadequacies. Lack of run and consistent winning of contested ball. We do that...we then match up against anyone.....including the AFL's precocious test tube love child. Exciting times for our Club, following our young team's development as they form the next chapter of Swans legends.Best first year poster here
You are too kind. Just wait. I have too many ways of eating my own words. But I do honestly think that we are not far way. So many kids with massive upside. We will be a better team next year and the year after that. The issue is addressing what we know are our inadequacies. Lack of run and consistent winning of contested ball. We do that...we then match up against anyone.....including the AFL's precocious test tube love child. Exciting times for our Club, following our young team's development as they form the next chapter of Swans legends.
Yes, how the coaching staff manage our key players - like the game plan that continues to lose us tight matches. Our two way hard running exposes us to game fade outs. We need to be smarter with our control/disposal when we have the ball. Tempo footy under Roos seems like last century - but there is a time each quarter when we need to collectively take our foot off the pedal and simply hold the game and play possession on our terms, rather than playing manic energy sapping stuff. Roos hated it when a player kicked to a contest because it gave the other mob a chance to regain the footy.The game has moved on - but having a game plan C in your kitbag of tricks is not such a bad thing. The use of Tippett and Buddy up forward continues to be a work in progress. Either the players get it wrong most of the time or the coaches blueprints are flawed and will never be any good. Let's be generous to both and say both have room to improve. Tippett needs to be far more lethal as a forward. Hard to do when you are needed in the ruck....yet maybe it is as a ruckman that he can undo defences? Mmmm, guess that is management isn't it?We are than more than capable
I think how manage key guys needs the most improvement more so than anything talent wise
Yes, how the coaching staff manage our key players - like the game plan that continues to lose us tight matches. Our two way hard running exposes us to game fade outs. We need to be smarter with our control/disposal when we have the ball. Tempo footy under Roos seems like last century - but there is a time each quarter when we need to collectively take our foot off the pedal and simply hold the game and play possession on our terms, rather than playing manic energy sapping stuff. Roos hated it when a player kicked to a contest because it gave the other mob a chance to regain the footy.The game has moved on - but having a game plan C in your kitbag of tricks is not such a bad thing. The use of Tippett and Buddy up forward continues to be a work in progress. Either the players get it wrong most of the time or the coaches blueprints are flawed and will never be any good. Let's be generous to both and say both have room to improve. Tippett needs to be far more lethal as a forward. Hard to do when you are needed in the ruck....yet maybe it is as a ruckman that he can undo defences? Mmmm, guess that is management isn't it?
We waste him in the sense that he plays too high, so he is unable to wreak havoc on the scoreboard. Yet when he plays too close to goal he and Tippett competing in a smaller space becomes an issue. Too easy for the defence to lock tight on them when they are both forward fifty. Buddy is lethal at 60 out and that is the area that he really needs to make his own. Few defences can fully protect that ten meter space outside of fifty. Most will allow marks in that area and they will roll the dice.Yep longmires use of his forwards is his biggest weakness imo
We waste buddy
We waste him in the sense that he plays too high, so he is unable to wreak havoc on the scoreboard. Yet when he plays too close to goal he and Tippett competing in a smaller space becomes an issue. Too easy for the defence to lock tight on them when they are both forward fifty. Buddy is lethal at 60 out and that is the area that he really needs to make his own. Few defences can fully protect that ten meter space outside of fifty. Most will allow marks in that area and they will roll the dice.
Anyone genuinely excited about the womens comp?
Not remotely to be honest
I think it's a great idea, but seems a bit overhyped.
For mine, and no doubt I will be shouted down for this, it is an inferior product to mens AFL.
Like comparing the EPL with the A-league 10 years back.
The what?Anyone genuinely excited about the womens comp?