List Mgmt. 2016 Hypothetical draft, trade and free agency thread

what to do with Pick 10?

• continue trying to trade with GCS for JOM?

Votes: 26 66.7%
  • draft a youngster

Votes: 7 17.9%
  • Rockliff

Votes: 4 10.3%
  • Hartlett

Votes: 2 5.1%

Post anytime you like mate, and this is the thread where guys like Punky can be discussed. I'm against it personally, but as has been mentioned by a few here that given the right offer most guys could be accessible.

What do you think Giants would be willing to give up?

Ps. Answering this will make or break you here ;)
Our board opinion is high first roun. We hold Collingwoods. Then possibly players negotiable. I think you'd get it would also depend on the players wishrs. But Steele if he wanted

So is that around pick 10? That would probably be a good start to negotiations, we desperately need picks to leverage from.

Punky is an all australian forward who kicks 45-50 goals a year without fail, dynamic player. We would certainly love Steele, I'm sure a swap of picks and Steele could be discussed to.

Id find it extremely difficult to part with Punky, only if he wanted to go I'd entertain it.

So is that around pick 10? That would probably be a good start to negotiations, we desperately need picks to leverage from.

Punky is an all australian forward who kicks 45-50 goals a year without fail, dynamic player. We would certainly love Steele, I'm sure a swap of picks and Steele could be discussed to.

Id find it extremely difficult to part with Punky, only if he wanted to go I'd entertain it.
Suspect our club will put out feelers , no knowledge just seems logical, see what happens.

There's no way the club would trade Bruest. I've been reading pages and pages of this silliness. He's our most dangerous close to goal....we would shoot a big hole out of our forward line doing this. He's been developed..more dangerous than Puopolo.
Look elsewhere for a trade like Litherland..Tim O'Brien...etc. These guys have potential and have been in the Hawthorn system now for awhile..so there is collateral there.

What's you're opinion on James Stewart? If Stewart was to be traded is he worth a 2nd round pick? He's well behind the pecking order at the Giants and with Patton and Lobb's breakout seasons it's only gotten harder for him to break into the GWS team for this year and beyond. He's one key forward I hope the Hawks consider trading for given the lack of key forwards on our list.

Although we could probably get James Stuart from BWS for that Fourth Round Selection which would then make it look like:

OUT: Ryan Schoenmakers, Tim O'Brien and Kaiden Brand
IN: Ollie Wines and James Stuart

- Ryan Schoenmakers is injury prone as f@#k
- Tim O'Brien is overated
- Kaiden Brand is taking a looong times to develop

- Ollie Wines is a proven gun
- James Stuart is finding it really tough breaking into a strong GWS outfit loaded with KPP talent (he kicked 8.1 in the NEAFL last week)

Does that change anything???

No! You still talk crap.

There's no way the club would trade Bruest. I've been reading pages and pages of this silliness. He's our most dangerous close to goal....we would shoot a big hole out of our forward line doing this. He's been developed..more dangerous than Puopolo.
Look elsewhere for a trade like Litherland..Tim O'Brien...etc. These guys have potential and have been in the Hawthorn system now for awhile..so there is collateral there.

Understand what you're saying but TOB isn't worth anything more than a can of coke and chips and I don't think Gus is worth anything more. We have to give up something to get something, it may or may not be Punky, like you I'd prefer to stay away from players like him but I also understand what the realities are.

What's you're opinion on James Stewart? If Stewart was to be traded is he worth a 2nd round pick? He's well behind the pecking order at the Giants and with Patton and Lobb's breakout seasons it's only gotten harder for him to break into the GWS team for this year and beyond. He's one key forward I hope the Hawks consider trading for given the lack of key forwards on our list.
1. Geat current form at NEAFL level
2. Has all the physical.attributes of a key Foward, and releieving in the ruck a strong point.
3. Started in the AFL side round 1 last 2 years, from that I assume his work ethic is fine
4. Both years has made his way back into the NEAFL, think he just doesn't handle the pressure of AFL.
5. Leon keeps naming him as a possible selection so dont think he has lost faith. Cant see him playing finals too much of a risk.

Third rounder at best and for him and you hope you're system can find the key. His best chamce if our's cant I would think

Understand what you're saying but TOB isn't worth anything more than a can of coke and chips and I don't think Gus is worth anything more. We have to give up something to get something, it may or may not be Punky, like you I'd prefer to stay away from players like him but I also understand what the realities are.

Wow, that's a really harsh on Gus Litherland and Tim O'Brien. Tim O'Brien is still developing. Litherland IMHO is not that bad, he's lacking opportunity.

On the open market they're worth very little, maybe harsh but we would be lucky to get 4th rounders for them

You realize that GWS is not a basket case any longer and needing to take mediocre players from other teams.....
They're a gun side filled with talent that is not hopelessly lost or lacking leadership.
If you want to stump fringe Hawk players to someone, stick to the GC footy club.

GWS would only be interested in absolute quality, and because of an openly distorted drafting system have talent in reserve they can offer up in return. No problem getting a fair deal from that club if you want to haggle, but know you'll be giving up a genuinely classy player in return.

Been watching the VFL finals with interest this year as a lot of ex-locals (Sale) are taking part in various clubs one of them in the Essendon 2s Nash Holmes is as hard as nails could do worse to pick this guy up in the rookie draft Campbell Brown raves about him almost as much as Bruce loves Cyril I reckon .got the type of mongrel and hardness you can't teach .

Good player, I'm sure Essendon have been keeping an eye on him. Dominated the last part of the VFL season, great build, we could do a lot worst.

A mate has told me he allegedly heard a suggested 3-way-trade where Hill goes to Freo, L Weller to Saints and Longer to us.
The Weller and Hill brothers both get to join forces, but I am not sure it would work for us.
Personally I think Hill has a lot more runs on the board than Longer who cannot get a game for the Saints, but we do need another ruckman.
Maybe if we got some really nice steak knives thrown in? What would others think?

I'm not going to come onto your board proposing silly trades but I hope we have something you want. Our list manager has said we are looking for a small defensive forward. It seems to be area we coukd strengthen.Bruest would be ideal if you decided he was tradeable

Sensible input is always welcome, so feel free to ask the question.

Players like Bruest are much harder to find than midfielders, IMHO. However we need mids. So for me, if GWS offered Kelly and Hopper I would be willing to let Bruest decide.

GWS might think it is too much, and Hawthorn would certainly not trade him for anything less than full value.
So the conversation may not lead too far. That is the challenge of trading.

A mate has told me he allegedly heard a suggested 3-way-trade where Hill goes to Freo, L Weller to Saints and Longer to us.
The Weller and Hill brothers both get to join forces, but I am not sure it would work for us.
Personally I think Hill has a lot more runs on the board than Longer who cannot get a game for the Saints, but we do need another ruckman.
Maybe if we got some really nice steak knives thrown in? What would others think?
Saints make off like Bosses in this scenario. Would have to include their 2nd Rounder as well. Still feels kinda like unders back to us though.

Sensible input is always welcome, so feel free to ask the question.

Players like Bruest are much harder to find than midfielders, IMHO. However we need mids. So for me, if GWS offered Kelly and Hopper I would be willing to let Bruest decide.

GWS might think it is too much, and Hawthorn would certainly not trade him for anything less than full value.
So the conversation may not lead too far. That is the challenge of trading.
You know our players, they would high on my list to keep. Think my board would ban me if I suggested that was a gòod idea, which I do think is high. I personally like the idea of Bruest but get it's a long shot. Still hope the clubs can do some deal, but I get he isn't going to be cheap or easy to get.
Cheers

Another ruckman would be handy seeing we have no ceglar and may some doubt on mcevoy next year

Ha! Hill For Longer?! You've got to be kidding me. what has Longer ever done apart from being a high draft pick at some point in time?

Why couldn't he play as a tall wingman?
It's not like he ( gunner & Sicily ) can't be used as a link man out of defence.
The rolling zone that is incorporated throughout the AFL now doesn't necessarily look at the wing as a midfield possition.
With how Clarko uses his wing position, I would have thought that a talk marking option that can also run ( considering that Gunston & Sicily would be rolling through the same position ) would be a pretty effective weapon.

A tall marking wingman like Gunner or Sicily would be good and they could no doubt play that role effectively if need be. But........ TOB doesn't have the smarts and ground ball strength as the other two and this is why you couldn't play him off the wing. This doesn't mean he can't be a marking option coming out of the backline, he'd be a lead up forward providing a lead up option before returning to the forward half where he no doubt only belongs at this stage. I bet he never played midfield as a junior whereas Sicily and Gunner did.

****ing disastrous trade for us.

A tall marking wingman like Gunner or Sicily would be good and they could no doubt play that role effectively if need be. But........ TOB doesn't have the smarts and ground ball strength as the other two and this is why you couldn't play him off the wing. This doesn't mean he can't be a marking option coming out of the backline, he'd be a lead up forward providing a lead up option before returning to the forward half where he no doubt only belongs at this stage. I bet he never played midfield as a junior whereas Sicily and Gunner did.
TOB is better at ground level than sis I reckon