2016 Non-Crows AFL Discussion - Cont. in Part 2 (link in OP)

Once again, the team with significantly lower possessions wins the game reasonably comfortably. We are definitely moving away from the high possession football we've seen over the last few years. Racking up possessions means increased turnovers which, as the game now opens up due to fewer rotations, means you get scored against.

The days of getting 450+ touches as a winning strategy - as Geelong did for so long and as Hawthorn did in 2013-14 - are over.

North still didn't score a lot.

We must not fall for the stupidity of bombing the ball in long just because they are short!

They flood back, create packs and clear it with space when at their best. Turnovers killed them tonight.

We need to burst forward when we have clear space but otherwise we need to be methodical, take the short options at times, stretch their defence while setting ours up behind the ball.

Not sure. We don't strangle like Norf. They were doing it before half time.
Live they also looked physically cooked
Playing so many games on Etihad might be having an effect physically

You have enough small forwards to put sufficient pressure on their rebounding defenders

Imo that's where western bulldogs lost it

Difference tonight was Petrie, Brown and Waite Vs Stringer.

In a tight game North were able to get the easy goals that big forwards give you. Stringer cost them a goal from Jong with an early jump in the back. Then proceeded to kick two crunch time points.

You have enough small forwards to put sufficient pressure on their rebounding defenders

That's where we must persist with Cameron even if he doesn't do heaps tomorrow…as long as he defends like a maniac next week it will be an astute selection.

We must not fall for the stupidity of bombing the ball in long just because they are short!

They flood back, create packs and clear it with space when at their best. Turnovers killed them tonight.

We need to burst forward when we have clear space but otherwise we need to be methodical, take the short options at times, stretch their defence while setting ours up behind the ball.
There was some predictable dumb football going forward tonight, along with high turnovers. Bullies have lost 3 quality balk users, so only had the likes of McRae & Hunter that looked damaging tonight.

Bulldogs looked average
Lacking lots of rebound from defence and no real forwards

You boys should get up easy

Carn Jonts, we're more than capable of creating our own hubris leading to an embarrassing result, thanks. :p

That would have been an exceedingly frustrating game to watch for a North supporter. Appeared as though the Dogs shocking skills were contagious, leading to the Benny Hill aerial ping pong between the two.

Correct - hit the lead ups and forwards need to present to footy to get movement and seperation to spread he defence

We should win one on ones in our forward line

Difference tonight was Petrie, Brown and Waite Vs Stringer.

In a tight game North were able to get the easy goals that big forwards give you. Stringer cost them a goal from Jong with an early jump in the back. Then proceeded to kick two crunch time points.
& we can repeat the dose next week & really stretch the dogs, whilst talia locks down on stinger.

There is a reason why no team since Essendon in 2000 based at Docklands has won a Premiership. Tough ground physically to play too many games on. Not just a hard surface but I believe the game being quicker end to end there takes a toll as well.

We play more games at the G this year than the Doggies do.

We can beat the Bulldogs next week in the same way the Roos beat us in Round 1 - expose their smaller defence by isolating Jenkins, Walker and McGovern as much as possible with Betts and Cameron at their feet.

Petrie, Waite and Brown combined with Harvey and Thomas for 80% of their scores against us in Round 1. Do the same to the Dogs next week.

& we can repeat the dose next week & really stretch the dogs, whilst talia locks down on stinger.

Reckon Lever may be the better match on Stringer. But yeah Talia and Hartigan could have a field day mopping up the I50s next week as Firrito and Scott Thompson did tonight.

Join Bigfooty for Free

We can beat the Bulldogs next week in the same way the Roos beat us in Round 1 - expose their smaller defence by isolating Jenkins, Walker and McGovern as much as possible with Betts and Cameron at their feet.

Petrie, Waite and Brown combined with Harvey and Thomas for 80% of their scores against us in Round 1. Do the same to the Dogs next week.

I would feel a lot happier if Brouch has a good SANFL game and comes back into the team. The Dogs do have serious midfield talent in the center.

I meant a combination of three out of the four
Even if Roo McLeod and Hart all played together on their last match each (Which they didn't) they don't even crack the 1000 with a total of 963.
The same thing actually crossed my mind when the commentators mentioned it too. But Harvey's 400 + games makes a huge difference.

Sent from my LG-V410 using Tapatalk

Let's get over tomorrow's game first, eh?

Lol - Kochie is on Gameday on 7 on Sunday.

It's all about you Kochie. It's all about you.
If they do happen to lose what will he say? I suppose it will be excuses of injuries etc he couldn't open his mouth up any further, could he?

Sent from my LG-V410 using Tapatalk