2016 QAFA B Central

Looking at the team list for jimboomba there was no Rooks or Dunn. Are these the players who have walked out QAFL Fan?

Zillmere keep on rolling each week. Would have to be one of if not the front runner for the flag.

I opted for the Woodsmen vs Zillmere game, but left at half time as it was the worst game of football I've ever seen. Not the players fault, but that wind was just completely ruining any chance of a spectacle!

I drove over to UQ, and the wind wasn't as bad there - but the game hadn't reached any great heights either. UQ certainly dominated the play though, whereas the first half of the Woodsmen Zillmere game was played entirely on the Oxley Road wing. The boundary umpire probably needs shoulder surgery.

Given Zillmere weren't close to full strength, you would have to install them as favourites now - but hard to take much out of either game to be honest. The wind made it a bit of a lottery.

This comp is like the QAFL with the evenness at the top. I genuinely think 5 sides could win the flag and have the right to think they will.

Will come down to injury and availability at the pointy end I reckon.

This comp is like the QAFL with the evenness at the top. I genuinely think 5 sides could win the flag and have the right to think they will.

Will come down to injury and availability at the pointy end I reckon.
Will be a great finals series.

I opted for the Woodsmen vs Zillmere game, but left at half time as it was the worst game of football I've ever seen. Not the players fault, but that wind was just completely ruining any chance of a spectacle!

I drove over to UQ, and the wind wasn't as bad there - but the game hadn't reached any great heights either. UQ certainly dominated the play though, whereas the first half of the Woodsmen Zillmere game was played entirely on the Oxley Road wing. The boundary umpire probably needs shoulder surgery.

Given Zillmere weren't close to full strength, you would have to install them as favourites now - but hard to take much out of either game to be honest. The wind made it a bit of a lottery.

So are your mob going to turn up anytime soon your last lot of opposition have got percentage by time they filled in their team Sheet.
Not my mob mate. I don't play for them anymore. Haven't had much to do with them since April, but I am surprised at recent results. When they have their best 22 on the field, they can obviously do what they did to Sandgate.

This time last year, we lost our army players due to work commitments - and those lads can play. All I can think of is that it has happened again.

I hope they can string a few wins together, a number of guys in that squad deserve to play finals, and it'd be great for the club to participate and experience finals footy.

thanks for the insight champ!

old mate posts enough without someone quoting him as well :)

Yeah sorry about that, not sure what happened there. Fat fingers perhaps...

Anyhoo, wanted to put my 2 cents worth in (about all it's worth ;) as to the game in the wind at chelmer. Although the conditions made it very challenging, it was far from the worst game ever, in fact not even the worst game I saw over the weekend (you'd watch a lot of poor footy before you'd go below the chooks and pirates ressies on Sat).
Some of the ball handling and movement off the ball was excellent as was the leadership shown by each teams "more experienced" heads. Zillmere made the most of their opportunities with 3 unanswered goals in the second quarter, all of which looked surprisingly easy (given the contested nature and close checking of the game) with time and space afforded to the Zillmere runners. The Woodies responded by shutting down that free running from then on but couldn't quite turn the tide as the Zillmere hard heads across half back kept repelling the ball - usually along the far side boundary. Huge effort by the boundary umps!
The game definitely showcased (IMO) the best and perhaps the most challenging aspect of this division's footy - ie the experienced guys really leading their teams and doing what had to be done, but the overall skill and physical attributes not quite able to overcome the conditions or an equally committed opposition.
In my mind a huge statement by Zillmere, but the Woodies certainly not far away.

Would love to know the relative 'outs' from both sides as I can't be bothered to look through team lists and stats?

I was probably being a bit harsh, but I was merely referring to the conditions, not the skill level.

You are correct in saying that Zillmere took advantage in the 2nd quarter. The Woodsmen missed 3 easy shots, including one from the top of the goal square from a set shot (!) while Zillmere had 5 straight on the board when I left at half time. The final score of 7-3 to 3-6 suggest accuracy was obviously important, so starting the game with 5 straight goals obviously helped.

To me on paper, it appeared the Zillmere team had more 'outs' than the Woodsmen, so it was a resounding win. They did the same to Jimboomba with plenty of players out as well. Though the more I follow this comp, the more I see that with the improvement in standard, games are now being won by teams bottom 6, when in the past the quality of the Top 6 was what determined your success in these lower leagues.

You just can't afford to carry the 'new to the game' guys anymore, as the opposition is quick to work out where they are and play through them.

2016 QAFA B Central