Position 2017 Defenders

People who have watched our training are saying Bob has been one of the more impressive players. Someone also said JJ looks pretty scratchy. Take that all with a grain of salt.

I reckon you're def underselling Libba there. I'd argue his SuperCoach potential is up there with the second level elite mids. Eg not Pendles, Ablett, Danger etc. Sits with the likes of Priddis, Gray etc for me. Agree with the rest tho.
Depends on his role I guess

Pure inside mid then definitely 105-110, mid/rotation then around 95-105

Na

Both started the year on fire last year before injury hit them both

We don't have great mids in regards to ceiling except Bont, which would steal points off many in other teams, they're very even, guys like Hunter and Macrae are better Dters than SCers for example though.

I'd say their ranges are

Bont 105-120
Dahl 95-110
Libba 90-105
JJ 90-105
Macrae 95-103
Hunter 90-100
Murph 85-100 (90-95 avg at his price would be an excellent return)

Looks at posters team supported. Play on.

Am i crazy for considering T.Mckenzie @ ~240k? If he stays fit surely he averages 75+

Haven't heard much other than that he had returned early for preseason training back in November and had been training solidly, rather than eating deep-fried Mars Bars with Tommy Nicholls.

Is a good sign that his mindset is improved, and he did cop a rough trot on the injury front last year. No harm keeping an eye on him but if cheaper options present, I'd go them.

The sub $450k defender (likely D4) is a giving me a preseason headache. Hartlett, Martin, Vlastuin, Mills and to lesser degree, Hibberd, all seem decent options. Think DPP will be important factor. Plan to keep this player for the entire season unless they get injured. If they aren't top dozen or so for their position, they'll become first bench cover towards the end of the season. So much for one week at a time..

Am i crazy for considering T.Mckenzie @ ~240k? If he stays fit surely he averages 75+

That's what I thought last year. Cost me a bit over 300k I recall. What's the worst that could happen? He goes up a few $ and stagnates in the mid 300k to 400k range.

nope. Ended the season at close to 200k. Gave me a 4 and a 12 and a few scores in the 40-50 range onfield and spent the last half of the season as a very expensive loophole. Didn't even move him on because I was waiting for him to return and pump out any sort of half decent scores so I could sell him for a similar price I paid. By the time he was flagged as out for the year he was priced too low and it was too late to shift him.

At least he's even cheaper this year I suppose.

I hate him more than any other player in the comp. The 300k player that wrecked my whole season. I could have played the most lowly scoring rookie in his place and scored 150 points more and saved 200k.

The sub $450k defender (likely D4) is a giving me a preseason headache. Hartlett, Martin, Vlastuin, Mills and to lesser degree, Hibberd, all seem decent options. Think DPP will be important factor. Plan to keep this player for the entire season unless they get injured. If they aren't top dozen or so for their position, they'll become first bench cover towards the end of the season. So much for one week at a time..
Ugh same. I don't feel comfortable heading into the season with McGrath/Scharenberg as D4, and I'm not keen on Thurlow at $267k. There is no player inbetween McGrath (211k) and Bob Murphy (392k) that is worth considering, and I'm very confident I'm staying away from Murphy. I had Martin for the Fwd/Def combo at $404k but he scored a few too many 70's and below last season so I've moved him on. Michael Hibberd is my current guy, hoping he can finish the year as my D6 averaging around 85 to 90 but that's a big ask. I've been looking at Mills but it's a bit risky for me, too many low scores last year. I'm pretty firm that Hartlett is cooked so I'm not going near him, and Vlaustin I'm not keen on until he's a proven mid. It's between Martin and Hibberd at the moment, I like Martin for the DPP but I like Hibberd more for safety and consistency so I've gone with him at the moment.

That's what I thought last year. Cost me a bit over 300k I recall. What's the worst that could happen? He goes up a few $ and stagnates in the mid 300k to 400k range.

nope. Ended the season at close to 200k. Gave me a 4 and a 12 and a few scores in the 40-50 range onfield and spent the last half of the season as a very expensive loophole. Didn't even move him on because I was waiting for him to return and pump out any sort of half decent scores so I could sell him for a similar price I paid. By the time he was flagged as out for the year he was priced too low and it was too late to shift him.

At least he's even cheaper this year I suppose.

I hate him more than any other player in the comp. The 300k player that wrecked my whole season. I could have played the most lowly scoring rookie in his place and scored 150 points more and saved 200k.

Exhibit A here on why most mid pricers just aren't worth picking!

Guns and rookies all the way. :thumbsu:

Exhibit A here on why most mid pricers just aren't worth picking!

Guns and rookies all the way. :thumbsu:

Disagree with "most". Plenty of mid pricers end up being good picks. The bad ones are those priced 100k under premo price that continue to give sub premo output.

McKenzie was an amazingly exceptional case. He was priced 150k+ under premo price but gave output you wouldn't expect from your crappiest rookie.

Disagree with "most". Plenty of mid pricers end up being good picks. The bad ones are those priced 100k under premo price that continue to give sub premo output.

McKenzie was an amazingly exceptional case. He was priced 150k+ under premo price but gave output you wouldn't expect from your crappiest rookie.

More chance of winning lotto though mate than picking the right mid pricers every year.

9 times out of 10 the ones you pick will most likely fail. :thumbsdown:

More chance of winning lotto though mate than picking the right mid pricers every year.

ea3df85ac3c3866d6ebc254cc8b4a038.jpg

It is tricky, agree.

I agree if you mean true midpricers and not fallen premos who have a much better chance of success. Though sometimes the dividing line is a fine one. I rarely pick midpricers but I often pick fallen premos. Last year I experimented with a midprice madness/fallen premo backline and got burnt by Yeo, Smith and Rich as well as McKenzie. Still managed top 5k which begs the question about what I would have managed with a G&R backline.

A lot of love on this board for Vlastuin and Heeney this year. Personally I'm steering clear. However I'm all over Roughead and Ryder who have the runs on the board in the past. You need to look for some savings somewhere on some line unless we get a smorgasboard of high quality rookies playing from R1.

Ryan Burton is an awkward price but he'll play every game and is DPP Def/Fwd so I'm going to take the risk.

Would be all over this kid if he was a bit cheaper. Can seriously play.

He is my POD def this year. Have not heard heaps on the training front though.

20 minutes ago I posted him in my team on the team thread

POD over

Ryan Burton is an awkward price but he'll play every game and is DPP Def/Fwd so I'm going to take the risk.
He is my POD def this year. Have not heard heaps on the training front though.

He'll be an absolute star in the real AFL, perhaps even by the end of this year but a serious negative POD in Supercoach in 2017. Take off the brown and gold glasses.
- At that price you want him to average probably at least 85 to make the same return as an average rookie and he'll still use up a trade to upgrade to a full premo later.
- His 3 scores last year were 45, 40 and 71. And an injury affected 23 in the QF.
- He may play every game. Or maybe not. Yes he's very promising but he's still going to be amongst the last 3-4 players picked in R1.

Don't get me wrong - I already love him but terrible pick for SC.