News 2017 St Kilda in the media

I know Dermie is an idiot

We surveyed 100 people and the top answer to "Who Is An Idiot?" was:

206863-dermie-and-jeans.jpg

Wow, just watched League Teams, and while I know Dermie is an idiot, I was really surprised by there chat about Melbourne vs St Kilda! Johno proclaimed it was the game they were looking forward to discussing most, then they go on about Jack Watts for 3 minutes and then about Hogan for 2 minutes and then done....

Nothing about 3 new players for the Saints, only a weird discussion about pressure (turnover) vs skill and ball speed. Roos believes both sides try to create turn overs and then use speed and skill going the other way. He came to the conclusion that if you were more skilful you would win this fight...

All I could think of was 'their not Sydney Roosy, their Melbourne!'. This is were I think Melbourne keep getting the media nod, everyone is looking at Melbourne as a very skilful side, but I think their a side that loses there nerve when they are rushed and physically challenged.

Then there is this ridiculous thing were the Saints are continually ignored by certain commentators. It's ridiculous!

I think it's future predicting talking to non Saints fans. We have done a low key rebuild while the Dees have had a big haul of high draft picks. It's probably the Geelong v Saints argument from the early 2000s. We had a heap of high picks and they had a huge internal expectation of how good their list was. It didn't work out so good for us.

It almost certainly would have had it not been for our injury management at the time and the likes of Ball, Goose, X, Penny, Brooks and Hamill having their careers derailed by serious injuries.

Highly unlikely that a similar fate will befall Melbourne's young talent with Dave Missen in charge of their fitness.

St Kilda and Melbourne are footy’s Minogue sisters as they trek path to fame, writes Sam Edmund
SAM EDMUND, Herald Sun
March 24, 2017 2:00pm
Subscriber only
MELBOURNE and St Kilda. Footy’s version of the Minogue sisters.

They are sexy, talented and seemingly have the world at their feet. But who will “make it” first?

TEAMS: WATTS, STEELE MAKE THE CUT

FOOTY TIPPING: WHO’S PICKED WHO?

Kylie might have reached celebrity status sooner, but Dannii carved out a terrific career in her own right. As the Saints and Demons prepare for their Round 1 clash this afternoon, the football world is abuzz with who is who.

There’s been something of a sibling squabble going on behind the scenes too, with one believing the other has been talking itself up over summer.

This is a season-opening battle between two football clubs on the same path to fame. Does Alan Richardson’s St Kilda soar up the charts this year? Or does Simon Goodwin take Melbourne from mid-table battler to Broadway in his first season? Do they both take the competition by storm?

In 2013 they were 16th and 17th, in 2014 they occupied the last two spots on the ladder and in 2015 they were 13th and 14th.

Yet by the end of last season St Kilda was ninth and Melbourne 11th and resurrections built on frighteningly similar foundations were underway.

Saints captain Jarryn Geary last week acknowledged the similarities.

“There’s a lot of talk around (the game against Melbourne),” Geary said.

“We’ve had some competitive games against them over the last few years so it would be a really good start to the year for us to measure ourselves against a team that others consider are around the mark in terms of finals.”

Geary’s counterpart Nathan Jones said: “It’s an interesting game. I can understand the media hype around it and it will be an intriguing contest.”

3b081b0ad4722d85049a83549c0ef5a3

St Kilda’s Jarryn Geary has assumed the captaincy. Picture: Michael Klein
A deeper analysis of both lists further proves how similar they are. Both have acquired 23 players via the national draft and both have an average age of 24 years.

The Saints have 16 players with 1-49 games experience; Melbourne 17. Both have nine players in the 50-99 game bracket and three with 200-plus.

Jordan Lewis joined the Demons over summer, while Koby Stevens joined St Kilda from the Western Bulldogs. Since 2012, each club has brought in 11 players through the trade period.

Yet the Demons haven’t beaten the Saints since their 2006 elimination final meeting when Cameron Bruce and Brad Green had 29 possessions each and David Neitz kicked four goals.

It’s a losing streak now out to 14 games at an average losing margin of 47 points. Seven of those losses have come at Etihad Stadium, a House of Horrors venue for Melbourne, which has lost 24 of its past 25 matches at Docklands.

01d4b5583448054bc5d065aa4fcfbad3

Melbourne co-captain Nathan Jones can see why everyone is interested in Saturday’s clash. Picture: Michael Klein
It’s not just the players who have an apparent dislike for the stadium either. Aware of their fans’ feelings, the Demons last year produced a lighthearted video with former star Russell Robertson giving them directions.

“Support goes a long way in this game and it’s time we, as Melbourne supporters, got out of our comfort zone and got to Etihad Stadium,” Robertson says in the clip.

Jones admitted St Kilda had been a handful.

“In the past we’ve really struggled against them. They play a terrific brand of footy and we really respect how they play,” Jones said.

“We’re really relishing the chance to play them. We’ve put some solid work into our game over the pre-season and at our best we feel we can compete against anyone.

5a45f436ca70181b51899fcb61ce0b24

Sam Edmund says Melbourne and St Kilda are footy’s Minogue sisters ... but who is Kylie (left) and who’s Dannii? Picture: Channel 7
“The most important thing is to come mentally switched on because in the past against the Saints, they’re a really strong starting team, powerful scorers and really good around the ball with a sound defence.”

Jones said Lewis had eased the reliance on the club’s leaders, while Geary said Saints debutant Jake Carlisle had emboldened the defence.

“He worked his bum off and now he’s playing some really good footy,” Geary said of Carlisle.

“He’s fitted in really well in the back half and is a monster of a man which is something we haven’t had down there for a long time. We look up and we see him and we immediately feel like we’ve got confidence.”

The expectations for both are high and the logical next step for both is September. Do they rise together or does one get their “big break” first?

That's a great read...thx for posting.

What really struck me was the stats....how close they are for both sides........it's like we're "shadows" of each other....but the important stat is we have this amazing winning run over them.....hope it continues tomorrow.

St Kilda and Melbourne are footy’s Minogue sisters as they trek path to fame, writes Sam Edmund
SAM EDMUND, Herald Sun
March 24, 2017 2:00pm
Subscriber only
MELBOURNE and St Kilda. Footy’s version of the Minogue sisters.

They are sexy, talented and seemingly have the world at their feet. But who will “make it” first?

TEAMS: WATTS, STEELE MAKE THE CUT

FOOTY TIPPING: WHO’S PICKED WHO?

Kylie might have reached celebrity status sooner, but Dannii carved out a terrific career in her own right. As the Saints and Demons prepare for their Round 1 clash this afternoon, the football world is abuzz with who is who.

There’s been something of a sibling squabble going on behind the scenes too, with one believing the other has been talking itself up over summer.

This is a season-opening battle between two football clubs on the same path to fame. Does Alan Richardson’s St Kilda soar up the charts this year? Or does Simon Goodwin take Melbourne from mid-table battler to Broadway in his first season? Do they both take the competition by storm?

In 2013 they were 16th and 17th, in 2014 they occupied the last two spots on the ladder and in 2015 they were 13th and 14th.

Yet by the end of last season St Kilda was ninth and Melbourne 11th and resurrections built on frighteningly similar foundations were underway.

Saints captain Jarryn Geary last week acknowledged the similarities.

“There’s a lot of talk around (the game against Melbourne),” Geary said.

“We’ve had some competitive games against them over the last few years so it would be a really good start to the year for us to measure ourselves against a team that others consider are around the mark in terms of finals.”

Geary’s counterpart Nathan Jones said: “It’s an interesting game. I can understand the media hype around it and it will be an intriguing contest.”

3b081b0ad4722d85049a83549c0ef5a3

St Kilda’s Jarryn Geary has assumed the captaincy. Picture: Michael Klein
A deeper analysis of both lists further proves how similar they are. Both have acquired 23 players via the national draft and both have an average age of 24 years.

The Saints have 16 players with 1-49 games experience; Melbourne 17. Both have nine players in the 50-99 game bracket and three with 200-plus.

Jordan Lewis joined the Demons over summer, while Koby Stevens joined St Kilda from the Western Bulldogs. Since 2012, each club has brought in 11 players through the trade period.

Yet the Demons haven’t beaten the Saints since their 2006 elimination final meeting when Cameron Bruce and Brad Green had 29 possessions each and David Neitz kicked four goals.

It’s a losing streak now out to 14 games at an average losing margin of 47 points. Seven of those losses have come at Etihad Stadium, a House of Horrors venue for Melbourne, which has lost 24 of its past 25 matches at Docklands.

01d4b5583448054bc5d065aa4fcfbad3

Melbourne co-captain Nathan Jones can see why everyone is interested in Saturday’s clash. Picture: Michael Klein
It’s not just the players who have an apparent dislike for the stadium either. Aware of their fans’ feelings, the Demons last year produced a lighthearted video with former star Russell Robertson giving them directions.

“Support goes a long way in this game and it’s time we, as Melbourne supporters, got out of our comfort zone and got to Etihad Stadium,” Robertson says in the clip.

Jones admitted St Kilda had been a handful.

“In the past we’ve really struggled against them. They play a terrific brand of footy and we really respect how they play,” Jones said.

“We’re really relishing the chance to play them. We’ve put some solid work into our game over the pre-season and at our best we feel we can compete against anyone.

5a45f436ca70181b51899fcb61ce0b24

Sam Edmund says Melbourne and St Kilda are footy’s Minogue sisters ... but who is Kylie (left) and who’s Dannii? Picture: Channel 7
“The most important thing is to come mentally switched on because in the past against the Saints, they’re a really strong starting team, powerful scorers and really good around the ball with a sound defence.”

Jones said Lewis had eased the reliance on the club’s leaders, while Geary said Saints debutant Jake Carlisle had emboldened the defence.

“He worked his bum off and now he’s playing some really good footy,” Geary said of Carlisle.

“He’s fitted in really well in the back half and is a monster of a man which is something we haven’t had down there for a long time. We look up and we see him and we immediately feel like we’ve got confidence.”

The expectations for both are high and the logical next step for both is September. Do they rise together or does one get their “big break” first?

I'd rather ping Kylie.

According to Purple on the footy show Dempster is considering his future

That Purple idiot has to make everything into a drama.
Dempster is considering his immediate future " due to recent events at the club" ???
In the next breath it's "nothing to do with mental health concerns." Then why even mention that?
Made it sound like Dempster was sooking about not playing seniors.
The season's been going for about 2 minutes and I'm already sick of him.

Would of watched it as well, if i had know that

He's still on for a little while. Just asked him about the injury. He said he felt like a goose....2-6 weeks is the expectation. He said Bob Murphy sent him a picture of himself WALKING off the ground when he did his ACL. :)

2-6 weeks? That's a bit of a weird estimate. Hoping he'll be fit in time for Round 5. Think we can cover for the games against Brisbane and Collingwood, but we need him back after that for sure.

Roo initially said 2-6, but at the end he said he should be back in a couple of weeks...so who knows?

We're fast approaching hardhat territory; Dermutt Bigheadton has confided that should the Saints lose to the Eagles, it will be his delight to lead the charge of pot shots at the club, from the players to Richo to the recruitment to the very fabric of the club itself most likely.

On the table for discussion will be:
(Imagine Dermi's or Terry Wallace's whiney voice)
Why force Rooey to give up his captaincy when he's so close to breaking the record and still going well?
Why give it to a no-name like Geary?
Why convince club great Dempster to stay on but not play him?
Why can't they win outside Melbourne?
Why draft Mccartin instead of Petracca?
Why draft Billings not the Bont?
Why can't Blake Acres secure a spot in the 22?
Why have four ruckmen at your club and still get beaten in the ruck?
Why sack my mate Scott and replace him with a long-term assistant coach who is boring?
Why does Bucks and Ken and Dimma get scrutinized but Richo get a free pass?
Why leave Moorabbin and spend loads of cash making a new home at Seaford, then reverse back 5 years later?
Why do the media love the Aints when they're the club I hate the most?
Why does the AFL keep propping them up instead of letting them sink or swim?
Etc

Basically everything at our club will be made to look stupid and useless, just like it used to be.

Already player discontent is started to be brought to light by our ITKs who themselves are starting to air doubts, which is never a good sign.

Hopefully, the leaders at the club are wise to this. Of course they really need to win this weekend, but regardless of that, hopefully this trip away with the seniors can be a galvanising moment, and a chance to lock down into an Us against The World siege mentality. You can't break us you mongrels. Unite and fight and we'll be right.

News 2017 St Kilda in the media