Most of the crowd records were before live against the gate for every match.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Most of the crowd records were before live against the gate for every match.
So true Its a bit like the cricket scores at the MCG before and after the boundry ropes made the ground a lot smaller and easier to hit fours and sixes.Yes, but most games were played on Saturday afternoons. Now they spread them across 3 days in order to maximise access & attendances & TV viewership. So its really hard to compare fairly.
Definitely not 78k there.
It will be. MCC looks pretty empty as does Richmond Member reserve areas.Well,well well a Tigers home game 64 k in ATM according to Brian Taylor and will be lucky to get to 78K Massive amount of vacant seats!
Looks like the 80k+ was way out So whats with its nearly a sellout with a handful of tickets left BS?
Over the road at AAMI the RL crowd is also pretty ordinary
It will be very interesting to see how Ch 9 goes head to head with the AFL on 7
Well,well well a Tigers home game 64 k in ATM according to Brian Taylor and will be lucky to get to 78K Massive amount of vacant seats!
Looks like the 80k+ was way out So whats with its nearly a sellout with a handful of tickets left BS?
Over the road at AAMI the RL crowd is also pretty ordinary
It will be very interesting to see how Ch 9 goes head to head with the AFL on 7
Crowds for Melbourne matches are increasingly arriving later and later in the first quarter. Why?
Low 70s I reckon. I don’t think it’s the 64k BT said half way through the first.
For 1 v 12 it’s still a good attendance this late in the season. In the end not enough away Essendon fans turned up for the crowd to reach 78k, which was always a strong possibility being 12th and terrible at the MCG all year. As it turns out Essendon really needed to be in the 8 and more competitive for the crowd to push 80k. Oddly enough, if Richmond were a few spots lower on the ladder the crowd may have been a bit larger? The Olympic Stand for GA is very well populated.
Tigers host Bulldogs at MCG next week. May be less than some might expect as I think some Tigers fans might want to save their money for finals tickets so they may give this non-event a miss.
With our woeful MCG record this year and supporters sick of seeing our players play insipidly on the big stage I’m surprised so many of our fans did turn upImpressive crowd 76K+ for 1st V 12th. They definitely came in late but thats the case with Friday night footy,. Definitely agree not enough away essendon fans but that said still good support.
Crowd: 76,424 at the MCG.As I said it would struggle to get to 78 k so some people talking up 85k were way off!Blowing your load early. Pushing 80k now crowd always builds up late
Crowd: 76,424 at the MCG.As I said it would struggle to get to 78 k so some people talking up 85k were way off!
76,424 was greater than I thought would attend. It felt a bit flat, probably a function of a slightly dull match for the most part.. 1 v 12 (though a good 12th) to get 76,000 is more than acceptable.Very few people and no one who follows attendance stats were talking up 85000.
Many including me hoped we would get to 80K and we were not far from it.
Still a crowd a few hundred short of 77K is a great crowd for a game featuring one club with little real finals hope.
Let's be real.
With our woeful MCG record this year and supporters sick of seeing our players play insipidly on the big stage I’m surprised so many of our fans did turn up
Speaking from years of experience it's mostly due to having drinks/dinner etc. after work and not allowing enough time to get in before the bounce. I've been to dozens of Friday night games at the G or Etihad over the last decade and I could count the times I've made it in before the bounce on one hand (finals excluded)Crowds for Melbourne matches are increasingly arriving later and later in the first quarter. Why?
Crowd: 76,424 at the MCG.As I said it would struggle to get to 78 k so some people talking up 85k were way off!
you had pretty strong numbers last night imo
got the noise cranking when your comeback was on
As I said earlier in the week, Essendon are 12th and hardly ‘lid off’. That’s the reason I think 5-10K Bomber fans decided not to go last night. Would’ve been many more if Essendon were entrenched in the 8 and a contender. Then you get 85,000.Was one of the smaller Dons turnouts I've seen. Essendon cheersquad was surrounded by yellow and black and even AFL and MCC had heaps of tigers. Punt Rd end pretty much all yellow and black as usual. I reckon 45-50K tigers.