2018 Best 22

If Brand, Hartung and Glass are regulars next year we are in strife. Not AFL standard.
Glass didn't even know what a footy was 12 months ago. His improvement had been remarkable. He is a beautiful kick and reader of a game that he hardly knows. He is an absolute lock for a half back for the next 10 years. Star.

2) Outside run. We miss Brad Hill, and Hartung isn't the one.
Henderson seemed to play the other wing with Smith, but he isn't a long term fix.
I think we can fix this easily, and may come from within.
Birchall may even be the one here. Morrison showed good in his game (maybe someone with more VFL watching experience can elaborate)
Lovell could as well if he survives (out of contract as of now)

Hartung is still a better bet than your suggestions here. Birch is older than Hendo and not about to start a wing career. His experience is critical down back. Too soon for Morrison, good 50m speed but wouldn't have the tank for this role now. Lovell's an inside mid whose skills don't translate to outside. He'd get shown up on a wing.

People seem to forget that Brad Hill was bagged relentlessly here for being soft, never tackling, and even for poor skills early. Similar story to Hartung. For mine, Hartung's biggest problem is psychological. His endurance is truly elite and his skills are decent. But he suffers from self-doubt that kills his instincts to go forward or execute optimally. And all the flogs in the crowd bagging him endlessly don't help. Not saying he's a lock to make it but remove his run and we look flatter than ever.

"Star"? Wow, you're a real Glass half full kinda guy.

On a side note, we seem to be accumulating half backs at a really impressive rate of knots. How many do we need exactly? Ten should do it?
Can't have enough really. Quality intercept marks/readers of the play combined with line breaking speed and good foot skills is the basis of a great side. We used to have Gibbo to intercept and birch/stratts/Hodge to run off and hit up. These players are gone or on have their best behind them. Hardwick, Siss, Burton and Glass are the future of this type and have every chance of being very good at it. We just need Frawley and Brand to break even in the air and we'll be fine down back. Gunner can play either end.
We need one more star in the middle to take pressure off Mitch and JOM. We know what we will get from Langer and Pup.
Burger, Ruff, Cyril, smith, Bigboy and Broost are locks.
Cegs will be ready to go. Poppy still useful if his groins are fixed.
Hopefully one or two of the following will step up to be a quality mid: Billy, Cousins, Stewart, Hanrahan, Morrison. Dare I say JOR. Or we could recruit well.
I'm less confident that Doc or Howe can take us forward.

Hartung is still a better bet than your suggestions here. Birch is older than Hendo and not about to start a wing career. His experience is critical down back. Too soon for Morrison, good 50m speed but wouldn't have the tank for this role now. Lovell's an inside mid whose skills don't translate to outside. He'd get shown up on a wing.

People seem to forget that Brad Hill was bagged relentlessly here for being soft, never tackling, and even for poor skills early. Similar story to Hartung. For mine, Hartung's biggest problem is psychological. His endurance is truly elite and his skills are decent. But he suffers from self-doubt that kills his instincts to go forward or execute optimally. And all the flogs in the crowd bagging him endlessly don't help. Not saying he's a lock to make it but remove his run and we look flatter than ever.

yeah to be honest, i don't know heaps about Lovell, so thanks for the insight.
Easy to say in hindsight, but i was always in the Brad Hill Fan Club.

RE: Hartung
"remove his run and we look flatter than ever" - agree.
"his skills are decent' - disagree.

he's playing the role we need him to play now. But i dont think he has the skill set for us to be in the top tier again.
In this cut-throat industry, at 22 years, i don't think he can change that.

Don't discount Birchalls ability to play the wing role. I think this year we've shown we've got enough in our backline to cover.
He'd have the tank and the the disposal efficiency. I guess his ability to hit that real top end speed may be the downfall.

yeah to be honest, i don't know heaps about Lovell, so thanks for the insight.
Easy to say in hindsight, but i was always in the Brad Hill Fan Club.

RE: Hartung
"remove his run and we look flatter than ever" - agree.
"his skills are decent' - disagree.

he's playing the role we need him to play now. But i dont think he has the skill set for us to be in the top tier again.
In this cut-throat industry, at 22 years, i don't think he can change that.

Don't discount Birchalls ability to play the wing role. I think this year we've shown we've got enough in our backline to cover.
He'd have the tank and the the disposal efficiency. I guess his ability to hit that real top end speed may be the downfall.

When has Birch ever played the wing role??? 95% of his career has been played in the defensive 50 or there abouts. He's hardly going to pick that up in the last few 2 - 3 years of his career.

The club clearly realises we need extra outside speed and expect we will trade for someone with that capability.

If Brand, Hartung and Glass are regulars next year we are in strife. Not AFL standard.
I think you're completely wrong about Brand.
Hartung I see how you could think that (although he's surprised me with how much better he's become this season, I don't think he's the one)
Glass just too early to tell.

When has Birch ever played the wing role??? .

He's pushed up and played the role at times in the the past. It's not that much of a stretch from the HBF role.

The club clearly realises we need extra outside speed and expect we will trade for someone with that capability.

agree wholeheartedly. My original post said we may be able to fix from within, and Birchall was a name thrown up.

He'd actually fit that role of running in from the back of the square we implemented this year beautifully.

Can't have enough really. Quality intercept marks/readers of the play combined with line breaking speed and good foot skills is the basis of a great side. We used to have Gibbo to intercept and birch/stratts/Hodge to run off and hit up. These players are gone or on have their best behind them. Hardwick, Siss, Burton and Glass are the future of this type and have every chance of being very good at it. We just need Frawley and Brand to break even in the air and we'll be fine down back. Gunner can play either end.
We need one more star in the middle to take pressure off Mitch and JOM. We know what we will get from Langer and Pup.
Hopefully one or two of the following will step up to be a quality mid: Billy, Cousins, Stewart, Hanrahan, Morrison. Dare I say JOR. Or we could recruit well.
No love for Lovell? And im not sure what happened with Howe on Friday, must have been carrying something, had least game time not including the debutant, and stats were all worst for months. Still comfortable theres a player there. 1 more elite player would be great but would settle for a highly talented play like matt kennedy instead and focus on getting elite talent at the ends of the ground ( eg lever, lynch )

It's tough. There will be adjustments to find team balance against particular opposition teams. And form drops in some of the older players that may see them back at Box Hill.

FB: Hardwick - Frawley - Burgoyne
HB: Birchall - Stratton - Sicily
C: Smith - Shiels - Burton
HF: Gunston O'Brien Breust
FF: Rioli Roughead Puopolo
R: McEvoy - Mitchell - O'Meara
IC: Brand - Glass - Howe - Langford

EMG: Hartung - Ceglar - Duryea

I think Glass has shown he has a natural competitive ability. He plays to win - not just the game but each contest. His skills and, in particular, understanding on the game will be MUCH better after another preseason. I think he will be quite something.
Langford will be forever ripped on for his goalkicking and fumbles, but I'm backing him in to find confidence again. He's a hard, aggressive player and plays with spirit. I don't give a shit that he smiled when he missed that goal from 10m our against North. There's no value in being overwhelmed with anger in that situation - he needs to maintain his focus and get into the correct defensive position for the next play. I believe he loves the club and, while it genuinely hurts him knowing he has let his teammates and supporters down with the missed goals, he know the only way forward is to get back on the horse and ride on. Good luck to him.

Which leaves quite a good level of depth with AFL experience waiting in the wings.
Cousins, Morrison, Stewart, Heatherly, Miles, Henderson, Lovell, Vickery, Shoenmakers, O'Rourke, Whitecross, Pittonet, Willsmore

I think the most important thing with the best 22 for next season is to make sure we don't bring the injured guys in at the expense of all of our youth. Ideally we'd create room for more youth, rather than less. You can see this year how quickly kids cemented spots, and looked comfortable at the level. Some of those kids, many thought were going to struggle to make it due to being late picks who'd lived at BH for several years. Hopefully we can bring most of the injured guys back in without axing the youth with a combination of some position shuffling (Gunston back to the forward line being the most obvious), and choosing to remove older fringe players over possibly slightly less consistent younger players (Schoey and Duryea the likely unlucky victims of this. Duryea has been playing Rioli's spot, and Schoey just not impacting often enough, even though the work he does do has been ok).

Billy negates his own strengths with indicisiveness and dishing off as soon as possible. I'd love it if during all match simulation this pre-season he was forbidden from moving the ball backwards and had to accumulate 5 running bounces per session

I can't help but think a year down back for O'Brien would do him a world of good, plus he seems a natural back their. With a few of the older heads back next year offering guidance to the young fella's, release Gunston back to his forward flank, high CHF role and stick O'Brien in as CHB or on a flank. Kid reads the play well and has a good set of mits and whenever he dropped back this year, seemed to always find himself positively involved in play.

Can't believe that you are mentioning that you are not confident that Howe can be a part of taking us forward; in my book he is a GUN, and a really good tagger too!

I can't help but think a year down back for O'Brien would do him a world of good, plus he seems a natural back their. With a few of the older heads back next year offering guidance to the young fella's, release Gunston back to his forward flank, high CHF role and stick O'Brien in as CHB or on a flank. Kid reads the play well and has a good set of mits and whenever he dropped back this year, seemed to always find himself positively involved in play.
Reckon TOB is on the cusp of something, close to the tipping point where he realises hes goingto make it, that he really does belong. Sure he's not going to become Sic, but he's going to play closer to his own potential and 'breakout' by his current standards.
I draw comparisons between his couple of kicks on Friday night that for all appearances werent on, and a similar kick Sicily made earlier this year. Sic was lambasted for an ambitious kick across the centre square from off the half back, that resulted in a turnover. People shouted him down for such a poor decision, but in hindsight it was merely a taste of what was to come, rebounding attack and precision fieldkicking. He ws let down hy disposal, but it was his instinct to attack, and the confidence he had in himself to even make the play. Backed himself.
That's what I reckon we saw on Friday witn TOB. It was him showing an unTOB like confidence to make a play, and being let down by his disposal. I like his intent though, and as I said, I think is an indication his confidence is up. Shame were now going to have to wait until next year to see more.

On the subject of Birch, I would liken his situation very much to Sewell. 3 years, but will be competing with the youth brigade during the 2nd year, and may pull up stumps before the 3rd year. I imagine there would be some sort of trigger clause to suit both parties, with the realistic expectation that some young guns are going to be eying to make his spot their own. Still has a lot to offer though, and would be fabulousif he could play at or near his peak for 3 years.

B: Stratton Frawley Hardwick
HB: Sicily Brand Burton
C: Hartung Mitchell Smith
HF: Rioli Gunston Breust
F: Ceglar Roughead Puopolo
Foll: McEvoy O'Meara Shiels
Int: Burgoyne Howe Henderson Birchall

That looks good on paper :thumbsu:

But in reality, I think there will be at least 1 or 2 "recruits" to add to this team...I think TOB showed enough development in 2017 to make me think he is going to be a regular in the starting 18.. I think Burgoyne won't be at the Hawks next year... And we'll see natural progression from Morrison, Miles, Stewart....etc pushing for selection..

Future looks bright :cool:

Reckon TOB is on the cusp of something, close to the tipping point where he realises hes goingto make it, that he really does belong. Sure he's not going to become Sic, but he's going to play closer to his own potential and 'breakout' by his current standards.
I draw comparisons between his couple of kicks on Friday night that for all appearances werent on, and a similar kick Sicily made earlier this year. Sic was lambasted for an ambitious kick across the centre square from off the half back, that resulted in a turnover. People shouted him down for such a poor decision, but in hindsight it was merely a taste of what was to come, rebounding attack and precision fieldkicking. He ws let down hy disposal, but it was his instinct to attack, and the confidence he had in himself to even make the play. Backed himself.
That's what I reckon we saw on Friday witn TOB. It was him showing an unTOB like confidence to make a play, and being let down by his disposal. I like his intent though, and as I said, I think is an indication his confidence is up. Shame were now going to have to wait until next year to see more.

On the subject of Birch, I would liken his situation very much to Sewell. 3 years, but will be competing with the youth brigade during the 2nd year, and may pull up stumps before the 3rd year. I imagine there would be some sort of trigger clause to suit both parties, with the realistic expectation that some young guns are going to be eying to make his spot their own. Still has a lot to offer though, and would be fabulousif he could play at or near his peak for 3 years.
TOB is ludicrously talented - cleanest hands at the club, moves well - has the lot. But it's completely in the head for him - if he believed in himself he'd be a star. We must be happy with him - offering a two year deal, so the coaches must think he's getting there.

What's the most goals that Brand has had kicked on him this year? Jeez. Harris Andrews had 6 kicked on him not long ago, Liam Jones has had 6 and 10 over the past 3 weeks.

I think you are completely wrong about me being completely wrong but that's completely fine.

It's not fine if you don't back it up. Hartung is clearly AFL standard, as no one not AFL standard would be able to accumulate 30 touches - they'd not get near it. She's shown a lot of growth in the last half of the year. Glass has been playing AFL for two years and is a decent back pocket, his ceiling is higher than you suggest and he's worth persisting with. Brand has had a few iffy moments but has never had his colours lowered completely to any key forward this year. He's had 5 goals kicked on him, once - that was against Jon Patton. On Patton's day he does that to anyone.

B: Stratton Frawley Hardwick
HB: Sicily Brand Birchall
C: Shiels Mitchell Smith
HF: Burton Gunston Rioli
F: Bruest Roughead Puopolo
Foll: McEvoy O'Meara Howe
Int: Burgoyne O'Brien Langford Hartung

Emg: Glass Lovell Ceglar

As it stands, but we could see all of Pop Stratton Birchall Burgoyne gone at seasons end....I'm tipping it's going to be a vastly different line up come the end of trade period.

B: Hardwick Frawley Sicily
HB: Glass Brand Birchall*
C: Burton Mitchell Smith
HF: Gunston O'Brien Rioli
F: Breust Roughead Burgoyne*
Foll: McEvoy O'Meara Kennedy
Inter: Shiels Hartung Langford Howe
Emer: Cousins Morrison Nash

2018 Best 22