2018 WC - AFL need to shut down for 10 weeks

I haven't read all 26 pages of this thread, so I don't know if this has been brought up already.

Also, soccer is not the most prevelant sport in any of the following countries: India, China, Russia, America, Japan.

most indicates majority. The majority of humans do not follow soccer.

I respect soccer's right to exist in Australia by the way, and have no fear that it will ever overtake the popularity of our own beloved sports. It's just a bandwagon down here. People will bail sooner or later.

One of the reasons why soccer has not made it in either the states/canada or here is to do with the lack of advertising space and breaks especially on free-to-air. Now the US/Canada has around a minumum of 70% coverage while here it is around 25-30%. Soccer rates of Pay-TV (more than NRL and AFL) but they do not require ads. However FTA not going away any time soon and the introduction of ads onto pay tv.

The other main sports on US TV have many opportunities for ad breaks with NFL and NBA in 15 min/12 min quarters with timeouts; NHL has 20 min thirds plus timeouts and other stopages; Baseball has 18 innings over 3-4 hours. Soccer has ad breaks after goals, injuries and at half time. Nascar and golf have many opportunities for ads due to the timespan of their events.

In Australia, AFL has many goals, NRL/Union has ads at stoppages and after scores, all of which are plentiful during matches. The biggest difference is in cricket, whereby MV vs Adelaide could rate massively on Channel 9, but Sri Lanka vs England from the WACA gives the opportunity for up to 120 ads (50 overs per team+10 wickets each) or in tennis with ads after every 2 games.

If soccer wanted to be popular in the US or Australia, they could make it 4x20 min quarters with timeouts (not in AU) as well as making it easier to score goals (no offside, bigger goals or smaller goals and no keepers). Matches with hockey type scores (i.e 8-6, 10-4 etc) however this would destroy the game for the rest of the world especially in Europe who hate america for everything and thiss would be the final straw. (NOT THAT I THINK THESE ARE GOOD IDEAS)

Sorry to all (either pro- or anti-soccer), but I think this is a big reason why soccer has not grown here or in USA/Canada.

P.S. Although I don't believe that soccer/cricket/AFL etc are "enemies" against each other. The real competition comes from non-sport activities:
People are working more (Saturday is more and more becoming the "sixth" work day);
Schools may not see sport as important as compared to marks (a school who wins football evey year vs a school who has half it students getting >95.00 ENTER);
Immigrants may come from countries/regions where sport is not as important as it is here;
Other activities like skate/snowboarding, surfing are becoming more popular as are shorter variations of games (indoor soccer/cricket/footy; touch rugby; informal sports etc);
Competition from other forms of enetertainment: movies, music concerts, TV/DVDs etc

eventually sport may compete as a whole to protect itself against these other activites etc.

It was the first thing off the top of my head. Go ahead and call it boganball, not all bogans play it, and neither are all players bogans. When the term 'wogball' was used, it was generally accepted that all soccer players were 'wogss'.

To put it simply, in cricket people agree to fight. In soccer the biggest thugs are sent over and to take on anybody.

where the hell are you getting your facts from?

In "soccer" (overseas) there are groups of like minded men that belong to different clubs, these men are parts of group called Firms.

It is only when they organise a fight that they actually fight, if they were caught fighting anyone innocent or not apart of the organised fight they would be in strife.

Why did these so called "wogs" play football (soccer) because they were outcasts of Australia when they came into the country, they were not allowed to play in AFL clubs etc. and also wanted to enjoy their own culture aswell so each nationality started their own club where they could go to as a place without the racism "australians" constantly gave them.

But now many types of people play soccer so the wogball term should be dropped..infact, it should never have been made in the first place because it is extremely racist.

Again I will state, if there wasnt racist pigs like you I wouldn't have a problem with you AFL fans not wanting the World Cup in Australia because you would have no say, but it is these racist outbursts that are ridiculous and uncalled for.

All soccer players being wogs? what a load of bullocks, have you thought about your english ancestors that played it as a main sport before coming to Australia?

In reply to your argument not all bogans play AFL, well not all "wogs" play soccer so therefore it deems wogball and inappropriate term.

If soccer wanted to be popular in the US or Australia, they could make it 4x20 min quarters with timeouts (not in AU) as well as making it easier to score goals (no offside, bigger goals or smaller goals and no keepers). Matches with hockey type scores (i.e 8-6, 10-4 etc) however this would destroy the game for the rest of the world especially in Europe who hate america for everything and thiss would be the final straw. (NOT THAT I THINK THESE ARE GOOD IDEAS)

Yeah, even if we wanted to do that, we wouldn't be able to compete in international tournaments if we did.

In "soccer" (overseas) there are groups of like minded men that belong to different clubs, these men are parts of group called Firms.

It is only when they organise a fight that they actually fight, if they were caught fighting anyone innocent or not apart of the organised fight they would be in strife.

Why did these so called "wogs" play football (soccer) because they were outcasts of Australia when they came into the country, they were not allowed to play in AFL clubs etc. and also wanted to enjoy their own culture aswell so each nationality started their own club where they could go to as a place without the racism "australians" constantly gave them.

But now many types of people play soccer so the wogball term should be dropped..infact, it should never have been made in the first place because it is extremely racist.

Again I will state, if there wasnt racist pigs like you I wouldn't have a problem with you AFL fans not wanting the World Cup in Australia because you would have no say, but it is these racist outbursts that are ridiculous and uncalled for.

All soccer players being wogs? what a load of bullocks, have you thought about your english ancestors that played it as a main sport before coming to Australia?

In reply to your argument not all bogans play AFL, well not all "wogs" play soccer so therefore it deems wogball and inappropriate term.

Top post.

It goes to show you that all these people paying out on Melbourne Knights (or the "club which only accept croations (sic) being Croatian and South Melbourne being Greek have no understanding on either the history of Football or immigration in this country.

Yeah, even if we wanted to do that, we wouldn't be able to compete in international tournaments if we did.

no, this would require everyone (i.e. FIFA) changing the sport for all countries. The WC, UCL, MLS, A-L etc would all play the 4*20 min qtrs (or thirds whatever). Hence it would never happen as all hell would break lose if America tried to change a sport that they don't even play/like. That would be like the EU telling the AFL they had to play 2*60 min halves and having gaelic type goals (unders/overs). People would be outraged.

The US used to play no draws (penalty shootouts for every game that is a draw after 90 mins); a downwards counting clock (start at 45:00 not 0:00) and a 35yd line instead of offside (like ice hockey's blue (?) line) but then FIFA forced them to play properly.

You're probably right:

Soccer started here in 1880 when the population was predominatly Anglo-Celtic.

The "wog" thing was just a basic want to connect with others from the same area/country, similar to today with today's immigrants. Every race had a team like South Melbourne (Greek); Knights (Croatia); JUST (Serb); Juventus (Italian) etc.

As time went on people changed. Soccer was no longer for wogs (if it ever was a primarily "wog" sport anyway) and AFL/NRL no longer just for skips, everyone/anyone played every sport. I could play Gaelic if I wanted to even though i'm Italian and not Irish.

I don't see that people from soccer-countries have to like soccer nor do people born here have to like AFL or NRL. Ultimately people should like what they want. That's why I reckon it is bad when people from each sport start saying racist stuff when it would be good for the country if our best striker was aboriginal, best fullforward was sudanese and our opening batsman were brazilian and chinese. That would really make this country.

Just quickly:

Im not racist.
I have many friends from other countries. Many non-white friends.
I have friends which play soccer and follow soccer.
It is people saying that Australians are bogans who are racist. It is the people who believe they are too good for Australian culture who are racist.

One of them is you mate.

Look around you. Football in this country (call it soccer if you want, I don't really give a shit) is a part of our culture as a country.

Go to the local park on a Saturday morning. Kids are just as likely to be kicking around a round ball as they are to be kicking around an oval ball.

Kids are playing football in their thousands, they are literally running out of space to put pitches for these kids to play on. Are those kids not Australian?

Look at all the guys and girls who either stayed up late watching their televisions or went down to Fed Square when the World Cup was in full swing last year. Are those people not Australian?

Look at the 55,000 who packed the Dome this year to watch Melbourne win it's first title in the A-League, the largest ever crowd for a domestic football match in this country. Are those people not Australian?

The 20-odd thousand who took out Victory memberships this year, not Australian?

The 80,000 who made the trek out to Homebush on a weeknight to watch Sydney play LA, are those people not Australian?

It is Australian people that make up Australian culture. Unless you are willing to tell us that all those people that I mentioned, as well as the others that I overlooked, are not Australian, then you must accept that this sport that you so desperately hate is in fact a part of Australian culture, and it is you more than any other in this thread who believes that you are too good for Football, and therefore too good for Australian culture.

As a devout fanatic of both codes, I personally can only cringe at the small-minded often zenophobic drivel have read in this thread. I swear how insecure and downright insular are some people to come out with horror quotes like "my relos defended our country against this kind of thing".

I'll give you the tip that www.TheWorldGame.com.au forumites are either laughing their heads off or reeling in embarrassment at some of the pathetic Cro-Magnon comments I have been witness to in this thread.
http://www21.sbs.com.au/wgforum/viewtopic.php?t=104320&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

The facts remains
-the Football World Cup is the BIGGEST sporting event on this earth
-it is played in the summer off-season for the European league (When the A-League is on is irrelevant OK :eek::rolleyes:)
-it requires stadiums to be over 40000 & completely refurbished & being largely in rectangular formation
-we have already amended the AFL season in time for the Sydney 2000 Olympics. So having a split in the respective leagues will just have to be a side-effect for the biggest world sporting event.

Having been to one last year in Germany, I can only imagine how mental the country would go over it. Plus the world would go more mental over this country & its friendly warm-hearted inhabitants. Then you see a thread like this & lose all hope for humanity.....:rolleyes:

All I can say is that I'm relieved to have been brought up in Sydney when Australian Rules AND football were just one of 4 codes of 'football' played. People in Sydney are used to the diversity & indeed thrive on, often going to 2 sports in the one weekend. I'm sure even LeagueUnlimited.com is not ranting and wailing about a footballing Armageddon like some people appear to be here.

Having a World Cup would just mean an adjustment to one AFL season. Life would surely go on after it has finished. And people will not being needing to commit hari kiri or feel that our country is being invaded (which indeed it would be by the thousands of WC tourists in town).

You never know, once you realise there is more than one sport out there, you may start understanding it, maybe even liking it, and then gaining a greater sense of objectivity about the sport you were traditionally brought up with.

The irony of this thread is that in 1996 many people reacted the same way about the Swans & AFL footy in NSW. The fact I appear to be the only one who can see it is the depressing thing.

JF

Yes season wise its alot fairer (the non-finals that is). However its about the ACTUAL game. Hell Chelsea could draw every game, but have the best team out of them all. How is that fair.

If AFL were a championship thingo (no finals) it would be pretty cool. But that means we would see alot of dead rubber matches. AND it would mean the end of those courageous moments in finals. Finals are an entirely different sort of a game.
See bold, you've overtaken our professor friend for the stupidest comment. Firstly how many teams have drawn 38 games in a league season? Secondly if a team did this how could it be sensibly argued they were the best team?

As for the finals comment you're preaching to the converted, as I said I like the AFL and MLB playoff system, which yes I do consider to be virtual lotteries. My only point is that the soccer/football league system, when compared to AFL/MBL etc., is proof the "soccer is all luck" arguments are crap.

Both systems work quite well for me and I enjoy the characteristics of each.

I'll assume you're still looking for that evidence to suggest the majority of Australians don't want the soccer/football world cup in this country ...

This has run it's course. Most seem to be having difficulty staying on the topic.