Preview 2019 Draft General Discussion

Thought Cox looked ok but I agree it will be a very open draft as I didn't see any potential Cam Rayners or Patrick Cripps out there. There are at least three Queenslanders that could have been out there. Martyn and Budarick did well though

Who are the kids from Qld who should have played?
Pretty sure the Swans could have had another 2 play too.

Thought Cox looked ok but I agree it will be a very open draft as I didn't see any potential Cam Rayners or Patrick Cripps out there. There are at least three Queenslanders that could have been out there. Martyn and Budarick did well though

Geez I thought Matt Rowell was unbelievably impressive and in the conversation with all the talented juniors I have seen. He absolutely dominated and it came a week after he was best on ground as a bottom ager in the TAC GF. Would not have thought you can do much more than that heading into your draft year to suggest you are a top top top end talent.

On their performance in the futures games and NEAFL Crossley and Gore were the most unlucky from Qld . NSW Barling was stiff to miss out and their was a half back from Tassie that looked good may have been a Viney
The tassie kid is Mitch O’Neill he’s a star was playing with glandular fever and a rolled ankle and still had 19 and got 2nd best

Another player we all need to keep our eyes out for is Marcus Height. The 6 foot 5 ruckman and key position player has struggled with injuries over the past two years after a promising start with the under 16 Calder Cannons. Height has a beautiful left foot and has a decent opposite. Although he may not be back from injury after suffering issues with his knees to be able to play for the Cannons this year, he will definitely be a huge part of Penleigh and Essendon Grammar's quest to go for back to back in the Associated Grammar Schools of Victoria and will most likely start at full forward, full back or obviously in the ruck. If this kid can get back into form there is definitely a chance that the boy can slip into the first round, but is most likely looking like a steal at the end of the second or start of the third. If a club can get their hands on this kid and give him the right rehab, I can definitely see him as being a similar player to a Buddy Franklin with ability to dominate the ruck. Most of the people will not have heard of him as he came on the stage quite early, but keep an eye out for him in the PEGS games next year, one of the many exciting prospects they have coming through.

Thanks Marcus

Geez I thought Matt Rowell was unbelievably impressive and in the conversation with all the talented juniors I have seen. He absolutely dominated and it came a week after he was best on ground as a bottom ager in the TAC GF. Would not have thought you can do much more than that heading into your draft year to suggest you are a top top top end talent.

Rowell was unbelievable in the GF. Has a massive engine, runs to the right spots and finds the footy. Easy no.1 at this point I would think.

Combine next week and some of these U18 kids have played 30 games this year and it’s ridiculous

They need a spell
Are you serious. If they can't recover in the time they have had off from the last time they played there is something wrong

You can’t be serious . They are also studying Yr 12 full time , some of them are driving 3 hours to training then 3 hours home

And you want them to play more than 30 games in a season and play in an exhibition match for you

They are not professional athletes

You can’t be serious . They are also studying Yr 12 full time , some of them are driving 3 hours to training then 3 hours home

And you want them to play more than 30 games in a season and play in an exhibition match for you

Some people are clueless...

I am not saying they should be playing more games. I was saying that they should of recovered by now from the last game they played.

I agree.

I understand that they would have played a lot of games, but they probably aren't travelling or club training!

Any with niggles are in cotton wool.

So, surely, for the chance to become a professional, those being tested would have managed their post season as a professional should?

They have recovered
Hang on, you previously said:

'Combine next week and some of these U18 kids have played 30 games this year and it’s ridiculous

They need a spell'

Now you are saying they have recovered. Which is it, do they need a spell or have they recovered and can now do the Combine?

Hang on, you previously said:

'Combine next week and some of these U18 kids have played 30 games this year and it’s ridiculous

They need a spell'

Now you are saying they have recovered. Which is it, do they need a spell or have they recovered and can now do the Combine?
Combine was last week mate so they’ve recovered

You don’t want them to play this week do you ? Footy season is over !!!

You will get to see the good ones next year in AFL so just put the feet up and enjoy cricket season

Jamieson has a nest of Ganglion Cysts in his foot. At first was advised to rest and then almost had surgery to remove. At this stage they have decided not to operate. Will be back fit and firing in 2019. Probably could have played toward end of this season, but went conservative.
no clue why i didnt get this alert, but thanks for the response.

On their performance in the futures games and NEAFL Crossley and Gore were the most unlucky from Qld . NSW Barling was stiff to miss out and their was a half back from Tassie that looked good may have been a Viney

Agree re Barling. Not much talk about him ATM but we’ll be paying quite a few points for him next year. Good prospect.

Barling, Parkes, McGrath, Rayner, Parker, Ellem and Watling seem to be the pick of a good group. All bring different things to the table for next year and beyond.
Martin, Adams and Cannon are also well respected.
Top 3 or 4 are all genuine prospects!

Barling, Parkes, McGrath, Rayner, Parker, Ellem and Watling seem to be the pick of a good group. All bring different things to the table for next year and beyond.
Martin, Adams and Cannon are also well respected.
Top 3 or 4 are all genuine prospects!

Probably won’t have a top end talent like Heeney, Mills or Blakey but definitely be our deepest pool of talent thus far. Barring disaster Rayner and Barling look absolute certainties to get drafted in my book.

Hmm.
Top 4 all should.
Rayner has been noted, but not much between the top 4 at all.
All had a crack at NEAFL and all have big bodies.