2020 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread

I would have thought the AFL is feeling pretty good about where things are with losing only 12 to 13% of rights value. The hit will still be a bit higher this year due to loss of crowds (net of standing down large numbers of the workforce, player cuts) but ultimately the AFL's flagged reduction in the soft cap could in theory totally absorb the entire loss.

Meanwhile the NRL got belted with a 25% cut and have apparently committed to giving more money to the clubs.

So put the dollars up, not the %s, its the dollars that count.

Yeah 16 a side makes sense in so many ways to me:
Less congestion
Less players required on a list (save money)
Easier to field teams at grassroots level
Better quality players and no issues with talent pool
A team like tassie coming in, less cost to run a club

Yeah 16 a side makes sense in so many ways to me:
Less congestion
Less players required on a list (save money)
Easier to field teams at grassroots level
Better quality players and no issues with talent pool
A team like tassie coming in, less cost to run a club
I love the idea of 16 a side, I think what the worry is that teams will play a chip, chip, chip style because they will be too worried about getting burnt on turnovers.
I think a few country leagues reserves now play 16 a side.

So put the dollars up, not the %s, its the dollars that count.

I think the dollars have been printed more or less

There is "almost $30M a year" for foxtel, no cut for Telstra and 7 to average $147m with the two year extension which includes and $87M in net-benefits (including production costs) over the next 3 years

The percentages and all other information imply an average of up to $50M a year for the last 3 years of the existing deal

so, is there any official attendance figures for round 1 and 2 so far?
not being funny - are they recording the 50-100 staff as spectators? or are they not (and do they not ever when crowds are normally in attendance)?

as crowds gradually increase over the next few rounds, it will be good to know what they are

I love the idea of 16 a side, I think what the worry is that teams will play a chip, chip, chip style because they will be too worried about getting burnt on turnovers.
I think a few country leagues reserves now play 16 a side.

i think 16 a side suited the VFA because in general VFA grounds were maybe quite small or smaller, i think it suits country leagues who find it hard to get players, i think a smaller side game suits places like Sydney where grounds are smaller as well and footy grounds are hard to find and cricket grounds are even smaller, perhaps even 8/10 a side on soccer grounds may happen there.

so, is there any official attendance figures for round 1 and 2 so far?
not being funny - are they recording the 50-100 staff as spectators? or are they not (and do they not ever when crowds are normally in attendance)?

as crowds gradually increase over the next few rounds, it will be good to know what they are

The AFL doesnt record staff as spectators. Theyve had issues with crowd reporting at Adelaide Oval over stuff like this

The VFL/AFL did include staff in the "attendance"at matches many years ago esp the finals but that dosen't happen now.

The GF at the G nowadays has around 3500 staff that are not included in the crowd total so there is well over 100,000 people in the stadium at most GFs

couldn't disagree more, reduced i/c would not cause more fatigue, it would increase positional play and open play up, as per now players would pace themselves accordingly, a slowing of play would not reduce skills at all
It wouldn't, because games dont evolve backwards. A modern style still beats a static older style. They would concentrate on getting fitter, then run themselves into the ground. A club going into a season thinking they would just run less and play positional footy would get crushed.

Another thrashing by the AFL! AFL # 5 NRL # 19th again CH 9 wouldn't be happy with those figures for a Friday night esp the metro figures.Even the AFL Pre Match beat the NRL easily!

Good numbers.

Just a question, why do people watch through 7 instead of foxtel (if they have fox)? The game is a few seconds behind, there are adds in every break, the picture doesn't seem as good and you have to put up with all the ch7 idiots in between quarters.

7media press release.jpg
Friday Night Football back

with a bang on Seven

Seven’s average metro audience more than doubles the NRL’s
(13 June, 2020) Footy fans rejoiced at the return of Friday Night Football, with Seven’s LIVE and FREE coverage of the Geelong-Hawthorn blockbuster reaching 1.862 million people nationally and 1.395 million in metro areas.

As Geelong romped to a 61-point win over the Hawks with a dazzling display of free-scoring football, Seven’s average metro audience of 750,000 more than doubled the NRL’s free-to-air metro audience of 326,000.

Seven’s average national audience of 994,000 on Friday night was 81 per cent up on the NRL’s free-to-air national audience of 548,000.

In Melbourne, Seven’s coverage reached 822,000 fans, while an average audience of 476,000 enjoyed the Cats’ dominant display.

Good numbers.

Just a question, why do people watch through 7 instead of foxtel (if they have fox)? The game is a few seconds behind, there are adds in every break, the picture doesn't seem as good and you have to put up with all the ch7 idiots in between quarters.
I would not be surprised if Foxtel lost quite a few subscribers these past few months. Whilst Thursday nights TV figures were off the charts, interestingly, the fox footy viewers were a touch down against the season opener, also on a Thursday night between Richmond and Carlton.

On a seperate note, and not sure because we've got Fox via satellite here in Canberra, there has been a slight (half second) mismatch/delay between the audio and video. This is evident when the umpire bounces the ball or a player kicks it long and you can hear the thump of the ball fractionally before you see it.

Seven being absolutely gleeful about it too. I think they just reeeeeally wanted a win

Yeah you can see why Channel 7 are paying so much more for the AFL than 9 are for the NRL. It is not just the massive numbers in Melbourne particularly, it is also getting ~200k on 7 mate. Reality TV will always carry more risk than the AFL in terms of driving wins. Channel 9's NRL metros are why the NRL's FTA value is fading away

I would not be surprised if Foxtel lost quite a few subscribers these past few months. Whilst Thursday nights TV figures were off the charts, interestingly, the fox footy viewers were a touch down against the season opener, also on a Thursday night between Richmond and Carlton.

On a seperate note, and not sure because we've got Fox via satellite here in Canberra, there has been a slight (half second) mismatch/delay between the audio and video. This is evident when the umpire bounces the ball or a player kicks it long and you can hear the thump of the ball fractionally before you see it.
Kayo would be taking a lot subs from Foxtel and those figures are not supplied by News Corp.

It's a false dawn though as there are no more actual viewers. It just makes the numbers look better to the great unwashed.
I've always believed more people watch sporting events than what is recorded, especially the really big ones like AFL Grand Final, RL State of Origin etc. due to the fact people usually gather in pubs and other people's homes to watch it.

It doesn't surprise me that TV viewership is "higher" during COVID times.

7media-press-release-jpg.891485

2240 give voice to millions

at The Showdown on Seven

Nearly 1.5 million fans enjoy Power’s dominant win

(14 June, 2020) Footy fans unmistakably found their voice at Adelaide Oval last night as Seven’s LIVE and FREE coverage of The Showdown reached 1.463 million people nationally and 1.124 million in metro areas.

In the first AFL match where crowds have been allowed this season, the passion of the 2240 people inside Adelaide Oval shone through on Seven’s broadcast, again underlining the fact footy fans remain – and will always be – the game’s heartbeat.

As Port Adelaide took the hometown bragging rights over Adelaide with an imposing 75-point win, an average national audience of 763,000, including 598,000 in metro areas, tuned in on Seven.

In Adelaide, Seven’s broadcast reached 330,000 people, with an average audience of 197,000.

2020 AFL Crowds & Ratings Thread