39 Wednesday and 41 Friday if the BOM is to be believed. Could get enough of a tan to last the entire 2020 season!
Good for us down here. Scully will still be in Mooloolaba ie Circa 29 and humid.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
39 Wednesday and 41 Friday if the BOM is to be believed. Could get enough of a tan to last the entire 2020 season!
Thanks FH.I took the kids to training this morning at Maroochydore under a blazing sun. We were a little late as the boys were already on the park in full training mode.
Now, I'll run a very brief commentary of what I saw, so please don't expect the effort and insight that some of the regular posters on here provide.
Firstly, how the hell do you tell who's who from 100 meters away.? The boys were dressed in their dark brown tops with no numbers so it was physiques, tattoos and hair colour that I was watching for.
I'd say there were 40 players out there, another 15 coaches and support staff and maybe 150 watching on.
There were multiple groups doing their own things. Boxing, repeated sprints, boundary running, goal kicking and some sort of centre match Sims.
It was great to see Sammy Mitchell there participating in some of the run throughs and is very vocal. He's the voice I could here the most.
Tom Mitchell mustn't have broken his leg. It must be fake news! He participated in match sim and looked to moving easily. I'm not sure how much of a modified program he's on but he didn't look restricted In any way. Ran and moved freely and later was doing Laps on the boundary. Looks a round one start to me?
Impy doing boxing drills with Chad and happy and fit.
Chad involved with match sim and running laps. Was always chatting with a smile when I saw him.
Ceglar involved in match sims and took some good contested marks. He was also doing boundary running and is looking like he's put a bit on through the shoulders.
O'Meara just needs a blue and red caped spandex suit with a big S on the front. He was involved in match sim, looks super buffed and ran well on the boundary.
Bruest seen running boundary with JOM.
Poppy looked involved, didn't have a bad kick from what I saw and ran hard to contests.
Conor Nash is gifted physically with height and pace. Was running well. He played one out with another? forward taking marks and kicking goals. He was involved in a 4 way In close session of kick passing and keeping the ball off the ground. His round ball upbringing showed.
Smith, Howe and Stratton running and looked fit.
I saw a few others I recognised from a distance but just doing what they do. The intensity was up, it was very vocal and praise when due. I head names being called during play but I just couldn't tell. I heard Gunners get called but just couldn't spot him.
I didn't see Big Boy or Patton.
Thanks FH, you are a legend just like it says under your alias.I took the kids to training this morning at Maroochydore under a blazing sun. We were a little late as the boys were already on the park in full training mode.
Now, I'll run a very brief commentary of what I saw, so please don't expect the effort and insight that some of the regular posters on here provide.
Firstly, how the hell do you tell who's who from 100 meters away.? The boys were dressed in their dark brown tops with no numbers so it was physiques, tattoos and hair colour that I was watching for.
I'd say there were 40 players out there, another 15 coaches and support staff and maybe 150 watching on.
There were multiple groups doing their own things. Boxing, repeated sprints, boundary running, goal kicking and some sort of centre match Sims.
It was great to see Sammy Mitchell there participating in some of the run throughs and is very vocal. He's the voice I could here the most.
Tom Mitchell mustn't have broken his leg. It must be fake news! He participated in match sim and looked to moving easily. I'm not sure how much of a modified program he's on but he didn't look restricted In any way. Ran and moved freely and later was doing Laps on the boundary. Looks a round one start to me?
Chad involved with match sim and running laps. Was always chatting with a smile when I saw him.
Ceglar involved in match sims and took some good contested marks. He was also doing boundary running and is looking like he's put a bit on through the shoulders.
O'Meara just needs a blue and red caped spandex suit with a big S on the front. He was involved in match sim, looks super buffed and ran well on the boundary.
Poppy looked involved, didn't have a bad kick from what I saw and ran hard to contests.
Conor Nash is gifted physically with height and pace. Was running well. He played one out with another? forward taking marks and kicking goals. He was involved in a 4 way In close session of kick passing and keeping the ball off the ground. His round ball upbringing showed.
I saw a few others I recognised from a distance but just doing what they do. The intensity was up, it was very vocal and praise when due. I head names being called during play but I just couldn't tell. I heard Gunners get called but just couldn't spot him.
Reckon the game he beat Buddy was pivotal in 2009.
Anyone know how many Brownlow votes Gibson received for that effort?
Gibbo’s final game for Norf was against Port Adelaide over there. He played on ball in an attacking tagging role. And got the 3 Brownlow votes. Says something about his character that the wanted to finish on a high.
Go Hawks
Thanks FH. This is the stiff we really apprieciate. Keep it up please!I took the kids to training this morning at Maroochydore under a blazing sun. We were a little late as the boys were already on the park in full training mode.
Im with ya, has all the tools to play Poppy’s role eventually, and although he was marvellous off half back, we have cover down there.
Reckon we have a fair bit of Key position depth now too though.No depth apart from wingers andHBF
I don't have a view of this either way, but a few things to keep in mind:Looking at recent pictures, it does appear that we are a bit more concerned with being stronger athletes since Boyd took over and Russell left.
Jaegs has always been muscular, but in his first few years here it felt as though we stripped it off him a tad. He seems to have it back. This has also coincided with O'Brien becoming more of a physical presence as well as Lewis coming on in leaps and bounds.
Kosi looks pretty beefy too.
I don't have a view of this either way, but a few things to keep in mind:
Do you see similar gains across the squad?
- Jaeger isn't doing as much as everybody else just yet and spending more time in the gym bc of his knee (just management acc to recent article).
- TOB's coming into his mid-20s now, which is a time when many skinny guys begin to retain muscle more easily.
- Lewis put in extra work right after the 2018 season and before the actual pre-season began, which is probably why he gained so much weight.
Looking at recent pictures, it does appear that we are a bit more concerned with being stronger athletes since Boyd took over and Russell left.
Jaegs has always been muscular, but in his first few years here it felt as though we stripped it off him a tad. He seems to have it back. This has also coincided with O'Brien becoming more of a physical presence as well as Lewis coming on in leaps and bounds.
Kosi looks pretty beefy too.
But what about Schoenmakers every year at this time. Never have there been so many Ivan Drago gifs, images and memes going around the internet as those early preseason Schoey days . Some players come back looking massive. Many of them still train during their break but maybe some hit the weights more than others. It could also be Boyd managing their programs and getting some of them bigger before the season comes and they lean out again. At least we don't have any Motlop, Hawkins type of physiques getting around the ovalWas having a similar convo with a mate yesterday. Scully looks significantly bigger too me also. Might just be the time of year and the photos, but the squad does look larger in general.
But what about Schoenmakers every year at this time. Never have there been so many Ivan Drago gifs, images and memes going around the internet as those early preseason Schoey days . Some players come back looking massive. Many of them still train during their break but maybe some hit the weights more than others. It could also be Boyd managing their programs and getting some of them bigger before the season comes and they lean out again. At least we don't have any Motlop, Hawkins type of physiques getting around the oval
After two more months of pre season the boys will start to strip back the mass slightly. Then by round 4-5 after a solid block of games the heavy weights will drop right off and it will all be about muscle management.
As someone who has completed a personal trainers course and plays footy myself, I thoroughly enjoy seeing how big all the players in the comp look come the start of practice games vs half way through the season. There is always a drop off in obvious muscle mass over the majority of the AFL (perhaps not including key position players as much).
Because they are going to lose the weight whether they want to or not during the year. So starting with a bit more means they finish with a bit more than they otherwise wouldIf you can't maintain the muscle mass, what;s the point of building it up during the pre-season?
Mass doesn't necessarily equal strength/power.
They'd be a team of Steve Moneghettis out there by round 22 otherwiseIf you can't maintain the muscle mass, what;s the point of building it up during the pre-season?
Mass doesn't necessarily equal strength/power.
Yeap. It’s great stuff. Very lucky to have Mitchell back at the club.The video of Sam Mitchell taking training and mic’d up is like a Christmas present come early
Yeap. It’s great stuff. Very lucky to have Mitchell back at the club.
Clearly will take over from Clarko already taking most of pre season
This is normal.Clearly will take over from Clarko already taking most of pre season