Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion

Need Essendon to lose both (Suns & Magpies), West Coast to lose both (Dockers & Lions) and us to beat Fremantle.

We also need to claw back the percentage of the Eagles and it comes to about 140 points. So two 8 goal losses for them and an 8 goal win for us will suffice.

Who's still playing at home? 😂😂😂

Blues got what they deserved for gifting getting a player to 300 games. It's just not the same when it isn't earned. Medi subs should never be counted as playing the match when they haven't even played one second!
The Blues have a good list and if they can all get on the park at the same time they will be very dangerous.
They made some very stupid decisions this year by playing players who are well past there best and not putting the youth in to the team.
With Walsh , Cripps , McKay , Wietering , Martin , Docherty , Williams , De Koning , Jones , Charlie Curnow , Saad , Fisher , Dow they have a team who can push for finals - cull the dead wood and you will have a team / add some good free agents and you have a team

They still need to cull a fair few in there list and draft and trade but who every takes over from the current coach has a list that can be turned into a finals team.

I'm not a big fan or folding or relocating teams, but after my experience of some Norf fans recently slagging off the saints, I hope the Tasmanian deal crumbles down, the Arden precint tells them they are building on their oval and they become so far in debt they have no choice but to sell their coffee cart and move to Hobart....
I hate to see teams move states but it will happen , they can't add a team at the current moment but the certainly can move one - The AFL knows the government will help to prop the team up in Tassie and save them money there will be a team there and it will be the team that is the most under performing and laden with debt - Gold Coast - Hawks or Roos.

Nah it'll be option three - no team for the foreseeable future. "Sorry, covid" will be the immediate excuse but in practice there's no money in it and the AFL just won't bother.
So North and Hawthorn will say goodbye to $8M and AFL football will die in Tasmania. Not sure the AFL actually wants that!

It costs around $45M to put an AFL team on the ground. $25M of that comes from the AFL, add $8M from Tassie govt, so that means a Tasmanian "club" only has to generate $12M in sponsorship, membership and ticket sales.

They will do that in a doddle - actually they would be financially better off than us.

So North and Hawthorn will say goodbye to $8M and AFL football will die in Tasmania. Not sure the AFL actually wants that!

It costs around $45M to put an AFL team on the ground. $25M of that comes from the AFL, add $8M from Tassie govt, so that means a Tasmanian "club" only has to generate $12M in sponsorship, membership and ticket sales.

They will do that in a doddle - actually they would be financially better off than us.

And if they did a head count on memberships, they would have twice as many as the next club!!! 🤪🤪🤪

Almost as much as i'll be cheering for us next year, i'll be hoping Hawthorn fall in a heap.

I reckon they have angered the footy gods by sacking clarko...get ready for injuries to key players, a horrible draw and a very angry Sam Mitchell in the coaches box who knows there is nothing they can do about it!!

North gets $4M per year from Tasmania. Just 2 years without that money and they will be stuffed unless the AFL tops them up. We currently are rated about 5th on the funding list (artifically high because of redevelopment money). If North needs another $4M a year top up they will be 2nd.

That's the thing - they won't.

So that leaves two other options for Tasmania - relocate a club or a new franchise.

The world and AFL has moved on from when the South Melbourne and Fitzroy were "relocated". So the question now is - which is the easiest to achieve?

Come on down the Tassies Devils

View attachment 1205754
Don’t believe we are fifth at all with dividends. We get the third most behind gws and Gold Coast and have for many more years than the development. Of course north will just get more money.

For those wanting us to have an easier draw next year we need to;

A) Lose v Fremantle
B) Carlton beat GWS
No we need to win every game we can

If we get the easier draw we will complain that we get shit games and crap time slots

Relocating any Victorian club is just so mind numbingly stupid.

In what world does it make any sense?

You'd effectively get a fraction of the support. Less sponsorship. Issues with player recruitment.

And for what?
The support would come from the Tasmanian people, people cant seem to get their head around that.The sponsorship would come from the normal avenues. Dont you think they have corporations in Tasmania? Player recruitment would be the tricky one. Imagine the draft choices though, even though not a new club, the AFL would be obligated and would give plenty of concessions. Why be a loser all your life in a flag sense? That especially applies to saints and North. Hawks are a better on field side with silverware in the cupboard.
For what? The whole objective is to make the team representation nationwide and spread the game and ensure that a founding state has a stand alone team. However they do that is up to the AFL who BTW wont tell us officially how much they are spending on the Gold coast team per year and will continue to spend for the next 10 years. Nobody questions it and that is how the AFL like it.

I'm not a big fan or folding or relocating teams, but after my experience of some Norf fans recently slagging off the saints, I hope the Tasmanian deal crumbles down, the Arden precint tells them they are building on their oval and they become so far in debt they have no choice but to sell their coffee cart and move to Hobart....
It will have to be a new team. Could not see Gutwein accepting a half baked relocation. But big debt would be the excuse the AFL used if they were to relocate a team. I havent read/seen anything where the saints were slagged off by North in an official sense.

It's a big capital investment in the short term, just when the AFL doesn't really have the reserves to make a big capital investment. Adding one team adds costs every year (more flights, more subsidies) with no increase in revenue (because it's still nine games a week so TV money won't go up). They won't add another side until they have a second to add at the same time, which increases TV revenue.

The support would come from the Tasmanian people, people cant seem to get their head around that.The sponsorship would come from the normal avenues. Dont you think they have corporations in Tasmania?

Not many Tassie based companies. There's not enough sponsorship dollars to go around already, that's why we're usually scratching around to try to get a deal once the big clubs have locked in their car companies and airlines.

True, they may hit up a few of the mining companies early up. Gutwein gives them some generous deals and it might be payback time. Carter did say that the numbers stack up, it was a business case he prepared. It has certainly created discussion and thought about what might happen.

I hate to see teams move states but it will happen , they can't add a team at the current moment but the certainly can move one - The AFL knows the government will help to prop the team up in Tassie and save them money there will be a team there and it will be the team that is the most under performing and laden with debt - Gold Coast - Hawks or Roos.
I don't understand how you can list those metrics for moving an established team, but leave St Kilda off the list.

I dont understand that either. For a relocation I believe that 75% of clubs have to agree to it which is probably not going to happen especially with Covid and profits down for the next 2 years. I believe the AFL has "knocked" the ball into the clubs CEO's court to maybe come up with a solution.

Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion