Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread

The Collingwood/Freo AFL Members is almost sold out already.

Shouldn't be that surprised, the AFL Members is practically an additional Collingwood members section most weeks, plus there should be a healthy amount of neutrals in there. Why wouldn't you want to go to a Collingwood game, you're basically guaranteed a thriller every time!
That’s why I keep saying that I do believe the crowd will be between 75-80,000 Saturday night as probably 50,000 Collingwood members could not get a ticket to the Geelong game so there will be a huge Collingwood turn out for the last chance to see the pies play in Melbourne also the increased enthusiasm with the magpie army especially considering the exciting brand of footy we have most most weeks this year.

Ticketek has been making it difficult during the finals to gauge what has actually been sold or not but at the moment for the Coll/Freo game it looks like everything from Categories 1-6 is gone or down to single seats, leaving only the very back of the top deck at the Punt Road end.

Unless there's bays being held back for some reason that's a lot more sold than I would've thought and together with a completely full AFL Members indicates a very strong crowd if the MCC also show up.

For the Dees/Lions game there seems to be lots available. They're not listing Categories 6 & 7 at all but it looks like they will only be offered once they sell enough of the others first. It's a similar story in the AFL members with none of the middle or back of the top deck even put on sale yet. There will no doubt be a strong MCC turnout but this one is looking disappointingly small at the moment.

I reckon the Melbourne v Sydney game was about 40k Melbourne, 30k Sydney, 8k neutrals.

Therefore being a traditional week 2 drop off, you might get 35k Melbourne, 15k Brisbane, 5k neutrals. Crowd = 55k.

I reckon the Melbourne v Sydney game was about 40k Melbourne, 30k Sydney, 8k neutrals.

Therefore being a traditional week 2 drop off, you might get 35k Melbourne, 15k Brisbane, 5k neutrals. Crowd = 55k.
Nah mate that's crazy to think there was only 40k Melbourne fans. I thought it was a great crowd for a non big 4 side. I sat next to the Swans cheers squad and every time they got a goal, there was just a few bays celebrating but the rest were dead eyed Dees fans.
It was one of the biggest Dees fans turnouts I've ever seen. there was just nothing to cheer about in literally the last 40 minutes of the game, which is when it's usually the loudest for any reasonably close game with any club.

That being said, I do think you're right on for a 55k crowd though, hopefully it gets about 60k though. Every Dees fan I know well (which isn't that many lol) is still going but we're feeling pretty flat after that

Looking like the crowd will be in the high 70s or low 80s then which is a great result
Looking at all categories it is only singles seats left in every category. My prediction is 83,000! 75,000 Collingwood, 5,000 freo and 3,000 neutrals!!

I thought the Collingwood fans would snap tickets u pretty quickly as plenty of our members missed out on tickets to the cats game

And I bet one of the conditions for an increase in the TV rights will be that the GF must be at night,

No business and the AFL even if fans don't like it is a massive sports entertainment business the biggest in the nation that not afford to lose 1 million viewers esp those in the RL States by stupidly playing in the Sat afternoon TV ratings grave yard!

Tradition does not pay the bills bums on seats and eyes at the TV DO!

100 per cent.

If I´m in charge of TV and paying those huge rights I´m ensuring big games a being played at prime time (night).

That Pies v Cats game should of been at night. So many people were playing amateur football, working etc at that time.

Looking at all categories it is only singles seats left in every category. My prediction is 83,000! 75,000 Collingwood, 5,000 freo and 3,000 neutrals!!

I thought the Collingwood fans would snap tickets u pretty quickly as plenty of our members missed out on tickets to the cats game

You're not shy in talking up the percentage of pies fans at each game are you?

100 per cent.

If I´m in charge of TV and paying those huge rights I´m ensuring big games a being played at prime time (night).

That Pies v Cats game should of been at night. So many people were playing amateur football, working etc at that time.
I think Geelong requested a twilight final for there members as a night game I don’t think many would of gone due to the travel

There is going to be a massive magpie turnout. Crowd will be 80,000 minimum as high as 85,000! Might even just break the highest ever semi final crowd v an interest club. The biggest was in 1996 Essendon v west coast 85.6 k.

Bloody hell I had no idea we got that much back in 96. Well, it's definitely good for the game if 80k is there 👍

I think Geelong requested a twilight final for there members as a night game I don’t think many would of gone due to the travel
We did request an arvo game (ch7 requested arvo = twilight). We had way more people there than usual for a friday night game at the G, awesome atmosphere all around.

It will be the second biggest crowd Freo have ever played in front of

Surprising that the second biggest crowd they've played in front of was only 61k

Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread