2022 All Aus Predictions and Rolling teams

Stengle has been one of the most destructive players in the competition in the second half of the season. He should be a lock. i would pick him ahead of hawkins easily. not just his goals but his run down tackles and smothers and freakish assists have been phenomenol.
Stengle has obviously had a great year with 46 goals in 22 games, especially as he cost nothing to acquire. But there is a gap in his record against the good teams and poorer teams.

Against the guaranteed finalists he has played 6 games for 8 goals.

If Carlton make the finals it will be 7 games for 9 goals, and 15 games for 37 against non-finalists.

If Western make it, 8 games for 10 goals, and 14 for 36 against non-finalists.

He appears to dine out on weaker opposition (~2.5 goals per game vs. ~1.3) and it will be interesting to see if Stengle turns that trend around in the finals.

He’s not alone though with all the small forwards who will be playing finals experiencing some level of drop off against fellow finalists. Stengle has the biggest gap.

Pickett only has 14 goals in 9 games against guaranteed finalists. Make it 16 in 10 if Carlton get there, and 17 in 11 if Western do. 21 games for 38 goals overall.

Charlie Cameron 7 games for 11 goals. Carlton make it then it’s 8/13, Western would be 8/15. 22 games for 47 goals overall.

Shai Bolton went at 6/11. Carlton in 8/16, Western 7/13. 22 games for 42 goals overall.

It also illustrates the inequities in the draw, especially as Pickett’s missed game was against Freo meaning Melbourne have played either 11 or 12 games against fellow finalists, and the other teams only 7 or 8 games against fellow finalists. Literally “luck of the draw” but something for consideration.

Rozee showdown medal, lock

Rather than talk about a medal which means nothing to 16 other clubs, you could just say BOG.

Its like ANZAC Day medals. Or Silk Miller Memorial medals.

But yes, he had a great game. Against a very poor team who had nothing to play for. I would focus on his games against top teams, not him being a flat track bully.

But then, the selectors are flogs who only look at stats sheets, and even then not very closely. So you could be right.

Stengle has obviously had a great year with 46 goals in 22 games, especially as he cost nothing to acquire. But there is a gap in his record against the good teams and poorer teams.

Against the guaranteed finalists he has played 6 games for 8 goals.

If Carlton make the finals it will be 7 games for 9 goals, and 15 games for 37 against non-finalists.

If Western make it, 8 games for 10 goals, and 14 for 36 against non-finalists.

He appears to dine out on weaker opposition (~2.5 goals per game vs. ~1.3) and it will be interesting to see if Stengle turns that trend around in the finals.

He’s not alone though with all the small forwards who will be playing finals experiencing some level of drop off against fellow finalists. Stengle has the biggest gap.

Pickett only has 14 goals in 9 games against guaranteed finalists. Make it 16 in 10 if Carlton get there, and 17 in 11 if Western do. 21 games for 38 goals overall.

Charlie Cameron 7 games for 11 goals. Carlton make it then it’s 8/13, Western would be 8/15. 22 games for 47 goals overall.

Shai Bolton went at 6/11. Carlton in 8/16, Western 7/13. 22 games for 42 goals overall.

It also illustrates the inequities in the draw, especially as Pickett’s missed game was against Freo meaning Melbourne have played either 11 or 12 games against fellow finalists, and the other teams only 7 or 8 games against fellow finalists. Literally “luck of the draw” but something for consideration.
True. But half of those games came in the first 4 rounds when he was still finding his feet. Kicked 1 goal in those 3 games. In the 3 games he has played against top eight teams since then he has kicked 7 goals and was excellent in all those games. one of those games he was best on ground and simply electric.

Rather than talk about a medal which means nothing to 16 other clubs, you could just say BOG.

Its like ANZAC Day medals. Or Silk Miller Memorial medals.

But yes, he had a great game. Against a very poor team who had nothing to play for. I would focus on his games against top teams, not him being a flat track bully.

But then, the selectors are flogs who only look at stats sheets, and even then not very closely. So you could be right.
Heaps of his AFLCA votes have been against top teams what are you even talking about?

Could argue he has played better against top teams then bottom 8 teams

Heaps of his AFLCA votes have been against top teams what are you even talking about?

Could argue he has played better against top teams then bottom 8 teams

In the first half of the season he had 2 against Carlton and 2 against the Dogs.

2nd half was a better with 9 against Swans, 3 against Freo, 6 against Demons, 7 against Pies.

Out of 75 total. I would argue he got heaps of votes against bottom 9 teams. Nearly 70% of his votes in fact.

In the first half of the season he had 2 against Carlton and 2 against the Dogs.

2nd half was a better with 9 against Swans, 3 against Freo, 6 against Demons, 7 against Pies.

Out of 75 total. I would argue he got heaps of votes against bottom 9 teams. Nearly 70% of his votes in fact.
So he got votes in 6 teams of the top 8. Seems pretty consistent big performer

Lynch is second in the Coleman medal , and has taken more contested marks this year than anyone else has taken this decade , and he did this while missing 4 games .

Any talk of him not being a lock in the aa team screams of a confirmed bias against Richmond.

It is a no brainer

If he could add any other dimension to his game it might be.

Tbh I think they should pick all 4 and have one on the bench.

Just out of curiosity if you could only pick one of Hawkins or Cameron to be in the team who would you pick?

Tbh I think they should pick all 4 and have one on the bench.

Just out of curiosity if you could only pick one of Hawkins or Cameron to be in the team who would you pick?

For a Geelong team? Probably Hawkins as the other things Cameron offers can be more easily covered. For an AA side, probably Cameron

forwardline is pretty straightforward I'd have thought

HF: Bolton J Cameron Stengle
F: Hawkins Curnow C Cameron

Unless they decide they need to fit another midfielder in then it's a toss of the coin which small misses.

I reckon they'll slot Petracca in on the HFF opposite Bolton.

Do you know who the number 1 forward Line in the league is this year ?

Richmond .

Do you know who the key to the best forward line in the league is ?

Tom lynch

The only forward mentioned as an aa hopeful that is top 10 in the league for forward pressure creating goals

Best goals per game average in the league

Most contested marks in a decade

2nd best goals kicked in the year

Lynch should be the first forward picked ahead of curnow Cameron and whoever else you like as well

I’d definitely have Lynch over Jeremy Cameron and Hawkins

Finally some sense here

Then one of Stengle and Cameron will be unlucky..

I reckon two of Stengle, Cameron or Heeney will be unlucky, and one of Hawkins, Cameron or Lynch will be too.

I think they're going to go
HF: Bolton J.Cameron Petracca
F: Lynch Curnow C.Cameron

Though I'm not personally going to argue too much if Stengle or Heeney get in over C.Cameron, they're close enough that it could go either way.

I reckon two of Stengle, Cameron or Heeney will be unlucky, and one of Hawkins, Cameron or Lynch will be too.

Though I'm not personally going to argue too much if Stengle or Heeney get in over C.Cameron, they're close enough that it could go either way.
Yeah I don't envy the selectors trying to chose which of the 4 key forwards to miss out. Nor who to choose out of Stengle or Cameron.

All we know is that this thread is going to be a bomb site for 2 weeks going round in circles over the forward line choices.

Yeah they rarely pick two genuine small forwards. Cameron was a clear selection for most of the year. Not anymore with his/ Lions poor finish. Stengle may get the spot now their stats are so close and Geelong are the clear #1 team.

Hawkins makes it before Lynch. His all round game inc GA's and ruck craft have him ahead.

I actually forgot about Heeney.

Is Curnow only a "lock" because he has won the Coleman Medal? Because I remember a Coleman Medallist not making the AA side in favour of the guy who came runner-up.

The Coleman medalist has been CHF or FF ~18 out of the last 21 AA teams. Roughead was named in a pocket in the year he won it. Two have missed out entirely (Riewoldt in 2012 and Gehrig in 2005). Probably didn't help Riewoldt's case that Richmond finished 4 wins outside the top 8 that season.

2022 All Aus Predictions and Rolling teams