2nds 2022 Peel Thunder

We’ll find out what Henry is made of in the off season. You need players of strong character to play AFL footy.
If he’s got the mentality required, he will knuckle down and improve, and stop talking to his manager.
If he doesn’t then he’s a bust.

Lots of talk about Henry, which is fair enough. I don’t think he’s far off it, had a couple of good games at AFL level this season & just needs to work a bit harder & have intensity with ball in hand.
Treacy on the other hand is very highly rated on here & he needs a massive preseason & & a strong year next season as well. Has been as poor as anyone today & just doesn’t work hard enough for me.

Lots of talk about Henry, which is fair enough. I don’t think he’s far off it, had a couple of good games at AFL level this season & just needs to work a bit harder & have intensity with ball in hand.
Treacy on the other hand is very highly rated on here & he needs a massive preseason & & a strong year next season as well. Has been as poor as anyone today & just doesn’t work hard enough for me.
Treacy doesn't work hard enough? Tough day for Peel forwards... Plus I thought his pressure was really good today.

Imagine if Freo passed on him when Carlton selected him in the draft

I'd still have drafted Chapman but Freo had to get creative with other picks

In his draft we got Frederick after him.

The next year it was Chapman, O’Driscoll, Walker and Western. We had points left over after we matched the last two as well.

Don’t think it worked out too badly tbh.

Treacy doesn't work hard enough? Tough day for Peel forwards... Plus I thought his pressure was really good today.
Theres always an excuse for Treacys performances on here, no I don’t think he worked hard enough & don’t think he gets to enough contests at this level.

Treacy is overrated around these parts. Pops up for the odd goal but goes AWOL the vast majority of the time. The difference in forward craft between he and Amiss is in the orders of magnitude.

He could still make it but I have my doubts

Disappointing game in the end.
Theres always an excuse for Treacys performances on here, no I don’t think he worked hard enough & don’t think he gets to enough contests at this level.
Weird how two people can watch the same game and have completely different opinions on a player.

I thought he worked real hard, and got to a decent number of contests plus applied good pressure.

He barely had a preseason after having OP for most of it. That's a pretty decent excuse most of the time, especially if the main criticisms are fitness based like lack of workrate and not getting to enough contests.

Sorry mate and don’t take offence

He stinks !!

At the ground I thought Treacy was good but not great, his lack of fitness was showing towards the end though.
Henry was embarrassing, tackles like a feather duster and gets pushed off easily.
Easts are still in it so Freo Flag no. 46 is still on.

The difference is that there is at least some evidence that Treacy can play as a key forward at AFL level. The game against the bulldogs last year was great for an 18 yo in the hardest position on the park.
On a more positive note, I’ve been trying to think of who Erasmus plays like and I think he could well play a similar role that Chad Warner does for Sydney, and can be equally as good.

The difference is that there is at least some evidence that Treacy can play as a key forward at AFL level. The game against the bulldogs last year was great for an 18 yo in the hardest position on the park.
On a more positive note, I’ve been trying to think of who Erasmus plays like and I think he could well play a similar role that Chad Warner does for Sydney, and can be equally as good.
Yes, think we're all pretty confident on Ras now, our '21 draft is a ripper. Johnson will get there hopefully, he's exactly the type we're crying out for with Mundy retiring

Treacy is overrated around these parts. Pops up for the odd goal but goes AWOL the vast majority of the time. The difference in forward craft between he and Amiss is in the orders of magnitude.

He could still make it but I have my doubts
Bit harsh with those comments, gets kicked over his head when presents.Midfield stuff around with it and dont get it in quick to any forwards so how are any of them allowed any seperation i have know doubt he can play at the top leval.

I'm willing to give the youngsters another preseason to see what they're made of. A lot are carrying injuries or complaints, let's see how they're going a few rounds into the new season after hopefully a trouble free off season. So many are reactive and base their opinions on the most recent game forgetting the past and not taking into consideration other contributing factors.

Out future is brighter than it has been for a long, long time. I think we'll have more booms than busts out of:

Treacy
Henry
Erasmus
Amiss
Worner
Johnson
Sturt

Then there's Benning who I'm backing in to make it and even though I doubt him, Western may improve enough to make it.

I can't wait for season 2023!

2nds 2022 Peel Thunder