One 2 Roo
Is there a match report of some description?
Anyone get along to have a look?
I think everyone gets what you're saying but they're just being polite.What I am asking is .... Do you think encouraging strong physical competition between teammates may cause pre-season injuries?
Pre-season cup has now gone, state of origin has now gone, post season matches are now gone.
They are all gone because it is too risky for the players to play in these events. The main season is far too important and it is the club who pays these players to perform over a long AFL season.
I have not seen the Coffield incident.
Well that IS true. Let's hope the curse doesn't kick inStill plenty of pre season to go
So we need to stop players jumping for a mark? Cause that's how Coff did his kneeAfter the experiences of the last 10 years, I'm fully happy to raise questions about our training structures, drafting and regimes.
I watch, read and listen to all the media that the club produces.
There are some messaging that I love and some I really don't like.
I'l keep on questioning until the season starts.
We have had a really ordinary history and most of it's self inflicted through bad management, bad decision makers, being pushed around due to being a small fry etc. It's a lot easier to blame a curse or bad luck than look in the mirror. Saints fans have been conditioned to have a kind of fatalistic belief that even the good times are fleeting moments of joy before the inevitable drop to our knees.Good to hear a Saints supporter say this. We lost those GFs because we kept the oppo in the game with poor goal kicking throughout the games. It sucks, but when you keep the games tight it becomes a coin toss and we lost the toss.
When I think of a curse against us, I think of Nicky's dad dying the day before the 97GF or recent injuries to players in the 10 guernsey. But every club has hard luck stories, I mean look at what's happened to Adelaide in the last few years.
It doesn’t matter what’s going on in the world. There’s always sh*t going on somewhere that’s really bad, so if you’re feeling grief over any kind of loss, be it minor or major, then it’s much healthier to express it, than to bottle it up. Or try to pretend it isn’t there.
And it certainly isn’t helpful to boss others around or try to bully them into doing or saying what you want them to, while they are expressing their grief.
There’s a good and informative page about it here at Health Direct.
“Grief is a response to the loss of someone or something that was important.”
Regardless of what’s going on in the world, we’re all heavily invested in our footy club and those who play for it, hence being here talking about it every day, so it’s only natural for us to feel a form of grief when we hear the news that a young guy at our club who was busting his ass to rebound from a poor year last year has suffered a serious, year-ending injury. Especially after we’d been hearing how well he’d been going.
Those feelings you feel when hearing news like that are known as grief.
“Grieving is an individual process and it is different for everyone”
So anyone telling anyone else how to grieve really needs to pull their head in.
“Everybody reacts to grief differently. Common feelings include:
I’d say most of those emotions have been expressed here since we heard the news. Why? Because we’re experiencing a form of grief.
- sadness
- shock
- denial
- numbness, a sense of unreality
- anger
- guilt
- blame
- relief”
“Every person grieves differently”
It’s not the end of the world, but that doesn’t mean you’re still not better off expressing your grief in your own way than to bottle it up, or pretend it’s not there.
Grief and loss
Grief is a response to losing someone or something important. Find out about grief, how it affects different people, and when and where to get help.www.healthdirect.gov.au
Goes way deeper than that. Started with the 1971 GF. In a low scoring game, 27 points up deep in the 3rd Q. Still 20 points up at ¾ time with Hawthorn kicking 5 goals to that point. They kick 7 in the last with Keddie, unsighted until then, kicking 4 of those. In the days of no interchange it was between Keddie and one other (whose name escapes me) to be replaced. He stays on and the rest is history. We lose prelims in 72 and 73 and spend the next two decades as the laughing stock of the comp.
Fast forward to 1997. Close to unbackable favourites going in we absolutely bottle it. Yes we lost Everett in the qualifying final but they had no Modra and no Riccuito and spent a month of the road after finishing 5th. They had no right to make it let alone win it. Winmar’s dad tragically passing away the night before is no reason for a no name like Ellen kicking five. I can cop 2009 and 2010 as we had a read hot crack but 1997 still burns.
Agree with all that -Ellen kicking 5 is the stuff of nightmaresGoes way deeper than that. Started with the 1971 GF. In a low scoring game, 27 points up deep in the 3rd Q. Still 20 points up at ¾ time with Hawthorn kicking 5 goals to that point. They kick 7 in the last with Keddie, unsighted until then, kicking 4 of those. In the days of no interchange it was between Keddie and one other (whose name escapes me) to be replaced. He stays on and the rest is history. We lose prelims in 72 and 73 and spend the next two decades as the laughing stock of the comp.
Fast forward to 1997. Close to unbackable favourites going in we absolutely bottle it. Yes we lost Everett in the qualifying final but they had no Modra and no Riccuito and spent a month of the road after finishing 5th. They had no right to make it let alone win it. Winmar’s dad tragically passing away the night before is no reason for a no name like Ellen kicking five. I can cop 2009 and 2010 as we had a read hot crack but 1997 still burns.
Nailed it -the move to Seaford players coaches everyone hated it-decision made by Archie Fraser a soccer personWe have had a really ordinary history and most of it's self inflicted through bad management, bad decision makers, being pushed around due to being a small fry etc. It's a lot easier to blame a curse or bad luck than look in the mirror. Saints fans have been conditioned to have a kind of fatalistic belief that even the good times are fleeting moments of joy before the inevitable drop to our knees.
We should have capitalised on the Thommo/Lyon era. We'd set ourselves up off the back of one of our regular tumultuous self implosion events to have one of the strongest win loss records in the competition since the professional era and instead of using it as a springboard to future strength, we sold favourite sons for picks that we turned into poo, we held a media event to re-sign Lyon and sat there with journalists in attendance only to have to tell them he was on his way to Freo to sign with them. We then decided to move from our spiritual home to an amateur looking shithole in the back blocks of Seaford over an argument with some woke council member over some pokies. And I could keep king but I won't we all know the rest.
Realistically we just attract flim-flam men and incompetents and don't have a great ability to filter them due to being already stacked with other equally sh*t operators. The AFL sent in their man in Lethlean and I begrudgingly admit he's made a huge difference to how we operate. I just hope that if we set ourselves up off the back of this we don't find new ways to fall back into bad habits.
Nailed it...We have had a really ordinary history and most of it's self inflicted through bad management, bad decision makers, being pushed around due to being a small fry etc. It's a lot easier to blame a curse or bad luck than look in the mirror. Saints fans have been conditioned to have a kind of fatalistic belief that even the good times are fleeting moments of joy before the inevitable drop to our knees.
We should have capitalised on the Thommo/Lyon era. We'd set ourselves up off the back of one of our regular tumultuous self implosion events to have one of the strongest win loss records in the competition since the professional era and instead of using it as a springboard to future strength, we sold favourite sons for picks that we turned into poo, we held a media event to re-sign Lyon and sat there with journalists in attendance only to have to tell them he was on his way to Freo to sign with them. We then decided to move from our spiritual home to an amateur looking shithole in the back blocks of Seaford over an argument with some woke council member over some pokies. And I could keep king but I won't we all know the rest.
Realistically we just attract flim-flam men and incompetents and don't have a great ability to filter them due to being already stacked with other equally sh*t operators. The AFL sent in their man in Lethlean and I begrudgingly admit he's made a huge difference to how we operate. I just hope that if we set ourselves up off the back of this we don't find new ways to fall back into bad habits.
Goes way deeper than that. Started with the 1971 GF. In a low scoring game, 27 points up deep in the 3rd Q. Still 20 points up at ¾ time with Hawthorn kicking 5 goals to that point. They kick 7 in the last with Keddie, unsighted until then, kicking 4 of those. In the days of no interchange it was between Keddie and one other (whose name escapes me) to be replaced. He stays on and the rest is history. We lose prelims in 72 and 73 and spend the next two decades as the laughing stock of the comp.
And spider doing his collarbone the week beforeApart from Winmar being off his game because of his Dad's passing, Buckets was off his game because of his what his sister's almost passing in the days before the game.
Two very unfortunate events that negatively effected two of our best players.
Hall kicked 3 in 5 minutes and didn't go on with it.Agree with all that -Ellen kicking 5 is the stuff of nightmares
Decision made by the council who wouldn't allow development and the club to keep 81 pokies.Nailed it -the move to Seaford players coaches everyone hated it-decision made by Archie Fraser a soccer person
On the other had despite all the Hawks success from 71-91 they were on deaths door in 5 years time.My Hawks mate read that at 3/4 time in the 1971 GF Saints and Hawks had both only won a single premiership each, since then the Hawks have gone on to win 12 more. One every 4.5 years or something ******* obscene.
On the other had despite all the Hawks success from 71-91 they were on deaths door in 5 years time.
I think we are overdue for a merger game 2.0
On the other had despite all the Hawks success from 71-91 they were on deaths door in 5 years time.
I think we are overdue for a merger game 2.0
Who the hell is that? Lol
Vidovic went down too in the last game of the year against Port Adelaide and he was as big a loss as Spider. He would have atleast split the ruck contests on grand final day rather than relying on Brett Cook!And spider doing his collarbone the week before
Nailed it -the move to Seaford players coaches everyone hated it-decision made by Archie Fraser a soccer person
GOAT material right thereAnd that time he took a year off to go to the Olympics and win 5 gold medals across 4 different sports
Cook was the least of our troubles GF day. In fact his tackle with Burke on McKernan may have got us there in the first place.Vidovic went down too in the last game of the year against Port Adelaide and he was as big a loss as Spider. He would have atleast split the ruck contests on grand final day rather than relying on Brett Cook!