Teams 2022 Rate My Preseason Team

I'm expecting that Jackson will get more ruck time next season... i could be wrong
Jackson getting Ruck time this year didn't affect Maxy too much. Every year people write him off. Every year he's Top 5 and people who didn't start him spend half the year trying to find a way to get him in. Better to start with him and trade if required IMO.

Here's my first swing at it kentlemen.

Screen Shot 2021-12-17 at 3.35.49 pm.png

Def: :padlock:Lloyd and Hall. Hall is underpriced for what he produced from round 7 onwards last season. Seagull gonna seagull. Crisp a watch to see if he plays mid and Whitfield just needs an uninterrupted pre-season to be a lock at that price.

Mid: :padlock: Macrae, Mitchell, Neale. Macrae just too solid to ignore despite the price. Mitchell back to his best post bye is enough for me and Neale is looking fantastic in training and his price is too cheap to ignore. Need to choose 2 out of Miller, Oliver and Steele. Just have to determine who is more likely to be able to be gotten cheapest later in the season. Tempted by Berry but unsure on his ceiling. Can't see him getting to keeper levels but could be a decent stepping stone if he averages 90+.

Rucks: Gotta have Darcy imo if he gets a full pre-season in. Loving what the Big O is doing in training and at that price willing to take the chance on an improvement to 110ish ppm. Hopefully Hayes (and/ or Comben) get some good game time as I do want a bit of cover for Darcy if he misses a week. Grundy the other consideration.

FWD: :padlock: Dunkley, Cognilio. Can't miss out on Dunkley's potential scoring and Cognilio is cheap and can have a 'just ok' year by his standards and still be a keeper. Butters I'm fairly confident on but if TThomas goes crazy in the pre-season, could push his way in.

Rookies are place holders really.

Just on the Lions, Big O and Neale provide some really nice value and I feel good about their SC prospects this year. Both training fantastically well.

Coleman I think plays for us in defence as he did this year but I'm unconvinced on his scoring potential this year.

I can't consider Rayner yet, and I was keen on him last year at over 300k - need to see exactly where he fits into our lineup and how much mid time he looks like getting. Before he got injured it was looking like a fair bit more mid time.

Rich will be reliable but think there are better options with more upside at his price.

Bailey from an SC perspective I don't think represents good value compared to the other options around his price like Butters and Thomas. He could be one that explodes SC wise but you'd be brave to pick him.

Berry has to be looked at. I still don't know what role he'd play in my team but if he goes well in the pre-season matches he's almost a lock.

If the Big O gets injured before round 1, I reckon Fort could be a really decent pick and allows you to go premo somewhere else. Other than that scenario he's irrelevant though.

Think that's all the relevant Lions.

Def 2M with only 1 keeper* who hasn't played in 18 months
Mids 4.8M which includes 2x 200k+ benchies.

Upon reflection ive downgraded Walsh to a rookie and upgraded Thompson to Lloyd. My defence still sucks but i feel its necessary to get everyone i want on other lines. I honestly dont mind having 200k+ benchies if i think they are value. Gives me room to move too if there arent enough cheap rookies (granted usually there are plenty) but also if one of my mid-pricers gets injured or whatever i can drop an expensive rookie or 2 to cheaper players and upgrade the mid-pricer rather than downgrade. Its December though, so im happy to try anything at this stage of the pre season!

I’m not a big fan of Sic he‘s often reported for stupid actions

I've seen people say that before, but how many weeks has he actually missed through suspension over his career? I don't recall many. Anyway, he was just a suggestion, there are other options. The point was starting a rookie at D4 not being a realistic starting strategy based on the last few years.

I don't mind this, although I don't see the 3 on-field Def rookies strategy working out based on the last few years at least. Cripps > Sicily & Clark to M8 would be a better balanced team imo.
Yeah I traditionally start 3 defender rookies on field but it really caught up with me last year. Every week I was staring down the barrel of a donut and my D6 was a nightmare all year.

Here is V2/1000

Still keeping Preuss and replaced Thomas with Gresham +$165k
Replace Whitfield with a rookie and Got Titch in the Midfield

3.JPG
4.JPG

Where can I find this?
G'day mate,
It seems to always want to embed it on BigFooty instead of just displaying the link. Have put a line break in after the /d/, maybe if you copy and paste that bit into a new browser window and copy the second part and paste it in directly after without spaces, it will get you there.
Otherwise WaynesWorld19 do you know the best way to post a gsheet without it auto-embedding?

1LeJwBpYvgB_ZzHXME1vWqxOQ9TMcBo9T3J49mZKp4EI/edit?usp=drivesdk

Edit: OK, that doesn't work either. Christ, it's complicated for a simple gsheet link

I've seen people say that before, but how many weeks has he actually missed through suspension over his career? I don't recall many. Anyway, he was just a suggestion, there are other options. The point was starting a rookie at D4 not being a realistic starting strategy based on the last few years.

Still a kent

G'day mate,
It seems to always want to embed it on BigFooty instead of just displaying the link. Have put a line break in after the /d/, maybe if you copy and paste that bit into a new browser window and copy the second part and paste it in directly after without spaces, it will get you there.
Otherwise WaynesWorld19 do you know the best way to post a gsheet without it auto-embedding?

1LeJwBpYvgB_ZzHXME1vWqxOQ9TMcBo9T3J49mZKp4EI/edit?usp=drivesdk

Edit: OK, that doesn't work either. Christ, it's complicated for a simple gsheet link

I would normally post a "Dropbox" link to a folder containing the file

Yeah I traditionally start 3 defender rookies on field but it really caught up with me last year. Every week I was staring down the barrel of a donut and my D6 was a nightmare all year.

The Def wookies have dropped the last few years ..

Used to be heaps of them .

I don't normally put a post up seeking a pat on the back ......but I am so proud of my efforts this season

At this stage I have a fantastic starting side, all my money has been spent ......and only 2 spots to fill

You might be thinking, what's there to be so proud about .....well last year I had 5 spots to fill & all money spent

I'm really getting the hang of this game now :)

FirstTeamSC2022MkIV.jpg

Preuss at R2 gets me an extra SP mid - Titch. Think I have half of the top ten mids come the end of the season. Plenty of captaincy options.

I'm pretty settled with my first five defenders, I can't see myself changing those unless SPS's preseason form or role are particularly off-putting.

Charlie Curnow is priced at 40. He went 77.4 over 20 games in his third year, as a forward in a terrible team. If he avoids injury I see him averaging at least 80 and making 200k. F6 keeper isn't out of the question, more likely it will cost 100-150k to upgrade him to a top 6 forward.

12 keepers, and then I see Rowell, Cogs and SPS as all having chances of proving to be keepable, with Preuss and Curnow as stepping stones that won't cost much to upgrade to SPs

View attachment 1299361

Preuss at R2 gets me an extra SP mid - Titch. Think I have half of the top ten mids come the end of the season. Plenty of captaincy options.

I'm pretty settled with my first five defenders, I can't see myself changing those unless SPS's preseason form or role are particularly off-putting.

Charlie Curnow is priced at 40. He went 77.4 over 20 games in his third year, as a forward in a terrible team. If he avoids injury I see him averaging at least 80 and making 200k. F6 keeper isn't out of the question, more likely it will cost 100-150k to upgrade him to a top 6 forward.

12 keepers, and then I see Rowell, Cogs and SPS as all having chances of proving to be keepable, with Preuss and Curnow as stepping stones that won't cost much to upgrade to SPs

SPS is a nothing pick at that price. You would be better off going someone like DPP Coleman. Then Curnow to a rookie and Rowell to a premo mid/fwd Duncan/Treloar type