Position 2022 Rookies

If he butchers it that bad again we'll call him Josh Taranto :moustache:

He was a lot better than round 1 though, just needs to tidy up that DE and he'll be fine.
Again it wasn't much of his fault, alot of the options were open.

Had one where he missed Titch but besides that, was good.

It's the thing where he'll get better as he goes on, he's class.

I reckon DE is just about the hardest thing for a AFL player to fix.
Tanks come with pre seasons etc
Taranto will always be a butcher.
You can excuse a kid in his second game though. When he gets more accustomed to the pace of the game he'll improve. At least he's getting the ball. He'll calm down a bit and pick the right option more.

Looking at he and CMac for example, CMac is a dual footed kick and is a good composed player, also by hand. Went at 56%.

Ward was better imo and went at 40%. These things are just adjusting to the pace, both are good kicks, composed and classy players.

Sure.
Taranto is not a shit player by any stretch.
He is a contested beast like Ward will be one day.
I'm just uncertain an uptick in DE is coming.
I think a thirty touch game is more likely and he will tonne up that way.
He is just one of those players that does not score much from each disposal.

Sure.
Taranto is not a shit player by any stretch.
He is a contested beast like Ward will be one day.
I'm just uncertain an uptick in DE is coming.
I think a thirty touch game is more likely and he will tonne up that way.
He is just one of those players that does not score much from each disposal.
Taranto or Ward?

Both.
That is why I compared the two.
So far his one good game of the 4 just gone he had 29 touches for a 120.
20 possession games wont do it.
I think he will have some blinder games and tonne up similar to that game.
Rather than come out and boost his de a substantial amount.
He will be a good get for you guys.
But not so much in his first year. Which is fine.
SC isnt everything.

Both.
That is why I compared the two.
So far his one good game of the 4 just gone he had 29 touches for a 120.
20 possession games wont do it.
I think he will have some blinder games and tonne up similar to that game.
Rather than come out and boost his de a substantial amount.
He will be a good get for you guys.
But not so much in his first year. Which is fine.
SC isnt everything.
Nah mate, just can't agree. Taranto is a genuine butcher on the best of occasions.

Ward is very similar to Walsh, he's pure class, he finds the footy pretty easily (will even more so when he adjusts) he's got a super strong inside game and he's a genuine play maker on the outside, has found some real goal kicking opportunities aswell.

He's actual class by hand and foot, unlike Taranto who's more of a wrecking ball.

Nah mate, just can't agree. Taranto is a genuine butcher on the best of occasions.

Ward is very similar to Walsh, he's pure class, he finds the footy pretty easily (will even more so when he adjusts) he's got a super strong inside game and he's a genuine play maker on the outside, has found some real goal kicking opportunities aswell.

He's actual class by hand and foot, unlike Taranto who's more of a wrecking ball.
He is my m9 I hope you are right mate.
If it came down to to choosing between him and Macdonald one week for on the field it would be Macdonald at this stage.
I feel weird holding an expensive rookie waiting for a good score at m9.
So I will never get the good score.

He is my m9 I hope you are right mate.
If it came down to to choosing between him and Macdonald one week for on the field it would be Macdonald at this stage.
I feel weird holding an expensive rookie waiting for a good score at m9.
So I will never get the good score.
Trade him now and watch him score a ton, just happens that way. Haha

But nah he's building super well, he'll explode in no time.

Trade him now and watch him score a ton, just happens that way. Haha

But nah he's building super well, he'll explode in no time.
Macdonald looks a great round 9-10 downgrade.
I'm very happy with him.
He wont make cash super quick but with 3 trades a week in upgrade season his turn will come.

Macdonald looks a great round 9-10 downgrade.
I'm very happy with him.
He wont make cash super quick but with 3 trades a week in upgrade season his turn will come.
CMac will be consistent but won't have much if any mid time.

Ward is the one tho, he's building and i'm ready, I AM READY.

Martin is a forward who scored 114 in his first game, and no one needs to trade in another forward rookie in.

Hough is mid who scored 47 in his first game, and everyone seems to want to trade in mid's.
No. He was talking about trading Hough for Sinn/NOD

It's interesting that behind the 2 front runner rookies Hayes and Martin I think MacDonald is almost the next best rookie although not highest scoring he seems to have good JS and should make $200k easy. Only 47% of teams have him which is a surprise for a bench option in the mids.
Yep 100%.

Gobsmacked to see teams without him. Of all the cheapies playing in rd1, he was by far the pick of the bunch. I know some teams took one or two high price lads on the bench, but surely nobody took three? MacDonald was a must-have.

Now if you were making a decision between him and DStephens/Xerri/Rachele/Brodie, if you had the cashola, I think you gotta take the higher price boys because of the lower BEs.

Would be a blessing, can trade in Xerri!
I got a feeling North lose by 60 points this weekend and Xerri scores 40-60 against BigO and Fort. Got Sydney and Hickey the week after that.

iirc BigO did a good job at keeping opposition rucks to low-ish scores last year. Unsure if that's continued this year.

I don't have Xerri and I can't get him in, and I'm not happy about it. I think he'll still be a great cash cow despite what I said above. The big appeal with Xerri is if Goldy gets injured, or if North decide to effectively retire him early, Xerri becomes an F6 keeper. I'm very worried not owning him for that reason.

I got a feeling North lose by 60 points this weekend and Xerri scores 40-60 against BigO and Fort. Got Sydney and Hickey the week after that.

iirc BigO did a good job at keeping opposition rucks to low-ish scores last year. Unsure if that's continued this year.

I don't have Xerri and I can't get him in, and I'm not happy about it. I think he'll still be a great cash cow despite what I said above. The big appeal with Xerri is if Goldy gets injured, or if North decide to effectively retire him early, Xerri becomes an F6 keeper. I'm very worried not owning him for that reason.
worried enough to sideways ward to him?

Rd 1: Lycett 73
Rd 2: Draper 98

worried enough to sideways ward to him?
I can't let Ward go, just can't shake the feeling he's going to go bang bang soon with bank-to-back 100s. But that's just a personal gut feel. I also can't afford it, so maybe I haven't even considered because of that reason. Maybe the low BE and big score would entice me.

I would sideways Durdin to Xerri in a heartbeat if I could afford it.

Somebody made a good point the other day about looking at the bigger picture with some of the cash cow correction trades. Some players will make money sooner, but lots of end up around the same spot, so what's a trade worth?

Nope.
I switched crisp into any teams I posted rather than go
Hey folks you should all pick Hall he is super.
And kill my pod.
You cunning little fker

Nah, you don't feel that’s gonna happen, that’s what you want to happen to make yourself feel better 😉

I can't let Ward go, just can't shake the feeling he's going to go bang bang soon with bank-to-back 100s. But that's just a personal gut feel. I also can't afford it, so maybe I haven't even considered because of that reason. Maybe the low BE and big score would entice me.

I would sideways Durdin to Xerri in a heartbeat if I could afford it.

Somebody made a good point the other day about looking at the bigger picture with some of the cash cow correction trades. Some players will make money sooner, but lots of end up around the same spot, so what's a trade worth?
i feel ya with ward. would be an amazing m9/10. i think the fomo around players is crazy. would you still be in the same boat if the player you needed to bring in was brodie and not xerri?

Nah, you don't feel that’s gonna happen, that’s what you want to happen to make yourself feel better 😉
A little bit of that, but I think he won't be coming up against Bailey Williams and a bunch of WAFL players every weekend. His rd1 score, albeit a good one for his price, is more realistic

North fixture:
Lions
Swans
Dogs
Cats
Blues

I'd bet good money Xerri doesn't average 80+ over the next 5 rds. Maybe he doesn't even go 70 or 75.

Again, he's a great cash cow and I wish I had him, but I wouldn't move mountains to get him.