VFL 2022 Sandringham Zebras

Byrnes 25 touches, 9 clearances, 7 tackles - clearly he's going well as an inside mid at VFL level but doesn't seem like he's good enough to play the same role in the AFL. May as well delist him at the end of the year if that's the case, waste of a list spot.

Nah there's a few out:

Coffield
Hannebery
Clark
Geary
Howard
Bytel
Owens
Kent
McKenzie
Hayes

That's 10 who would be good VFL players at the least and a few of them would play seniors and push Windy or Joyce or Highmore or Wood down to the twos to reinforce.
Agree with
Coffield
Clark
Howard
Owens
Dmac
Hayes
For building for the future

Nah there's a few out:

Coffield
Hannebery
Clark
Geary
Howard
Bytel
Owens
Kent

McKenzie
Hayes

That's 10 who would be good VFL players at the least and a few of them would play seniors and push Windy or Joyce or Highmore or Wood down to the twos to reinforce.
Old Mr Two weeks , nah dusted
Gears Done
Kent done
With a few more ifs and buts

Byrnes 25 touches, 9 clearances, 7 tackles - clearly he's going well as an inside mid at VFL level but doesn't seem like he's good enough to play the same role in the AFL. May as well delist him at the end of the year if that's the case, waste of a list spot.
I’m still hopeful he can improve. He’s been consistent at VFL level, and given our lack of depth in the middle, there’s others I’d be moving on before him.

I was about to complain about drafting Matthew Allison in the 2020 draft, but then looked at who was picked after him, and to be honest it was a totally crap pool of players. I haven’t seen a lot of him but for those that have kept a keen eye on sandy, do you think he’s worth persevering with or do we cut our losses and move on from him?

I don't see him playing for the 1st

I think it depends on what position they see him playing in. If it’s as a forward yes of its as something else mqybe not.

From what I’ve seen and heard he’s shown couple of glimpses and not much more. I try to be positive about players but I’m not liking his chances. That’s not to say he’ll be delisted at the end of the year but his time is running out.

If you are talking about Allison, it will be nice payout for him if he is delisted - contracted till the end of 2024

He just doesn’t seem to understand how the game is played. This is surprising given he has come through the system, is from a footballing family and at least one AFL club thought he had enough potential to put him on their list and even extend his contract.

Extremely uninspiring match. Just a few little glimpses throughout the afternoon but no one tore it apart.

The one plus for me was Peris. Not saying he should get a game next week, or even that he’ll make it. But he did catch my eye today. Of course we all know he’s quick as but I was pleasantly impressed by his level of involvement.

Maybe, just maybe, there could be something there.

Allison: so my opinion is he is 6'5", is quick and a nice kick but his footballing skills end there. He basically has zero footballing nous and little courage for that matter. He simply doesnt know how to win his own footy, whether it be in the air or at ground level.

He will be another classic Saints list clogger. Kept on the list for 5 years, then be delisted with zero to 5 games ala the hundreds of other past St Kilda players before him.

Jai Newcome, Patrick Parnell, Max Heath, and Cooper Sharman were available.

O'Driscoll the pick straight after him is mean to be a very highly rated mid at Freo. Poulter looks okay, Gulden, Durdin already established etc.

In regard to Allison, the 2020 draft might end up being one of the all time worst drafts, with many of the first round picks looking like the second rounders in any other draft. I Don't fault Allison or our list management if he doesn't work out - was just a bad year for drafting.

Good year to downgrade our first and trade out a second though.

Reckon they saw enough of Joyce in the 1's last night
He was named at cub before the Freo game started.

Playing as a defender should teach him more how to play team football

He has talent and is a beautiful kick on goal. But he needs to be more than a lead and kick player to play at AFL level.

In regard to Allison, the 2020 draft might end up being one of the all time worst drafts, with many of the first round picks looking like the second rounders in any other draft. I Don't fault Allison or our list management if he doesn't work out - was just a bad year for drafting.

Good year to downgrade our first and trade out a second though.
Also leaving a spot open for the MSD. Highmore, Heath, Coops and Snags is a good outcome.

VFL 2022 Sandringham Zebras