News 2022 St Kilda Media Thread

I think that's a great idea! Just a short cameo of past players.

I'd even expand it to other historical facts as well:

Players (can start with Dave McNamara player/coach/leading goalkicker, the players in our Team of the Centrury, Brownlow's, Coleman's, Captains, Rising Stars etc.)
Staff (Killigrew's influence, Jeans, Johnny Beveridge etc.)
Creation
Home grounds
Guernseys
Logos (seagulls, stickman etc.)

Endless short videos. Celebrate, laugh and cry at our history. I'm sure the club is good at these things, but I wouldn't say that it's "visible" to the fans. A few pages on the web is great, but the little kids at the footy would take in a lot more from short videos week after week. I still remember ALL the advertising jingles from when I was a kid at the footy, it's ridiculous. DELTA! Car and truck rentals, just call 13 13 90, DELTA! Imagine if that crap had been replaced with something useful haha! Watching the history of our club would almost be hypnotic I reckon. Whenever there is fun there's always Coca-Cola, yeah. Sorry... a sponge I tells ya!

Not enough love for this man. Been lucky enough to hang out with him a few times. A real gentleman. Then you look at twits like De Goey and see the rapid decline of our species.

Do we celebrate our people enough? Do we educate our children about our stars of yesteryear? I don't know. Maybe before home matches and/or at half time there could be a different history lesson on the big screens... celebrate a past star/staff each time.

His son had bit of a reputation when I was a kid and I reckon if those party days were scrutinised like today's players are he'd have looked like JDG.

I don't know heaps about Neil but he seems like a very gentlemanly type from what I have seen of him in the media.

His son had bit of a reputation when I was a kid and I reckon if those party days were scrutinised like today's players are he'd have looked like JDG.

I don't know heaps about Neil but he seems like a very gentlemanly type from what I have seen of him in the media.
I threw his younger son over the fence when tackling him in a house game at MHS in the late 70's. Somehow I was sent off for
10 minutes for this. Still pissed about that.

Spud’s Game 2022: Stan Alves on grief as Danny Frawley remembered as key mental health advocate​

Consumed by grief after the death of his son, Stan Alves says he was “living a charade”. Before this year’s Spud’s Game, he bravely speaks of his grief and how footy saved him.

Stan Alves’ life had become a “charade”.
Danny Frawley’s former coach Alves returned to Moorabbin this week to address the playing group, for the first time since he departed the helm in 1998.

You could have heard a pin drop as players, staff and Frawley’s daughter Chelsea heard his story of heartbreak, harrowing grief, hauling himself back from the brink and just how Frawley had opened his eyes to his own players and their battles.

Alves, a Melbourne champion, lost his son Matthew — who was just 13 — in 1989 when he was hit and killed by a train while riding his bike.

Grief consumed him.

“All my strengths evaporated. All of my things that I thought were good went out the door … but I was a brilliant actor,” Alves told the Saints.

“In front of other people, it was ‘how good is he handling it?’.

“But I’d go to work, I’d close the door and I’d bawl my eyes out.

“I was living a charade.”

Alves considered taking his own life in a battle with darkness that lasted months.

“I got to the point where I thought ‘the only way I can fix this situation is to join my son’, and I found myself standing by a river out near Seymour thinking ‘this is the way to go’.

“Lucky for me, somebody came around the corner at that point of time and made me step back and I got in my car and I drove home,” he said, the feeling lasting months.

When Peter Hudson rang about joining Ken Sheldon in a role at the Saints, Alves initially told him to “nick off”.

But Hudson was insistent, rallying Alves to do it for his wife Judy and their daughter, telling him he could turn up whenever and that his family would be catered for at games and functions. A purpose.

“I didn’t just get back into football,” Alves recalled.

“I got back into life.

“(They) brought me into the St Kilda family … brought me back and gave me a meaning.

“They (the players) were my sons. I lost my son, but I got a family back because of St Kilda footy club.”

Judy became vital, working with the AFL herself to facilitate players’ families to be able to sit together at games, join in at functions and be part of the club.

It was a cause Brown said was heavily supported by Anita Frawley, as Danny worked closely with Alves to bring talking to the fore, to be as important as training.

“He looked after his teammates,” Alves said.

“When a youngster came in, Danny put his arm around him.

“Danny created great relationships with the other players. Things that even players wouldn’t know about … how Danny would come to me and say ‘you better take this player out for a coffee’. You need to have a chat. But he’d say ‘don’t you ever tell him that I told you!’.

“He was a relationship builder. That’s why he could ask something of somebody.

“He set a standard … for others to follow him.”

Alves said relationships had not only defined Frawley’s impact at the club, but were a reminder of his legacy and to current players.

“Relationships will get you through tough times,” he said.

“But the great thing is, getting through the great times with great relationships, you enjoy the highs. Because you know that you were part of it.”

THE MENTAL GAME

Current Saint Tim Membrey can’t believe how far the game has changed on mental health.

Full-time club psychologist Ben Robbins has emphasised meditation and mindfulness at St Kilda, while Membrey – who has seen first-hand the impact of mental health within his own family – says treating mental issues like injuries in a “safe environment” has only normalised tough conversations in the locker room.

Becoming a dad to Wren, who turns one this week, has also changed his perspective on the importance of seeking help and talking to mates when you need it.

Ruckman Paddy Ryder and midfielder Zak Jones – who will return for Spud’s Game – are two Saints who have taken time away from the game to deal with mental health issues in recent months, which Membrey said was a sign “it’s come a long way”.

“Jonesy was struggling at the start of the year and for him to reach out and get some help, it was like an injury,” he told the Herald Sun.

“If you have a tight calf or hamstring, you go and see the physio to get it fixed. It’s a similar thing to if you’re struggling, you go and see the psychologist.

“For us as players, we just want to have the tools to know what to say or how we can help.

“Often, you want to help so much but you don’t want everyone (all over them). But we do a lot of work in that, if someone is struggling, how to ask the right questions and what to do and what to say.

“For Jonesy to come back the way he has – he’s fit and healthy and back around the club. We love having him there and it’s good that we’re all mature enough to give him his space if he needs it, but at the same time support him when he needs it too.

“You don’t know who it’s going to be next, you know.”

SHARING THE LOAD

FORMER Saint Tony Brown thinks of Frawley every time he fires up the barbecue.

When he opens the hood and the charcoal from the last cook-up greets him, it’s a moment that still brings a smirk to Brown’s face.

The barbecue had been a central element to Brown’s induction at St Kilda at the end of 1994, with then-captain Frawley – the renowned “relationship builder” – having led the charge to show new players the ropes.

He recalls one of the Moorabbin champion’s many trademarks.

“We went up to Hamilton Island many years ago, and Spud and Anita and their girls were up there,” Brown recalled this week.

“They invited us around for a barbecue, and I still remember him saying that he never cleaned the barbie afterwards – he always cleaned it before he was going to use it again.

“It’s funny what you remember.”

It’s a habit that has crept into Brown’s own barbie routine to this day.

“Spot on (I do it),” he laughed.

Brown and good mates Austinn Jones and Joel Smith found that out the hard way, with Brown’s sense of punctuality another hallmark of his time spent with Spud.

“He was putting on a do on a Sunday afternoon … we turned up late and he had a crack at us, like ‘if we’re going to put a barbecue on for the players, you don’t just rock up whenever you want – it’s not good enough’,” Brown said.

“He pulled us into line from day one, and really set the tone.

“After that, we were there with plenty of time to spare. Whether it was dinners or the footy trip in our first year to Cairns, Spud was leading the charge.

“He just loved bringing people together and would always be the life of the party. If you gave him any feedback, he would shoot it straight back at you and cut you off at the knees if you were speaking out of turn.”

Matthew Richardson on Spud's Game

Spud’s Game 2022: Stan Alves on grief as Danny Frawley remembered as key mental health advocate​

Consumed by grief after the death of his son, Stan Alves says he was “living a charade”. Before this year’s Spud’s Game, he bravely speaks of his grief and how footy saved him.

Stan Alves’ life had become a “charade”.
Danny Frawley’s former coach Alves returned to Moorabbin this week to address the playing group, for the first time since he departed the helm in 1998.

You could have heard a pin drop as players, staff and Frawley’s daughter Chelsea heard his story of heartbreak, harrowing grief, hauling himself back from the brink and just how Frawley had opened his eyes to his own players and their battles.

Alves, a Melbourne champion, lost his son Matthew — who was just 13 — in 1989 when he was hit and killed by a train while riding his bike.

Grief consumed him.

“All my strengths evaporated. All of my things that I thought were good went out the door … but I was a brilliant actor,” Alves told the Saints.

“In front of other people, it was ‘how good is he handling it?’.

“But I’d go to work, I’d close the door and I’d bawl my eyes out.

“I was living a charade.”

Alves considered taking his own life in a battle with darkness that lasted months.

“I got to the point where I thought ‘the only way I can fix this situation is to join my son’, and I found myself standing by a river out near Seymour thinking ‘this is the way to go’.

“Lucky for me, somebody came around the corner at that point of time and made me step back and I got in my car and I drove home,” he said, the feeling lasting months.

When Peter Hudson rang about joining Ken Sheldon in a role at the Saints, Alves initially told him to “nick off”.

But Hudson was insistent, rallying Alves to do it for his wife Judy and their daughter, telling him he could turn up whenever and that his family would be catered for at games and functions. A purpose.

“I didn’t just get back into football,” Alves recalled.

“I got back into life.

“(They) brought me into the St Kilda family … brought me back and gave me a meaning.

“They (the players) were my sons. I lost my son, but I got a family back because of St Kilda footy club.”

Judy became vital, working with the AFL herself to facilitate players’ families to be able to sit together at games, join in at functions and be part of the club.

It was a cause Brown said was heavily supported by Anita Frawley, as Danny worked closely with Alves to bring talking to the fore, to be as important as training.

“He looked after his teammates,” Alves said.

“When a youngster came in, Danny put his arm around him.

“Danny created great relationships with the other players. Things that even players wouldn’t know about … how Danny would come to me and say ‘you better take this player out for a coffee’. You need to have a chat. But he’d say ‘don’t you ever tell him that I told you!’.

“He was a relationship builder. That’s why he could ask something of somebody.

“He set a standard … for others to follow him.”

Alves said relationships had not only defined Frawley’s impact at the club, but were a reminder of his legacy and to current players.

“Relationships will get you through tough times,” he said.

“But the great thing is, getting through the great times with great relationships, you enjoy the highs. Because you know that you were part of it.”

THE MENTAL GAME

Current Saint Tim Membrey can’t believe how far the game has changed on mental health.

Full-time club psychologist Ben Robbins has emphasised meditation and mindfulness at St Kilda, while Membrey – who has seen first-hand the impact of mental health within his own family – says treating mental issues like injuries in a “safe environment” has only normalised tough conversations in the locker room.

Becoming a dad to Wren, who turns one this week, has also changed his perspective on the importance of seeking help and talking to mates when you need it.

Ruckman Paddy Ryder and midfielder Zak Jones – who will return for Spud’s Game – are two Saints who have taken time away from the game to deal with mental health issues in recent months, which Membrey said was a sign “it’s come a long way”.

“Jonesy was struggling at the start of the year and for him to reach out and get some help, it was like an injury,” he told the Herald Sun.

“If you have a tight calf or hamstring, you go and see the physio to get it fixed. It’s a similar thing to if you’re struggling, you go and see the psychologist.

“For us as players, we just want to have the tools to know what to say or how we can help.

“Often, you want to help so much but you don’t want everyone (all over them). But we do a lot of work in that, if someone is struggling, how to ask the right questions and what to do and what to say.

“For Jonesy to come back the way he has – he’s fit and healthy and back around the club. We love having him there and it’s good that we’re all mature enough to give him his space if he needs it, but at the same time support him when he needs it too.

“You don’t know who it’s going to be next, you know.”

SHARING THE LOAD

FORMER Saint Tony Brown thinks of Frawley every time he fires up the barbecue.

When he opens the hood and the charcoal from the last cook-up greets him, it’s a moment that still brings a smirk to Brown’s face.

The barbecue had been a central element to Brown’s induction at St Kilda at the end of 1994, with then-captain Frawley – the renowned “relationship builder” – having led the charge to show new players the ropes.

He recalls one of the Moorabbin champion’s many trademarks.

“We went up to Hamilton Island many years ago, and Spud and Anita and their girls were up there,” Brown recalled this week.

“They invited us around for a barbecue, and I still remember him saying that he never cleaned the barbie afterwards – he always cleaned it before he was going to use it again.

“It’s funny what you remember.”

It’s a habit that has crept into Brown’s own barbie routine to this day.

“Spot on (I do it),” he laughed.

Brown and good mates Austinn Jones and Joel Smith found that out the hard way, with Brown’s sense of punctuality another hallmark of his time spent with Spud.

“He was putting on a do on a Sunday afternoon … we turned up late and he had a crack at us, like ‘if we’re going to put a barbecue on for the players, you don’t just rock up whenever you want – it’s not good enough’,” Brown said.

“He pulled us into line from day one, and really set the tone.

“After that, we were there with plenty of time to spare. Whether it was dinners or the footy trip in our first year to Cairns, Spud was leading the charge.

“He just loved bringing people together and would always be the life of the party. If you gave him any feedback, he would shoot it straight back at you and cut you off at the knees if you were speaking out of turn.”

If youve never read Stans book it is an incredible read. I know Stan (and knew Matthew) and the family. Hes a brilliant man.

Jack Billings has been nominated for Goal of the Year.

You can vote for him here - Goal of the Year - AFL.com.au

What’s the minimum number of goals to be kicked to qualify for GOTY?
Answer: One.

Billings meets the requirement with his unique and lonely goal for 2022.
Yay.
Second nomination for the year I think.
Got one for the goal off Ryder’s tap work against I can’t remember who.

You missed the sarcasm.
😧
confused laura dern GIF by EditingAndLayout

Jordan De Goey future: St Kilda coach Brett Ratten says club has discussed Collingwood free agent​

St Kilda coach Brett Ratten has revealed the club has discussed the merits of recruiting Jordan De Goey and the criteria it would need the Magpies free agent to meet.

Russell GouldRussell Gould
Follow

@gouldynews

7 min read
June 22, 2022 - 12:58PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

237 comments

01:22
De Goey set to meet Magpies officials after Bali trip

AFL: Jordan Lewis and Leigh Montagna believe Jordan De Goey could be skating on thin ice following his holiday to Bali.

AFL

Don't miss out on the headlines from AFL. Followed categories will be added to My News.
Follow
St Kilda coach Brett Ratten admits the Saints have discussed the prospect of recruiting Jordan De Goey but says they will look at “all the evidence” around his off-field indiscretions before making a play for the off-contract star.
The Saints were linked heavily to DeGoey in the wake of the Magpies pulling a four-year, $3.2 million deal off the table following his behaviour on mid-season trip to Bali which resulted in the club imposing a suspended $25,000 fine.
Watch every blockbuster AFL match this weekend Live & Ad-Break Free In-Play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

Would you like Jordan De Goey at the club you support?​

Yes
34 %

No
66 %
1668 votes

While St Kilda officials were adamant no formal offer had been put to DeGoey, who is out of contract at the end of this season and with Collingwood parking talks on a new deal, Ratten said his club would do “homework” on any free agent who was potentially available.
Ratten was conscious any new player would have to fit in with the “culture” he and the coaching staff were trying to develop at St Kilda.
“We‘d have to do our homework and have a look at exactly what has happened and take all the evidence because as you do when you bring in any player, especially opponents from another club,” Ratten said on Wednesday.
“You’re looking at the on field performance, and you’re looking at what you’re trying to build as a football club and culture and that as well. So we take in both sides of the equation, and then we make decisions around there and all those free agents will be singled out and sort of maybe targeting one or two, if it’s possible.
“We do assess everything they do on and off the field.”
St Kilda has discussed the prospect of recruiting [PLAYERCARD]Jordan De Goey[/PLAYERCARD].

St Kilda has discussed the prospect of recruiting Jordan De Goey.
Ratten deferred any potential decision to the club’s list manager, James Gallagher, but confirmed DeGoey’s name had been “brought up”.

“Our club looks at all free agents in the competition. He’s one of those but you know, that’s more of a question for at least management and what we do as a club going forward,” Ratten said.
“So yeah, he’s a name that’s been brought up, as has probably 15 others, maybe 20 others that are out (of contract). We look at everyone that is there as a free agent.”
Ratten said while the focus this week has been on AFL players for their behaviour when it comes to social media, after Magpies Jack Ginnivan and Issac Quaynor were also cautioned, was a lesson for everyone about what isn’t acceptable.
“I think it‘s a constant reminder for everybody. I don’t think it’s just about players. I think it’s a sign you’re not allowed to just throw things willy nilly out there and be disrespectful to people and things like that,” he said.
“It doesn’t matter if you play AFL work at the bank or a schoolteacher or just a mum at home. You don’t get the right to do that. And that’s the biggest message … to the broader community about how we respect people.”

EX-SAINTS COACH URGES CLUB TO CHASE DE GOEY

Jon Ralph
Former St Kilda coach Grant Thomas says the Saints would be “derelict in their duty” not to make a massive play for Jordan De Goey as Collingwood officially withdrew a contract offer for the wayward star.
The Pies are meeting with De Goey on Monday afternoon for high-level talks after his nightclub antics threw a further cloud over his Collingwood future.
De Goey jetted back into Melbourne on Sunday but missed training on Monday ahead of a potential punishment from the club over his antics.
Watch every blockbuster AFL match this weekend Live & Ad-Break Free In-Play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >
The Herald Sun reported on Monday the Pies could be prepared to defer contract talks with De Goey to ensure he proved he could behave in coming months ahead of a deal to sacrifice his free agency.
But it is understood that deal had already been taken off the table over the weekend.
That deal was for two seasons plus a trigger for an extra two years.
As those talks dragged on it seemed likely on Monday that no resolution would take place until Tuesday.
Collingwood has withdrawn its contract offer to [PLAYERCARD]Jordan De Goey[/PLAYERCARD].

Collingwood has withdrawn its contract offer to Jordan De Goey.
Former St Kilda coach Grant Thomas told the Herald Sun on Monday the Saints had to launch a bid for De Goey given he had done little wrong.
St Kilda is leading the chasing pack of clubs and would need to offer a long-term deal of up to five years.
But the Saints are yet to lodge any formal offer for the star midfielder as they assess the free agency landscape in the next 12 weeks.
Broadcaster Gerard Whateley labelled De Goey “unrecruitable” on Monday but Thomas said that was incorrect.
Thomas said De Goey was no choirboy but didn’t need to be given the club’s leadership could knock off his rough edges.
“There is nothing dangerous about Jordan,” he told the Herald Sun.
“If he has the right structure around him, the right management, the right leadership, the right development, he will turn out to be the perfect human being we all wish all of our sports heroes were.
“(St Kilda) would be derelict in their duty if they didn’t (try to recruit him). We don’t have the luxury of being able to draft the best players recently. We have been going to the well of other clubs and grabbing players. Some have worked OK, some not so good. De Goey is a proven performer in the top echelon of AFL players. Of course you would get him and back your system in.”
“There are so many scallywags in the AFL we don’t even hear about or know about. That is because the club covers it up. Jordan is not on his own
“He is in a pretty big group out of 850 odd AFL players. Jordan De Goey is not the only naughty boy. It’s like the classroom. 10 per cent studious nerds, 70 per cent who sat there and got along and the blokes like me up the back causing havoc.”
Grant Thomas believes the Saints should get themselves in the race for [PLAYERCARD]Jordan De Goey[/PLAYERCARD]. Picture: Michael Klein

Grant Thomas believes the Saints should get themselves in the race for Jordan De Goey. Picture: Michael Klein
De Goey was expected to face the music at Magpies headquarters, after landing back in Melbourne on Sunday night.
However, the 26-year-old did not arrive alongside teammates, who returned to the club after their bye weekend.
Collingwood officials have said De Goey won’t be returning to training until Wednesday. Most teammates brushed off the waiting media pack as they arrived at the club, but Collingwood defender Jeremy Howe said he had spoken to De Goey.
“It’s just support for him, as a teammate, you’ve still got to be there for him” Howe said.
“As a club we’ll just deal with it when Jordy comes in.”
The rest of the Magpies’ squad had a light training run on Monday afternoon.
Collingwood, which sits ninth on the ladder, will face off with Greater Western Sydney at the MCG on Sunday.
Hawthorn premiership captain Luke Hodge said on Monday the Pies could not penalise De Goey but should remind him of his obligations to the club.
“It would be a discussion to Jordan about putting yourself in a position not to get filmed,” he told SEN.
[PLAYERCARD]Jordan De Goey[/PLAYERCARD] could face the Pies’ music. Picture: Getty Images

Jordan De Goey could face the Pies’ music. Picture: Getty Images
“Make a decision on where you go next break, don’t go to a place you know there will be 1000 cameras waiting for you to make one slip up. That is what the discussion will be. I don’t think they can punish him unless they told him not to go to a nightclub
“He hasn’t done anything for them to come down hard apart from bringing unwanted media attention but it wasn’t his fault. Someone filmed him and sent it back to the papers.
“That is today’s generation. You haven’t been somewhere if you haven’t put it on Instagram or Snapchat. If you went to Bali and didn’t post on it, who said you were there?”
“They may not let him go next time but as far as what he has done it is nothing wrong, he was out there doing what every other player has done but it’s a story because of what he has done in the past and the club he plays for.”

Where’s Jordy?

—Chris Cavanagh
Collingwood star Jordan De Goey has been unsighted at Olympic Park this morning and is expected to miss the club’s afternoon training session.
The Magpies play GWS on Sunday.
While his teammates returned from their bye break today, De Goey isn’t expected back at the club until Wednesday following his controversial mid-season trip to Bali.
De Goey was set to face the music at Magpies headquarters on Monday, after reportedly landing back in Melbourne on Sunday night.
However, the 26-year-old did not arrive alongside teammates, who returned to the club after their bye weekend.
Teammates brushed off a waiting media pack as they arrived at the club, unwilling to talk about De Goey’s situation.
The Magpies are set to hit the training track at 2pm.
[PLAYERCARD]Jordan De Goey[/PLAYERCARD] was not at Collingwood training on Monday. Picture: Getty Images

Jordan De Goey was not at Collingwood training on Monday. Picture: Getty Images
Hawthorn premiership captain Luke Hodge said on Monday the Pies could not penalise De Goey but should remind him of his obligations to the club.
“It would be a discussion to Jordan about putting yourself in a position not to get filmed,” he told SEN.
“Make a decision on where you go next break, don’t go to a place you know there will be 1000 cameras waiting for you to make one slip up. That is what the discussion will be. I don’t think they can punish him unless they told him not to go to a nightclub
“He hasn’t done anything for them to come down hard apart from bringing unwanted media attention but it wasn’t his fault. Someone filmed him and sent it back to the papers.

More Coverage​

Fixture sneak peek hints at epic season finishThe Tackle: Don’t play the victim card, Jordan‘Be decisive’: Pies consultant’s big call on De Goey antics
“That is today’s generation. You haven’t been somewhere if you haven’t put it on Instagram or Snapchat. If you went to Bali and didn’t post on it, who said you were there?”
“They may not let him go next time but as far as what he has done it is nothing wrong, he was out there doing what every other player has done but it’s a story because of what he has done in the pas

News 2022 St Kilda Media Thread