2023/2024 Gold Coast Draft & Trade periods

I don't really rate this Weller is terrible narrative that has emerged more recently.

7th in our B+F last year.

Is a lovely kick, looks to move the ball forward and play attacking football.
Leg speed, which we generally lack.

Should play half forward when he comes back IMO.
Would have ultimate faith in him hitting a Ben King lead, can also kick a long goal.

Not sure anything more than a cameo in the middle is his go - but I definitely think he is clear best 22.

Problem is we have paid him like he a star of the comp and not just as a best 22 player.

I don't really rate this Weller is terrible narrative that has emerged more recently.

7th in our B+F last year.

Is a lovely kick, looks to move the ball forward and play attacking football.
Leg speed, which we generally lack.

Should play half forward when he comes back IMO.
Would have ultimate faith in him hitting a Ben King lead, can also kick a long goal.

Not sure anything more than a cameo in the middle is his go - but I definitely think he is clear best 22.
I don't think it's so much of a 'weller is terrible' narrative.

but he has, both statistically and observably decreased his output the last 2 years. He wasn't Gary Ablett or Fyfe, or Martin when he received his big pay packet from us. He hasn't brought a whole bunch of interest to AFL on the Gold Coast - other than a fair bit of negative press for how much he cost us financially and draft wise, which was absolutely overs (Brayshaw, who is an absolute beast of a midfielder with a massive work ethic and a lot of loyalty would have been so good for us), so being a highly paid AFL ambassador just doesn't make a lot of sense as it stands right now.

7th in the B&F as a best ever finish for a guy who is on supposedly 600k from us + 200k of ambassador money is pretty average. how many other guys in the AFL would be on more than 700k a year and not in the top 5 of their clubs b&f every year? I can only think of 1 off the top of my head, and that's Jack Martin...

I'm yet to see him improve an area of his game he was weak on is my biggest issue. His contested ball winning has decreased the last couple of years, and his actual defensive work is still pretty shit. meaning realistically if we want to continue to build with him in the team, he needs to make the wing or half forward his spot and frankly Sharp has shown a massive jump in one off season, so it stands to reason that he would be able to do so again next year. Weller this year as a 25 year old was only barely ahead of Sharp https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy...2=24&type=A&pid1=4047&pid2=6757&fid1=S&fid2=S

I really like him, his ball use and speed are really useful when utilised, but he absolutely needs to improve if we as a team are to improve and I'm just yet to see that drive to do everything you can to improve that you see in guys like Touk, Collins, Rowell, Powell etc.

We're not Geelong, Melbourne, Brisbane or Port. We can't look at our list right now and say 'yeah only a few need to improve for us to make finals or challenge for a premiership'. We need to see improvement from pretty much every player but Touk, and we just haven't seen that yet from Weller.

That's my issue.

So is our list manager waiting for our boys to finish their 2 week quarantine before delisting them? Haha

Seems Sam Day, Lachie Weller still waiting on a contract still

So is our list manager waiting for our boys to finish their 2 week quarantine before delisting them? Haha

Seems Sam Day, Lachie Weller still waiting on a contract still
Weller isn't out of contract until end of next year.

How can Carlton seem to be able to attract gun players every year and facilitate $$$$$. If the reports are correct about Cerra. Interesting. They will be on the rise next year. Bound to end up with Clarko as their coach as well. Yes I am salty.

Reckon you need to throw up your first draft pick , maybe throw in someone dispensible that may have some currency like Brodie or Rosa as steak knives and see what comes up

:)
If we have to deal with Freo they would want Miller Anderson and our first pick

They are in Victoria

Time for an AFL investigation into where the Carlton money is coming from.

Jack Martin’s contract was reportedly $1 mil in both 2020 & 2021. Heavily front ended to ensure we couldn’t re-draft him in the PSD.
Talk about gold. With Covid cuts he lost reportedly $250k +.
As for his output this year. 11 games ave 13 disp a game and total 8 goals.
That’s $125,000 per goal - more than what Messi gets per goal!!!
it now drops to $1.1m spread over 3 years. Bit of cap space there.

Money ball

Nick Hind I agree with… but 2m Peter has had two games out of 20 where he has gun up front… Bulldogs 7 goals against Josh Schale and Pies 4 goals against Jordan Roughead. 29 goals across 20 games is 1.5 rounded up a game. Still to inconsistent for me.

Could agrue… Markov, Witts, Greenwood have been moneyball pick ups for us over time

We can give Weller back for Brayshaw?

Maybe Weller could head back across

Edit - jinx
I should give you both days off for even suggesting that. Good god.

Jack Martin’s contract was reportedly $1 mil in both 2020 & 2021. Heavily front ended to ensure we couldn’t re-draft him in the PSD.
Talk about gold. With Covid cuts he lost reportedly $250k +.
As for his output this year. 11 games ave 13 disp a game and total 8 goals.
That’s $125,000 per goal - more than what Messi gets per goal!!!

it now drops to $1.1m spread over 3 years. Bit of cap space there.

The amount of shit we copped for this in the last year. The amount of fights our supporters had to have with Carlton flogs, that we were being fleeced and Martin was a "steal" and we were a rabble of a club for letting it happen...

Jack Martin and Carlton can both sit and ****ing rotate on that.

The good news is those paper bags you love so much can double as a mask of shame

Not really about attracting him... He would probably go to any vic club if they could afford him/had draft capital.

Not exactly sure how Carlton can afford him.

but his main priority is to go home for family reasons.

Not really about attracting him... He would probably go to any vic club if they could afford him/had draft capital.

Not exactly sure how Carlton can afford him.

but his main priority is to go home for family reasons.
The whole family reasons is such a cop out, especially when they nominate a club. AFL has to see through this tissue paper

Richmond were originally interested but they are going to the draft

He didnt have many options. Was carlton or staying at freo.