Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

We’ll need someone coming through with some real pace, agility and a leap. There’s two apparent standout young KPD’s in the draft - O’Sullivan (198cm) and Murphy (200cm). Both are rated between 6 - 15 in power rankings and phantoms. Both Vic boys with impressive highlight vids.

Would be great to add one of them to our list but going to be hard. Murphy will likely be gone by our second pick (15). I suspect Taylor is going to try and move that pick up as early as he can.

O’Sullivan looks a ripper.
I'm with you on this, haven't looked as closely at those two yet but what I've seen of O'Sullivan looks fantastic.

Also need to consider what we can pry away from Sydney/Port for Brodie.

Was perfect 2 years ago for the role. Now he looks our best forward and the other options are ******* grim. He has looked better as a forward than ever as a defender imo. Far more natural

I really rate him as a defender.

Forward he shows promise, but we'll see how that lasts - he would not be the first good quality defender to have some initial success up forward then max out as a 30-35 goal a year player (not that you don't want one of those).

I really rate him as a defender.

Forward he shows promise, but we'll see how that lasts - he would not be the first good quality defender to have some initial success up forward then max out as a 30-35 goal a year player (not that you don't want one of those).
Hasn't played well in defence for a while now.

Gawn and May will decline next year with age (they already have this year, still quality but neither are at AA level), our key forward stocks will be no better than this year - we will be competitive and should finish top 6 but I don't think we'll be a genuine chance to contend.

It feels this year is our best chance at another flag, but it's on the edge.

Need to hit the draft to sustain success (let's define this as making finals consistently) over the next 5-10 years.
Yeh I feel like the draft is the right way to go this year. All depends on which players are actually available to trade for but sureing up with some high end youth while we can feels like a good option this year.

We’ve tried using different players to address our forward 50 issues but to me it seems the issue is our method and we’d be better off trying to adjust that.

Was perfect 2 years ago for the role. Now he looks our best forward and the other options are ******* grim. He has looked better as a forward than ever as a defender imo. Far more natural

Yeah agree, was playing devils advocate really. It's easier to find donkeys to negate than fjnd key forwards, so I'm all aboard the Petty forward bandwagon.

Yeh I feel like the draft is the right way to go this year. All depends on which players are actually available to trade for but sureing up with some high end youth while we can feels like a good option this year.

We’ve tried using different players to address our forward 50 issues but to me it seems the issue is our method and we’d be better off trying to adjust that.
Feels like we've got some really promising players recently with 2nd round type picks, so the ability for us to have a range of picks from 5-35 (4 in that bracket) is pretty exciting for one intake.

We're never gonna have brisbanes level

Maybe not but we can and must improve our dangerousness around goal significantly. We need upgrades on at least two of Chandler/ANB/Spargo and better hope Kozzy finds more consistency. Another year like this one and he could become trade bait. His 2023 has been a failure for mine. Has looked like a headless chook in a lot of games.

Depends on who gets to news, because i hadn't heard yet. News is relative to when you hear it. So i'm thankful that A11dAtP0w3R unlike you contributed some useful information to this discussion

Hope we take Caddy at our first pick. Mini Charlie Curnow to come in. (Caddy is 1cm taller than Curnow was in his draft year).

Jefferson gives me Hipwood vibes. Yes I think we can play JvR, Jefferson and Caddy in same forwardline. No diff or Hawkins, Cameron and Rohan.

One will either be suspended, injured, out of form in the 2s, playing as backup ruck or on the bench most of the time anyway.

Petty can go back to the backline.

I think May might have more than 2 years but it won't be as the last line goal saving defender. Gonna have to ease his importance by giving him a more intercepting role.
I agree with this.

I reckon he has 3 years left. I feel if he can go through pre season injury free he could get back to his AA best. Plus he has still been a very good player it is just he is being judged on an unsustainable high output

This forward line needs another wizard.

I’d rather grab him along with multiple other early draft picks instead of spending the lot on Harley Reid.
Yeh Watson could drop to our pick due to concerns about his height, sounds like he could be a good get. if he doesn't reach us then it should mean one of the other highly rated guys will be there for us. so I think we keep our current pick and try and get another one in the top 10 as well