Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

I think he can be a really good pickup for someone.

Only 27 and clearly just needs a fresh start - not sure what the go with him missing so much footy for personal reasons is this year but his head just isn't in it.

Can play half forward, can play on ball, can play as a tagger, likes a goal, strong over the ball and can take a mark. This year is the real outlier in his form over the last 5 years or so.

Cant get out of a jog anymore and his agility looks shot, thats his problem. So ****ing slow.

Cant get out of a jog anymore and his agility looks shot, thats his problem. So ******* slow.
This year, definitely

But in previous years he's always had a decent burst of pace.

Melksham could barely move for 3 or 4 years there then came back at 33 or whatever and was moving better than he ever had.

It's not like Harmes has had a mountain of injuries - I think he just hasn't been committed to staying on top of everything you need to do to be an elite footballer this year. Not passing any judgement, he probably just has a load of shit going on in his life/isn't super happy at the footy club for whatever reason, it happens.

If I was another club looking for a mid rotation I'd definitely ask the question.

That being said, once academy/FS picks happen, it'll be about the same as the pick 27 we paid last year.

One on hand, he's a year older, but on the other, there's one year less of that bloated contract, so probably makes sense.
Don't forget he came too us with injury concerns. He doesn't have them anymore so that offsets the year older imo

so Sydney is the likely spot for Grundy. They have pick 11 and pick 22. We won't get pick 11 (even if we pay the whole salary) so a straight swap with pick 22 seems likely. That would leave us with pick 5,15, 22, 24, 34. I reckon we just take that to the draft and pick 5 kids in the top 35. What a great way to sure up the future before tassie come.

Apparently Bulldogs the leaders to get Gold Coast pick 4. We should try swap 5 for 4 offer them a later pick to make up points, gets us ahead to snag a player we may have really wanted ahead of them. We still have 15, 24 to still move up if looking at someone else.

If they want 4 so badly and are willing to offer more than us to get it I doubt they trade back to 5 with us. They likely have their heart set on someone.

I assume it’s trade with GC first,then GC do basically the same trade with bulldogs they would have for 4.

Actually a good idea.

Caddy dropped a few marks he would normally take, and his set shot kicking was a bit wayward, however this was still an impressive performance. At times he seemed to be waging a one man battle against the Dragons defense, with his teammates targeting him practically every time they went forward.

To tell them to get Fd
So rather than this nonsense it's more likely Port told Grundy he'd have to take a pay cut to join them seeing as they are taking Ratugolea and Zerk Thatcher to go with Sweet. That's gotta be a million of salary cap right there.

There’s been some commentary that Grundy enquired about life balance and that type of thing.

Sounds like Sydney pitched him a stronger sell on what life outside of football could look like if he went to the Swans.

There’s been some commentary that Grundy enquired about life balance and that type of thing.

Sounds like Sydney pitched him a stronger sell on what life outside of football could look like if he went to the Swans.
I reckon most of that is PR fluff from either side. Swans have money to spend and picks. Port dont

Port need to get Ratugolea and Zerk Thatcher already with no picks this year. How were they sposed to find the money and picks for Grundy as well lol

Some articles are saying Grundy said no because Ports standards are too high for him. Personally I believe this is BS as Sydney has pretty high standards considering we have only missed the finals 3 times in the last decade and a bit.

On SM-A515F using BigFooty.com mobile app

How would you feel about him if Gus retires? If Viney only has 2 more good years?

I’d prefer a key forward or defender for sure but if he’s best available I don’t think we couldn’t carry another central mid.

Gus is on the books until the end of 2028. Does he still get the full contract paid out if it is a medical retirement? Does the club still cop a hit to the salary cap if hangs up his helmet?

If he isn't getting paid out then why wouldn't he just clog the list until the contract expires. Hit the gym with your mates a few times a week and get a regular deep tissue massage while setting himself up for life outside of footy.

Gus is on the books until the end of 2028. Does he still get the full contract paid out if it is a medical retirement? Does the club still cop a hit to the salary cap if hangs up his helmet?

If he isn't getting paid out then why wouldn't he just clog the list until the contract expires. Hit the gym with your mates a few times a week and get a regular deep tissue massage while setting himself up for life outside of footy.
Because if he doesn't do full training and doesn't make himself available for selection we'd be able to terminate the contract