Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Sure - let's disregard all of Reid's media appearances where he has given answers in the affirmative saying that he is happy to move interstate so you can keep posting your fan fiction.

He has no ties to Melbourne so unsure why some people have a massive hard-on for him wanting to stay in Victoria.
But of course he's going to say that he's happy to move interstate. They all say that. Even Horne Francis said that. Even Luke Jackson said he loved Melbourne. Its about the risk attached with him wanting to go to Victoria.

I mean, if we're going by 'things said in the media' then:

“Rumours in the industry have been circling for weeks now and I’ve had it put to me on very good authority from multiple people that I trust, that Harley Reid has essentially told West Coast that he doesn’t want to be drafted there,” McClure told the Tradies Podcast.

But of course he's going to say that he's happy to move interstate. They all say that. Even Horne Francis said that. Even Luke Jackson said he loved Melbourne. Its about the risk attached with him wanting to go to Victoria.

Last I checked, there is no AFL team in Echuca.

The 'go home' factor is overblown.

This whole scenario is concocted in your head. The top flight draftees have a sook every year.

Sheezel kicked up a fuss when he was being floated as a potential #1 pick to GWS.

JHF was also another sook that kicked off a bidding war for the #1 pick, but North backed themselves in.

Keep writing your fan fiction.

I love that you've decided I personally concocted the idea of West Coast considering trading pick 1. They've literally publicly announced they'd look at offers.

North backed themself in and they were wrong.
Melbourne backed themselves in with Jackson and he requested a trade.
Sheezel got panned extensively for saying he didn't want to go interstate.

Great arguments Boss.

This whole scenario is concocted in your head. The top flight draftees have a sook every year.

Sheezel kicked up a fuss when he was being floated as a potential #1 pick to GWS.

JHF was also another sook that kicked off a bidding war for the #1 pick, but North backed themselves in.

Keep writing your fan fiction.

Tom Scully said he was happy to play for Melbourne despite knowing he wasn't hanging around

I love that you've decided I personally concocted the idea of West Coast considering trading pick 1. They've literally publicly announced they'd look at offers.

North backed themself in and they were wrong.
Melbourne backed themselves in with Jackson and he requested a trade.
Sheezel got panned extensively for saying he didn't want to go interstate.

Great arguments Boss.

Do you have altzheimers? You said draftees saying they didn't want to go interstate was unprecedented and now you acknowledge that it did happen in the case of Sheezel.

And of course the Eagles will consider offers. It is a sellers market. No harm in considering their options. They are basically the hot chick at the bar everyone is trying to ****, just like Norf were a few years ago.

The reality is that the Eagles do not need to follow through with a trade. The Eagles aren't trading the most coveted pick for a couple of downgrades and a future first. If Melbourne is serious about having a genuine negotiation then they will need to stump up some quality - JVR.

Do you have altzheimers? You said draftees saying they didn't want to go interstate was unprecedented and now you acknowledge that it did happen in the case of Sheezel.

And of course the Eagles will consider offers. It is a sellers market. No harm in considering their options. They are basically the hot chick at the bar everyone is trying to *, just like Norf were a few years ago.

The reality is that the Eagles do not need to follow through with a trade. The Eagles aren't trading the most coveted pick for a couple of downgrades and a future first. If Melbourne is serious about having a genuine negotiation then they will need to stump up some quality - JVR.

I don't think you can read mate. I said that draftees get slammed if they say they don't want to go interstate and you've helpfully named up an example of exactly that.

You've literally gone from "it's fan fic that Eagles will be considering trading pick 1" to "of course the Eagles will consider offers".

And as for Alzheimers... you seem to have forgotten that I have repeatedly said Melbourne aren't getting up to the top of the draft for pick 6 and 11.

You do have altzheimers.

The fan fiction is your fantasy about Reid being homesick and that he has such a strong desire to play in Melbourne notwithstanding that he has zero ties to the city.

Haha you're a nut. I've literally said nothing about Reid being homesick or having a strong desire to play in Melbourne.

I've said that it makes sense for West Coast to trade pick 1 for pick 2 and another first rounder and it's public record information that they are considering doing that.

The question is:
  • Do we offer 6, 11 and F1 for Reid?
  • Do we offer 6, 11 for pick 3?
-Or do we just keep our picks?
6 is likely to be one of O'Sullivan, Sanders, Caddy or Curtin if we are lucky.

Who is going to be available around 11? Keeping in mind it will be pushed back by the Academy and possibly Father/Son picks.

The other thing with keeping picks is you also may get the opportunity to trade back for something better on draft night.

Might get to pick 11 and someone we had our eye on is gone and some other club really likes someone, you trade pick 11 to Carlton for pick 22 and a future first or something like that. Can get good deals on the night if the right circumstances arise.

6, 11 and F1 for Reid is too much to pay IMO

6 and 11 for pick 3, it's a big call but you'd have to back Taylor in if he's certain it's warranted. Would be a big blow if whoever we picked was a bust though.
I don’t think it is too much.

You need stars of the comp to win premierships.

Melbourne only had 6 first round drafted players that we drafted in our 2021 premiership. Petracca, Oliver, Salem, Brayshaw, Jackson and Pickett.

Reid hype is similar to Petracca pre draft, get that sort of player into your club. Pick 3 (Duursma) might end up having a Brayshaw type career. Handy player but you can find players like that in later rounds with good drafting, (Trent Rivers, Fritsch) or trading in.

Don’t need a stack of first round picks where majority end up just good role players, go get the the stars of comp and that’s what Reid looks like he’ll be.

I don’t think it is too much.

You need stars of the comp to win premierships.

Melbourne only had 6 first round drafted players that we drafted in our 2021 premiership. Petracca, Oliver, Salem, Brayshaw, Jackson and Pickett.

Reid hype is similar to Petracca pre draft, get that sort of player into your club. Pick 3 (Duursma) might end up having a Brayshaw type career. Handy player but you can find players like that in later rounds with good drafting, (Trent Rivers, Fritsch) or trading in.

Don’t need a stack of first round picks where majority end up just good role players, go get the the stars of comp and that’s what Reid looks like he’ll be.

Three first rounders for someone who has never played a game is a lot when there's no guarantees. It's the price for someone who is already a top 5 player in the comp.

Reid is hyped and maybe you'll be right but nothing to say he couldn't turn out to be the Brayshaw or the Trengove and pick 6 turns out to be a superstar.

The fan fiction is your fantasy about Reid being homesick and that he has such a strong desire to play in Melbourne notwithstanding that he has zero ties to the city.

Yeah but Garry Lyon went round to his Nana’s house for tea and biccies so I reckon we’re a good chance.