Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

The whole system is ******* stupid. WC should be able to take Reid, then we should be able to take Curtin at 6 and then negotiate with each other. That deal could actually get done if WC knew they could get Curtin

Yep, its absolutely ridiculous that you cant draft someone on draft night and trade players on the spot or shortly there after.

I remember the Chris Webber for Penny Hardaway trade well, the crowd was a buzz.

Question on your first 2 picks. Since the North were gifted pick 3, it placed you guys 1 off the top 5 where I see a gap. Would you support trading 6 and 11 up to 3? You would then have your choice of Duursma, Watson or Sanders (I am assuming McKercher goes at 2). I don’t see Caddy or Curtain as a priority for you. I can see O’Sullivan as a Lever replacement.
I rate Curtin as high as any player in the draft. There are a few reports that he will slip back to our pick but I don't want to get my hopes up. The club would kow better than us about who other clubs are likely to pick. If we're confident Curtin gets to us then definitely keep our pick. If we're choosing between Sanders and Caddy I'd prefer to trade up.

Trading from 14 to 11 and giving up picks 27 and 35 is one of the dumbest moves by Lamb and Taylor in some time. I don't care how weak they think the draft is, bringing in 2 kids would've been much better for the list than moving from 14 to 11.

I think they hoped that 6,11 and a F1 may get Reid but if/when they don't get Reid I think the 14 to 11 move backfired big time.

Trading from 14 to 11 and giving up picks 27 and 35 is one of the dumbest moves by Lamb and Taylor in some time. I don't care how weak they think the draft is, bringing in 2 kids would've been much better for the list than moving from 14 to 11.

I think they hoped that 6,11 and a F1 may get Reid but if/when they don't get Reid I think the 14 to 11 move backfired big time.
I reckon they know what they're doing, I'll back 'em in. 2 picks in the early rounds & then grab Kynan Brown as a FS. Not really any different to Geelong's last pick being in the 90s but will actually be in the 50s

Yep, its absolutely ridiculous that you cant draft someone on draft night and trade players on the spot or shortly there after.

I remember the Chris Webber for Penny Hardaway trade well, the crowd was a buzz.

Penny 😍

It's funny how we see the same melts every time we do deals like this.

I think he was everyone's fav player who didnt play for their team. Such a shame his career was cut down by injuries, what could have been. I still watch his career highlights occasionally, was so good to watch.

Can you give us another example?

Why wouldn't we package up 27 and 35 to get say pick 22. That would be ok. I don't know why they think we're in a position to take only 2 picks in the draft. Potentially only 1 if we trade up for pick 3.

We literally need a key forward, ruck, key defender and speedy midfielders. Would've much preferred to roll the dice and hope we nailed a later pick.

Imagine melting about picks that will end up in the 30's and 40's. It must be in danster's big footy contract to come up with something irrelevant to melt about each offseason.

I think he was everyone's fav player who didnt play for their team. Such a shame his career was cut down by injuries, what could have been. I still watch his career highlights occasionally, was so good to watch.
Absolutely – thankfully we (Orlando) have been mostly garbage since, so the socials team treats us to regular Penny highlights to break up the crushing reality of the team's irrelevance 🤗

My favs in no particular order:

The outlet pass to Bowie
The dunk over Mitchell - "serves up a facial" .. you pervert Marv Albert :tearsofjoy:
The dunk over Ewing
The no look pass to Avent

Anything worth looking at here?

STUCK IN LIMBO​

Players without contracts for 2024
  • Adelaide – James Borlase
  • Brisbane LionsDayne Zorko
  • Collingwood – Aiden Begg, Josh Carmichael, Will Kelly, Nathan Kreuger
  • Essendon – Jaiden Hunter, Patrick Voss, Will Snelling
  • Geelong – Mitch Hardie, Flynn Kroeger
  • Gold Coast – Sandy Brock, Sam Day, Oskar Faulkhead, Hewago Oae, Bodhi Uwland, Jeremy Sharp, Jake Stein, James Tsitas
  • Melbourne – Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Port AdelaideOrazio Fantasia, Sam Hayes, Scott Lycett
  • Richmond – Mate Colina
  • St KildaTom Campbell, Tom Highmore, Dan McKenzie
  • SydneySam Reid, Sam Wicks
  • West Coast – Zane Trew
  • Western Bulldogs – Dominic Bedendo, Hayden Crozier, Roarke Smith

Can you give us another example?

Why wouldn't we package up 27 and 35 to get say pick 22. That would be ok. I don't know why they think we're in a position to take only 2 picks in the draft. Potentially only 1 if we trade up for pick 3.

We literally need a key forward, ruck, key defender and speedy midfielders. Would've much preferred to roll the dice and hope we nailed a later pick.
The deal that got us Oliver, the deal that got us Kozzy, the deal that got us JVR. People melted over all of them at the time.

If we don't rate that part of the draft then we're just blindly throwing darts and hoping one sticks. Further if we think the player we can get with 11 will be much better than what we can get with pick 14 then we've achieved our goals anyway.

Judge it once we actually see the players available at those picks play.

If you were allowed to trade players after you draft them Curtain wouldn’t last to Melbournes pick. North would just draft him at 3 to give them the opportunity to trade with West Coast

Don't think that would make much of a difference. West Coast would just trade for pick 3 now if they don't believe he lasts any longer. The more he drops the more they can ask for in a swap for Reid. (Not saying we should do that, that would just be the way they would think about)

Don't think that would make much of a difference. West Coast would just trade for pick 3 now if they don't believe he lasts any longer. The more he drops the more they can ask for in a swap for Reid.
I think we'd have more leverage after drafting Curtin at 6 than we do now tbh. The chance of him not being there means they can demand more.

Yeah, I'm strictly talking hypotheticals if you could trade players after drafting them on the night. The further Curtin falls the more you can ask for Reid. Whether or not he does is entirely different.

Hypothetically in a trade players on draft night scenario.. .

Say North took Curtin at 3, what do they offer? Curtin and 17? West Coast probably just laugh at that offer and just keep Reid.

Meanwhile at our pick Curtin and 11 is far more enticing.

There is a tipping point that would/wouldn't satisfy West Coast.

Don't think that would make much of a difference. West Coast would just trade for pick 3 now if they don't believe he lasts any longer. The more he drops the more they can ask for in a swap for Reid. (Not saying we should do that, that would just be the way they would think about)
Yeah true, they don’t to wait to see if Curtain will fall to North’s picks, they can do the deal now

Can’t remember who originally posted it during trade week but surely we have to have a 3-way pick swap with WC and North semi-agreed to in order to have done the pick swap for 11.

Such a specific move to make unless we’d been given a clear instruction 6 and 14 wasn’t enough but 6 and 11 might be.

Agree you should be allowed to trade players on the night. It doesn’t screw the player as they don’t have time to plan any moving etc and is a big benefit to clubs.
Players haven't even signed a contract at that stage. There's really no reason it couldn't be done.

Can’t remember who originally posted it during trade week but surely we have to have a 3-way pick swap with WC and North semi-agreed to in order to have done the pick swap for 11.

Such a specific move to make unless we’d been given a clear instruction 6 and 14 wasn’t enough but 6 and 11 might be.
If Cutrain is known to fall to 6, we are in the best position unless North use both their top 3 picks.

WCE could be using us as leverage to get a better deal from North.