List Mgmt. 2023 Draft & Trade Hypotheticals

Key Trade & Draft Dates
Key Dates:

Trade Period, October 6–18
  • Restricted & Unrestricted Free Agency Period: Friday, October 6, 9am – Friday October 13, 5pm (bid matching ends Monday October 16, 5pm)
  • Trade Period (1), picks & players: Monday, October 9, 9am – Wednesday October 18, 7.30pm
Quiet Period, October 19–November 20
  • Trade Period (2), picks only: Monday, October 23, 9am – Friday November 10, 5pm
  • List Lodgement 1*: Tuesday, October 31, 2pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (1): Wednesday, November 1, 9am – Wednesday November 8, 5pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (2): Friday, November 10, 9am–5pm
  • List Lodgement 2*: Tuesday, November 14, 2pm
Draft Period, November 20–22
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Monday, November 20, time and venue TBA
  • Trade Period (3), picks only: Tuesday, November 21, 5.45pm–6.30pm
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Tuesday, November 21, 7pm until completion
  • Rookie Promotions: Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Wednesday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3.20pm
  • Final List Lodgement*: Thursday, November 23, 4pm
* List lodgement dates are yet to be made public, so are approximate based on past history and the requirements of the AFL Rules. When lists are lodged, the number of players on the list must not exceed maximum list sizes. At the same time, clubs must provide the AFL with estimates of total player payments in the current and following year, which must prove the club is not and will not exceed the salary cap. (AFL Rules 5.3, 6.1, 6.8, 7.2, 7.9)

Eh, AFL media are notoriously bad at getting anything from us in regards to the draft

Also doesn't help Beatson goes completely rogue and we get a player like Vickery who looks less than 50/50 to play a game

I don't think anyone can credibly assess Vickery based on his injury interrupted year. That and Kinnear said we had a more defensive role in mind (playing lockdown on oppo small fwds) than his pre draft half-back/wing role suggested. Not saying he'll be Nick Smith (drafted as a winger), but people (including myself), assumed we drafted a skinny wing/HB, until Kinnear said what we wanted him for. So plenty still to come there.

"We just think we have been looking for a small defender that can play on the likes of Kysiah Pickett, Charlie Cameron and Cody Weightman.

"They're the ones that get under your skin and are hard to match up on. We think he has the potential to be able to do that."

I don't know why, but I have good vibes about Vickery. Not flashy but I'm hoping he's a player of substance. If he can become a modern day Smooch that would be the dream.
It sounds like we've identified him as the Cunningham replacement (who turned into a small defender after Smith finished up). And to make sure we got him (would have been matched with our next pick post-40), we used 27. Kinnear said he wasn't a bolter on our list.

Who knows if he'll make it, but I don't mind the strategy. If there was a re-run of Smith's draft, he should have been a first rounder.

No, where at 15 or so he heavily bullied a disabled boy in his class so much so the boy considered suicide and is still dealing with the effects.
Not to defend that behaviour, as it's indefensible, nor to validate those allegations as I know nothing about them, but allow me to introduce you to a massive portion of players in the AFL....

If it weren't so grim, it would be comical how many young prospects with with genuinely deplorable characters get drafted and then described by the recruiters who met with them as "a good kid, from a great family, cares for others" etc.

I don't know why, but I have good vibes about Vickery. Not flashy but I'm hoping he's a player of substance. If he can become a modern day Smooch that would be the dream.

He's the risk/reward pick. I'm with you actually mate of all the players last year him and Konstanty excite me the most

Not to defend that behaviour, as it's indefensible, nor to validate those allegations as I know nothing about them, but allow me to introduce you to a massive portion of players in the AFL....

If it weren't so grim, it would be comical how many young prospects with with genuinely deplorable characters get drafted and then described by the recruiters who met with them as "a good kid, from a great family, cares for others" etc.

yep, and unfortunately at 15 or whatever kids make errors, it's what they do after that becoming a better person etc. I am non fussed about some behaviour (which isn't great and I ideally wouldn't want it happening) as teenagers.

He's the risk/reward pick. I'm with you actually mate of all the players last year him and Konstanty excite me the most
And similar to Konstanty, no-one can really assess where they are at, given injuries. Though that won't stop people (negatively assessing them). Mitchell (also injuries) and Magor have shown signs, so we may end up with a good draft class. Obviously I would have picked a couple of different types, but I still have hopes for the 4 remaining from last year. Once I'd read Beatson's Vickery comments (what we saw in him), it tempered my meltdown a bit.

yep, and unfortunately at 15 or whatever kids make errors, it's what they do after that becoming a better person etc. I am non fussed about some behaviour (which isn't great and I ideally wouldn't want it happening) as teenagers.
Some don't even grow out of it unfortunately.

I did want him but then I heard some very bad stuff on this forum about him. Don't want him at all now.
I assume you are referring to his drinking last year and his 10 week ban. This was discussed in depth probably 100 pages ago and he has completely turned his life around as a result of it. Sometimes, it takes something like this to make a 17 year old realise what he is risking by his bad behaviour and it can be a blessing in disguise.
I've since read your piece on what he did as a 15 year old. If I was rated solely on the things I did as a 15 year old - well, it wouldn't make good reading. Fortunately, most of us learn from our mistakes as we get a little older.
I'm with #Swannie0307. He is my preferred selection.

Fair to say we have discussed probably 12 or more players we would like to take with our pick 12. That's excluding the ones that will simply be out of our range such as O'Sullivan.
What are the odds that we will do a typical Swans first round selection and pick someone that not one of us has even mentioned.
50/50 I reckon.

Fair to say we have discussed probably 12 or more players we would like to take with our pick 12. That's excluding the ones that will simply be out of our range such as O'Sullivan.
What are the odds that we will do a typical Swans first round selection and pick someone that not one of us has even mentioned.
50/50 I reckon.

It's not typical that we select someone that no-one has mentioned.

Konstanty was talked about. Sheldrick was, most thought he'd be good at our 2nd (likely gone), but a couple were focused on him as their main target. Logan most certainly was.

I wasn't here for the pre-draft discussion in 2019, but given Stephens was rated 5-10 on most of the main mock drafts, it'd be surprising if no-one mentioned him at the time (even if most favoured Serong or Flanders it seems).

Ling maybe, Towers probably (wasn't here). I'd be surprised to find no-one here was talking about Florent or Jones given we picked them up around where they were rated, Hayward was too.

So at best it's 2, maybe 3, out of the last 9 first round picks (non academy).

I assume you are referring to his drinking last year and his 10 week ban. This was discussed in depth probably 100 pages ago and he has completely turned his life around as a result of it. Sometimes, it takes something like this to make a 17 year old realise what he is risking by his bad behaviour and it can be a blessing in disguise.
I've since read your piece on what he did as a 15 year old. If I was rated solely on the things I did as a 15 year old - well, it wouldn't make good reading. Fortunately, most of us learn from our mistakes as we get a little older.
I'm with #Swannie0307. He is my preferred selection.
There's those that reflect, learn & turn things around .... and there's those that turn out like Elijah Taylor.

You just have to hope that our recruiters don't make the same mistake twice.

Sadly as "big men on campus" some of these fellows feel the need to express their superiority over others in very ugly ways. Some grow up but others don't. You meet plenty of them in footy clubs. The very hard thing to know is whether they have grown out of it or just learnt to mask it. Elijah Taylor springs to mind, though maybe more complex issues at play.

Hmmn. Yep. I get what you are talking about esp those who are bright enough to mask their psychopathy.

The latter are in all walks of life where in many cases they have found means to express their inability to empathise in socially validated callings eg the corporate sector... Think Pratt, the Hancock's, Palmer, Mathieson or Pollies of varying hues or in positions like the late and unlamented George Pell (who I know was a noted bully in his teens).

Kids like Taylor just don't have the wherewithal to mask it. Sporting Clubs are a great refuge and often enable the "big man on campus" you refer to. Think Carey, Ablett Snr, Whitten and plenty of others, but it also applies in local sporting Clubs.

Anti social behaviours at a young age, esp sustained bullying is a significant marker.

I have been involved in designing a residential program for troubled and troubling teens. Most experienced abandonment and trauma at young ages. All participants will be or are already at significant risk to self and others. The program is not a magic bullet.

There is a much longer term program for severely anti social personality disordered kids in the UK that breaks down existing personality and builds a new one with empathy at its core. In itself it has obvious civil rights and many ethical concerns.

Sorry for the long rave. Obviously a footy Club can't do these things but they can apply versions of the no dickheads policy attributed to our mob.

I am entirely comfortable with us not drafting a youngster with sustained behavioural concerns.

No, where at 15 or so he heavily bullied a disabled boy in his class so much so the boy considered suicide and is still dealing with the effects.
I'm 47 and some of the bullies at school still carry on in a similar way on our class of 94 wattsapp group. Also revert to form at the various reunions we have had along the way. Not to say that people don't change, but some don't.

Yep. 100%. Really tough for the club to make a call on whether a kid has made mistakes and grown up or has deep seated issues that might damage the playing group when they are 18!
From what we have seen and heard it seems that the club has been pretty good at it.

Even if they don't grow out of it, it doesn't effect their career prospects in any way. Clubs can say they stand for x, y and z values all they like, but at the end of the day no one gets delisted for being a total prick. It's just the way footy is unfortunately.

I love how we can post prick or turd and can't say sh it