Fixture 2023 Fixture

Round 1 - North Melbourne vs West Coast Eagles - Saturday, March 18 - 1:45PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 2 - Fremantle vs North Melbourne - Saturday, March 25 - 4:30PM - Optus Stadium - FOX
Round 3 - Hawthorn vs North Melbourne - Saturday, April 1 - 1:45PM - UTAS Stadium - FOX
Round 4 - North Melbourne vs Carlton - Friday, April 7 - 4:20PM - Marvel Stadium - Seven
Round 5 - Brisbane Lions vs North Melbourne - Saturday, April 15 - 12:40PM - Adelaide Hills - FOX
Round 6 - Gold Coast Suns vs North Melbourne - Sunday, April 23 - 4:40PM - Metricon - FOX
Round 7 - Melbourne vs North Melbourne - Saturday, April 29 - 7:25PM - MCG - Seven
Round 8 - North Melbourne vs St Kilda - Sunday, May 7 - 4:40PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 9 - North Melbourne vs Port Adelaide - Saturday, May 13 - 2:10PM - Blundstone Arena - FOX
Round 10 - North Melbourne vs Sydney Swans - Saturday, May 20 - 1:45PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 11 - Collingwood vs North Melbourne - Sunday, May 28 - 3:20PM - Marvel Stadium - Seven
Round 12 - Essendon vs North Melbourne - Sunday, June 4 - 4:40PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 13 - North Melbourne vs GWS Giants - Sunday, June 11 - 3:20PM - Blundstone Arena - FOX
Round 14 - North Melbourne vs Western Bulldogs - Sunday, June 18 - 4:40PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 15 - BYE
Round 16 - Adelaide Crows vs North Melbourne - TBC - Adelaide Oval
Round 17 - Geelong Cats vs North Melbourne - TBC - GMHBA Stadium
Round 18 - North Melbourne vs Hawthorn - TBC - Marvel Stadium
Round 19 - St Kilda vs North Melbourne - TBC - Marvel Stadium
Round 20 - West Coast Eagles vs North Melbourne - TBC - Optus Stadium
Round 21 - North Melbourne vs Melbourne - TBC - Blundstone Arena
Round 22 - North Melbourne vs Essendon - TBC - Marvel Stadium
Round 23 - Richmond vs North Melbourne - TBC - MCG
Round 24 - North Melbourne vs Gold Coast Suns - TBC - Blundstone Arena

You can blame the South Australian government for this one. Malinauskas wanted regional exposure, said so in the initial press conference. Now he will have two teams with smaller travelling supporter bases, majority of the crowd will be locals. Reacher Round indeed, we r getting bum f*cked.

454012bdbdbe5d9701d120b7df1b19bb.jpg

canadian what GIF by CBC

Official capacity 5000. Seats 270 in the stand. They, being the AFL, have to be kidding. Ridiculous idea

If you can cram 15 k into Norwood you will get 15k at that ground with a temp grand stand. Every bagging it but I reckon it will be great. Some you whiners should book a trip over so you can say…told you so. And then eat your words.

You can blame the South Australian government for this one. Malinauskas wanted regional exposure, said so in the initial press conference. Now he will have two teams with smaller travelling supporter bases, majority of the crowd will be locals. Reacher Round indeed, we r getting bum f*cked.
The side of the coin is we're more likely to get a win there than the Gabba

How so?
Did they write the fixture, choosing the matchups & venues?

Remainder of the fixture to be released on Sunday. Confirmed in Gather Crap Round presser just earlier

seems odd to release it on a weekend, would assume its all locked in now and they are not scrambling to figure it out on saturday

If you can cram 15 k into Norwood you will get 15k at that ground with a temp grand stand. Every bagging it but I reckon it will be great. Some you whiners should book a trip over so you can say…told you so. And then eat your words.

So you think it is okay that based on the published capacity numbers for each stadium, it is all okay that we and Brisbane appear to get the worst deal of the lot? Its going to be one hell of a temporary stand if it can add a further 10000 to the crowd.

Bear in mind that there are still a lot of old Fitzroy supporters, who may also want to attend, as well as fans from Brisbane. Okay to stitch them up too?

We have been consistently criticised for failing to draw numbers at games in Melbourne, but it is okay for the AFL to make sure we get the lowest crowd on this particular weekend?

So you think it is okay that based on the published capacity numbers for each stadium, it is all okay that we and Brisbane appear to get the worst deal of the lot? Its going to be one hell of a temporary stand if it can add a further 10000 to the crowd.

Bear in mind that there are still a lot of old Fitzroy supporters, who may also want to attend, as well as fans from Brisbane. Okay to stitch them up too?

We have been consistently criticised for failing to draw numbers at games in Melbourne, but it is okay for the AFL to make sure we get the lowest crowd on this particular weekend?

As a wheel, we don't squeak enough.

Imagine if the filth were scheduled to play at Mt Barker.

Oh no the vineyard game is likely to be Goldy’s 300th.
Yep absolute vomit in the mouth stuff isnt it. This ground would be a treat if its rainy and windy as well. Seems nice and open around it.:thumbsupemoji:

Also Freo playing mid arvo (Perth time) against Gold Coast - thats a TV bonanza

Mav and marklovesbeer what’s the best local suburban ground to watch the footy at?

I went to Norwood many moons ago and that was pretty good.
Yes, I’m a fan of Norwood. It’s quite picturesque & has a lot of history.
It’s actually where the Adelaide Giants baseball team used to play years ago, so their lighting for night games meant the Redlegs also hosted a few in the evening, which, as a kid, I loved.

I was kind of hoping North got allocated to Northwood Oval, but as a spectator, I think the atmosphere in the hills will be pretty fun. I already have a few Melbourne based North fans booked in to come over. We’ll make a day/weekend of it.
I think I’ll also go to the Freo game at the parade (Norwood Ovall) that weekend.

The Panthers have been playing at their current oval since 95 & whilst it’s known for being pretty windy & cold in the middle of winter, the facilities are pretty good & I have great memories growing up & going to games at Noarlunga Oval.
Not that it would have been the case if we got to host an AFL game, but another fun aspect of Panther Park is cars are allowed to drive in & park around certain parts of the ground, like local footy, which was originally laughed at, but is now very much loved.

Side note; South were also the first SANFL team to host Good Friday games, back in 2012.
It has been so popular that the season just gone seen all games for the round played on that day.

811CD5EC-5E39-4550-B3E9-BA5F8E3C965B.jpeg 1C5EF84E-D8AB-449E-A118-98A50E375B9E.jpeg
BA07C72A-A9F0-444A-AA33-6214D44633FE.jpeg

mate, have you ever been to Norwood oval? It would be horrible place with 15K there. It's clear from the photos that there is more standing room at the Mt Barker ground than there is at Norwood. The Norwood stand along the wing is about 6 rows deep. The large stand in the pocket is a crap old relic. The outer wing standing room is about 3 tiers of concrete terraces. And if you hate Geelong's ground for being too skinny you'll hate Norwood even more.

Mav and marklovesbeer what’s the best local suburban ground to watch the footy at?

I went to Norwood many moons ago and that was pretty good.
Other than North Adelaides home games at Prospect Oval I've probably watched more games of footy at Norwood than any other oval and I hate it. When there's a crowd are all crammed into 1 pocket and the wings are very thin so you cant get when people there. But to be honest they're much of a muchness. Concrete terraces, and old grand stands. I enjoy Glenelgs set up and Westies have good coffee.

Yes, I’m a fan of Norwood. It’s quite picturesque & has a lot of history.
It’s actually where the Adelaide Giants baseball team used to play years ago, so their lighting for night games meant the Redlegs also hosted a few in the evening, which, as a kid, I loved.

I was kind of hoping North got allocated to Northwood Oval, but as a spectator, I think the atmosphere in the hills will be pretty fun. I already have a few Melbourne based North fans booked in to come over. We’ll make a day/weekend of it.
I think I’ll also go to the Freo game at the parade (Norwood Ovall) that weekend.

The Panthers have been playing at their current oval since 95 & whilst it’s known for being pretty windy & cold in the middle of winter, the facilities are pretty good & I have great memories growing up & going to games at Noarlunga Oval.
Not that it would have been the case if we got to host an AFL game, but another fun aspect of Panther Park is cars are allowed to drive in & park around certain parts of the ground, like local footy, which was originally laughed at, but is now very much loved.
Sounds like the sort of place that would not only have a meat tray raffle at halftime but you've won that meat tray on more than one occasion.

Part of the problem is Docklands as a venue.

Is there another blockbuster currently at Docklands?

Don't get me wrong, I actually like Docklands. It's getting redone now, has superb viewing in almost all seats, the roof and is accessible to all parts the city by public transport.

It however doesn't have the same vibe as the MCG for big games.

ANZAC Day
Pre-Anzac Day
Opening Night Rnd 1
Dreamtime
Big Freeze - Easter Monday

All of them are at the MCG.

I feel like we are on a hiding to nothing being the only one having to try to replicate the buzz of those games at Docklands.
Got to sell out marvel a few yrs in a row to get it moved to the mcg

mate, have you ever been to Norwood oval? It would be horrible place with 15K there. It's clear from the photos that there is more standing room at the Mt Barker ground than there is at Norwood. The Norwood stand along the wing is about 6 rows deep. The large stand in the pocket is a crap old relic. The outer wing standing room is about 3 tiers of concrete terraces. And if you hate Geelong's ground for being too skinny you'll hate Norwood even more.

No I haven't but I'll take your word for it that it is a crap ground. Irrespective the official figures say it holds 15000 versus 5000 at Mount Barker and in my opinion it is better to maximise attendances, albeit at a crap venue.

Mine is not a criticism of Adelaide and South Australia. Mine is a criticism of the AFL and its fixturing. Why not schedule our game at Adelaide Oval at say 4 pm on Thursday or allocate another day being the Monday after and play one or two games then? In our case, most people who decide to go; and the same for Brisbane fans; will be travelling from interstate, so if they are working they will take the day or days off.

Isn't this also in part about maximising tourism in SA? Surely more of us are likely to go if we are playing at Adelaide Oval - I would be in that camp if it was scheduled there, but I certainly won't be going to stand up at Mount Barker.

Fixture 2023 Fixture