List Mgmt. 2023 GWS Giants List Management - Academy, Free Agent, Trade, Draft

Nov 23, 2015
GWS
Trade Period, October 6–18
  • Restricted & Unrestricted Free Agency Period: Friday, October 6, 9am – Friday October 13, 5pm (bid matching ends Monday October 16, 5pm)
  • Trade Period (1), picks & players: Monday, October 9, 9am – Wednesday October 18, 7.30pm
Quiet Period, October 19–November 20
  • Trade Period (2), picks only: Monday, October 23, 9am – Friday November 10, 5pm
  • List Lodgement 1*: Tuesday, October 31, 2pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (1): Wednesday, November 1, 9am – Wednesday November 8, 5pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (2): Friday, November 10, 9am–5pm
  • List Lodgement 2*: Tuesday, November 14, 2pm

Here's the list of GWS players who are out of contract in 2023 (I'll progressively cross them out as they re-sign):
  • Lachie ASH
  • Callan WARD (Free Agent)
  • Brayden PREUSS
  • Tom GREEN
  • Finn CALLAGHAN
  • Lachlan KEEFFE (Free Agent)
  • Jake RICCARDI
  • Harry HIMMELBERG (Free Agent)
  • Cam FLEETON - delisted (25/9/23)
  • Matt FLYNN (Free Agent) - signed by West Coast as an Unrestricted Free Agent
  • Xavier O'HALLORAN
  • Jack BUCKLEY
  • Callum BROWN
Rookie lists:
  • Phil DAVIS (Free Agent) - retiring at end of 2023 season
  • Jacob WEHR (Free agent)
  • Dan LLOYD (Free Agent) - retiring at end of 2023 season
  • Cooper HAMILTON
  • Wade DERKSEN
  • Nick MADDEN (Cat B) - assumed re-signed due to 2 sources of info
  • Jason GILBEE (Cat B) - delisted (25/9/23)
Current list sizes (for when we get to list/draft/trade speculation):
  • main list = 36 minus 3 (Fleeton, Flynn + Kennedy delisted with a view to be re-selected in the rookie draft)
  • rookie A = 6 minus 2 (Davis, Lloyd)
  • rookie B = 2 minus 1 (Gilbee)
  • total = 44 minus 5
This is the future pick spreadsheet that comes into play only at trade time, as future picks are used in end of season (2023) trading:

Here's the 2023 AFL Academy Squad, so these (roughly) represent the best players for next year as they stand now:

2023 NAB AFL ACADEMY​

NAMESURNAMESTATESTATE LEAGUE CLUBCOMMUNITY CLUB
LachlanCaborNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyShellharbour
NateCaddyVIC MNorthern KnightsYarrambat
JackCallinanTASTasmania DevilsClarence
CaidenClearyNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademySydney University
DanielCurtinWAClaremontWest Coast
JackDeleanSASouth AdelaideReynella
ZaneDuursmaVIC CGippsland PowerFoster
MitchellEdwardsWAPeel ThunderSouth Mandurah
WilliamGreenVIC MNorthern KnightsNorthcote
RileyHardemanWASwan DistrictsCaversham
WilliamLorenzVIC MOakleigh ChargersBoroondara Hawks
KaneMcAuliffeSANorth AdelaideCentral Augusta
ColbyMcKercherTASTasmania DevilsLaunceston
AshtonMoirSAGlenelgPlympton
ConnorO'SullivanNSW/ACTMurray BushrangersAlbury
WilliamPattonSAWest AdelaideMitcham
NathanPhilactidesVIC MOakleigh ChargersBlackburn
EthanReadQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
ArcherReidVIC CGippsland PowerInverloch-Kongwak
HarleyReidVIC CBendigo PioneersTongala
ArchieRobertsVIC MSandringham DragonsHampton Rovers
JakeRogersQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach
RyleySandersTASSandringham DragonsNorth Launceston
CooperSimpsonVIC CDandenong StingraysMount Martha
GeorgeStevensVIC CGWV RebelsSouth Warrnambool
KoltynTholstrupWASubiacoNewtown-Condingup
OrlandoTurnerNTWest AdelaideSouth Alice Springs
JedWalterQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
NickWatsonVIC MEastern RangesEast Ringwood
DarcyWilsonVIC CMurray BushrangersWangaratta Rovers

Happy speculating for 2023!

EDIT: 11/12/22 - Added Free Agent status to OOC player list
EDIT: 24/2/23 - Crossed out Tom Green from OOC player list! (Woo Hoo!!) & Added 2023 Coates Talent League Fixture Link
EDIT: 27/2/23 - Crossed out Finn Callaghan from OOC player list! (Woo Hoo Hoo!!!)
EDIT: 27/4/23 - Crossed out Jacob Wehr from OOC player list
EDIT: 10/5/23 - Crossed out Jack Buckley from OOC player list :thumbsu:
EDIT: 9/7/23 - Crossed out Callum Brown from OOC player list
EDIT: 18/7/23 - Crossed out Lachie Ash from OOC player list
EDIT: 20/7/23 - Crossed out Xavier O'Halloran from OOC player list
EDIT: 3/8/23 - Crossed out Harry Himmelberg from OOC player list
EDIT: 9/8/23 - Crossed out Wade Derksen from OOC player list
EDIT: 17/8/23 - Noted Dan Lloyd retiring at end of season
EDIT: 19/8/23 - Crossed out Jake Riccardi from OOC player list
EDIT: 28/8/23 - Noted Phil Davis retiring at end of season
EDIT: 25/9/23 - Noted Cam Fleeton & Jason Gilbee delisted
EDIT: 4/10/23 - Noted Flynn, Preuss & Keeffe situations
EDIT: 9/10/23 - Updated Flynn to WCE, removed Preuss from OOC player list
EDIT: 12/10/23 - Updated Madden with 2 sources of information
EDIT: 19/10/23 - Updated Keeffe & Hamilton re-signed
EDIT: 31/10/23 - adjusted main list numbers with Adam Kennedy delisting (with a view to be re-selected in rookie draft)

Seems like Elijah Hollands is pretty gettable at the moment, would be pushing very hard for him, think he's got loads of talent and could definitely be a mid/fwd type player even played as a winger and looked promising there.
He is someone I d definitely be interested in, there is upside to him

I think we are a decent chance of grabbing McKercher with a number of teams needing talls.
If you mean he could slide to our pick #6, I'd be pessimistic about that, even looking at the list needs of some teams above us, and prognosticating which team might get the Suns' pick. (E.g. If Dogs get the Suns pick, I can't see McKercher getting past them, if he hasn't already been taken by Norths or Hawks.)

If you mean we could trade up, because teams would be happy to get a tall like O'Sullivan or Caddy, but are happy to drop back to #6 (#7 after McKay compo) with some extra largesse (i.e. our own first round pick), then certainly that could happen.

I daresay a 3-way trade with Norths & WCE, or even just a two-stage trade GWS with Norths and then Norths with Eagles could end up with:
  • Norths end up with #1 (Reid) & #7 (O'Sullivan)
  • WCE end up with #2 (Curtin) & either the Port pick or our pick from Norths
  • GWS end up with #3 (options would be McKercher, Watson or Duursma, but I'd be taking McKercher)
All very speculative and dependent on those issues I mentioned in a previous post.

Seems like Elijah Hollands is pretty gettable at the moment, would be pushing very hard for him, think he's got loads of talent and could definitely be a mid/fwd type player even played as a winger and looked promising there.
Hollands is an interesting one. Went quite high even with a serious injury in his draft year, and does seem to have lost some of the underage qualities that got him drafted: explosive speed off the mark, and high leaping. Is that a recovery issue, or is he disinterested because, well Suns being Suns? If we are confident in his body, he is a guy that I'd be happy to add to the midfield. Reading the Suns' board, it seems that they wanted to make him a winger, but seems he's not so suited there. However, if we look at him to replace Ward in one or two years - perhaps an XOH type, midfield plus can roll forward - does that fit? Not for pick #6/7, but our later pick, sure. However, would he be interested in GWS, or want to get back to Melbourne? I think that's a likely stumbling block for GWS.

I think we are a decent chance of grabbing McKercher with a number of teams needing talls.
I keep misreading his name as McKeever, which I struggle to raise any excitement for. :D

• GWS end up with #3 (options would be McKercher, Watson or Duursma, but I'd be taking McKercher)
All very speculative and
**** I'd be stoked with McKercher....

If you mean he could slide to our pick #6, I'd be pessimistic about that, even looking at the list needs of some teams above us, and prognosticating which team might get the Suns' pick. (E.g. If Dogs get the Suns pick, I can't see McKercher getting past them, if he hasn't already been taken by Norths or Hawks.)

If you mean we could trade up, because teams would be happy to get a tall like O'Sullivan or Caddy, but are happy to drop back to #6 (#7 after McKay compo) with some extra largesse (i.e. our own first round pick), then certainly that could happen.

I daresay a 3-way trade with Norths & WCE, or even just a two-stage trade GWS with Norths and then Norths with Eagles could end up with:
All very speculative and dependent on those issues I mentioned in a previous post.

Hollands is an interesting one. Went quite high even with a serious injury in his draft year, and does seem to have lost some of the underage qualities that got him drafted: explosive speed off the mark, and high leaping. Is that a recovery issue, or is he disinterested because, well Suns being Suns? If we are confident in his body, he is a guy that I'd be happy to add to the midfield. Reading the Suns' board, it seems that they wanted to make him a winger, but seems he's not so suited there. However, if we look at him to replace Ward in one or two years - perhaps an XOH type, midfield plus can roll forward - does that fit? Not for pick #6/7, but our later pick, sure. However, would he be interested in GWS, or want to get back to Melbourne? I think that's a likely stumbling block for GWS.
Yep, lets do that.

lock it in.

OK, this article has two back-up mids from Melbourne likely on their way out - James Jordan (187 cm) and James Harmes (186 cm). Neither are going to be stars, but on the basis of the preceding conversation around cheap back-ups, would either be an option for GWS? (Would either be likely to want to come to GWS - although Harmes is mentioned as an option for Swans.)

Edmund believes free agent James Jordon is highly likely to leave, potentially to a Victorian rival, while the club would also like two senior players to find new homes despite them having a year to run on their contracts. “James Jordon is highly likely to leave, possibly to St Kilda,” Edmund said on SEN's Whateley. “Then you've got the contracted James Harmes, Melbourne would like his cash off the books as they would Adam Tomlinson who like Harmes also has a year to run on his Demons deal. Those two could need to find new homes. Melbourne would preferably like them to move on.”

James Harmes is leaving Melbourne,” McClure said on Tradies Podcast. “He’s basically been frozen out from the team. He won’t play for Melbourne again and hasn’t been in consideration for the senior squad for several weeks (and has now injured his hamstring). He’s got four clubs that have enquired about him through his management – Richmond, Carlton, Sydney and Essendon. He can’t go to Essendon, how many small midfielders do they want? What are they doing … he doesn’t fit their need. I couldn’t imagine him going to Essendon. He can’t go to Carlton. How is he going to get a game? This is no disrespect to James Harmes, I think he’s going to be a good AFL player wherever he goes. But who is he pushing out of Carlton’s midfield? Richmond makes sense I reckon. He’d play every week for Richmond, he’s an experienced mid who can play inside and outside alongside (Jacob) Hopper and (Tim) Taranto and let them go to work. He makes sense at Sydney, for 12 weeks they’ve been 18th in contested footy … they just need help in the midfield."

Harmes stats.png

Jordan stats.png

He’ll land at Carlton for sure
Could be ...

Industry sources have indicated that the Blues are interested in acquiring Hollands, in doing so reuniting him with younger brother Ollie.

Drafted to the Suns in 2020 on the back of an ACL tear in his draft year, Hollands has been restricted to just 14 AFL matches at Gold Coast due to a mixture of injury and non-selection. He was subbed out of three consecutive matches late in the season under caretaker coach Steven King.

A big-bodied midfielder who is also a strong runner, Hollands has indicated a desire to play regular senior football. He remains involved in the Suns’ VFL finals campaign so is yet to have his exit interview.

I am not saying we should do it, but if we win the flag could we consider trading 6 into the future to try to get the best midfielder in next year's draft?
We should still be reasonably young next year, but need replacements for Ward, Cognilio to some degree in the near future.
I am assuming that if we don't flag, we are happy to take best available player, except not a defender do could slide back if that is the case.

Yep, lets do that.

lock it in.
Do we think North trade 3 for 6,14 ( funnily enough the exact trade swans offered Richmond back in 2009 to try to get Dusty).
I would hope we don't overpay and trade
3,2024r2 for 6,14, GWS 2024r1.
Trading up is very expensive, especially this year it seems.

Do we think North trade 3 for 6,14 ( funnily enough the exact trade swans offered Richmond back in 2009 to try to get Dusty).
I would hope we don't overpay and trade
3,2024r2 for 6,14, GWS 2024r1.
Trading up is very expensive, especially this year it seems.
It's always expensive but I'd take that in a heartbeat to get McKercher (if available). Not sure why north would bother if they have 2,3 and Sanders. That's an intense draft haul.

I spoke to Adrian Caruso about buku khamis earlier in the year and how much I rate him and
I read today he is not planning to re sign with the bulldogs because he has interest from some other clubs. I hope the giants are one of them, I think he could be a very handy third tall and Caruso agreed at the time he has talent and a lot of upside.

I spoke to Adrian Caruso about buku khamis earlier in the year and how much I rate him and
I read today he is not planning to re sign with the bulldogs because he has interest from some other clubs. I hope the giants are one of them, I think he could be a very handy third tall and Caruso agreed at the time he has talent and a lot of upside.
Defence is our most stacked area.

I don't hate it. Does he have the capacity to play on the wing?
:shrug:
Depends what you want from your wingers I guess, but I doubt he has the endurance currently to meet the demands of our system on the wing

CONTRACTS for top draftees are expected to be mandatory three-year terms under changes brought through the AFL's collective bargaining agreement talks with the AFL Players Association.

Under current rules, players selected in the national draft are all signed to standard initial contracts of two seasons. However, northern clubs have long pushed for contract lengths to be extended for top draftees to assist with retention of young guns, with the move expected to be introduced for the first-round picks at the 2023 draft onwards. The AFL proposed the longer three-year guaranteed contracts for the top 20 picks as part of the CBA talks in an effort for clubs to hold on to their best players and without needing to sign on early extensions.

It is unclear if there will be capabilities for players who dominate in their first seasons, such as Collingwood superstar Nick Daicos and North Melbourne Rising Star Harry Sheezel, to be able to renegotiate for the third year onwards with bright starts. With the CBA talks in their closing stages, players this week were asked to vote on a proposal from the players association for the joint AFL and AFLW deal.

Very interesting.

Supposedly we have a plan in front of the AFL right now to make all Western Sydney kids not biddable on.

Allowing us to offer big contracts from the get go.

Matthews says that the reason we are so far behind in the grassroots side is League, Rugby, Football can all offer contracts to 15 year olds etc where we can’t.

Very interesting.

Supposedly we have a plan in front of the AFL right now to make all Western Sydney kids not biddable on.

Allowing us to offer big contracts from the get go.

Matthews says that the reason we are so far behind in the grassroots side is League, Rugby, Football can all offer contracts to 15 year olds etc where we can’t.

If the AFL is for real about growing the game, they need to approve this.
The League and Rugby kids are scouted, courted, signed and given clear development pathways in a way that we can't currently match.

Great that we extended Briggs from 2024 to 2026- great work by our club.

But yet no news about Flynn and Preuss - both their contracts expire at the end of the year. Signs not looking good for Flynn staying then? Suspect if Flynn goes, Preuss gets a year’s extension.

List Mgmt. 2023 GWS Giants List Management - Academy, Free Agent, Trade, Draft