Gold Coast
GWS

Around this time of the year I indulge in my annual ritual of tipping Geelong to slide. So here goes again:

01. BRI - depth all over the park and well coached
02. WBD - lots of talent and a potentially monster forward line
03. MEL - great mids, ruck and defence
04. SYD - young side with great talent
05. FRE - as with Sydney
06. CAR - great forward line and midfield
07. GEE - too old, too slow, too fat yada, yada, yada
08. RIC - addition of Taranto and Hopper will drag them into the 8

09. PAD - underachieve
10. ADE - will be better than many expect
11. COL - will not get the magic run of close games as last year
12. GWS - lost some midfeild depth in the off season
13. GCS - still not there
14. WCE - will be better, but still an ageing list
15. STK - too many injuries in off season
16. HAW - still not there
17. ESS - off season not great - some injuries
18. NME - long way off it

It's a mug's game especially when you're not brought up on footy but here goes:

Brisbane - need to crack it now
Geelong - still got great depth and a great home record
Melbourne - Grundy can rejuvenate them
Footscray - better balance between midfield and key position
Sydney - worried about a fading Franklin and GF hangover but still have a great culture
Collingwood - always in every game and some good pickups
Fremantle - very solid but still not convinced they have the firepower
Richmond - some ageing stars but have strengthened midfield from GWS
Carlton - lots of top end quality but doubt their mettle when the whips are cracking
Port Adelaide - will again flatter to deceive - lack the firepower to make finals
Adelaide - slightly optimistic from me here but hoping to climb in the right direction - I like Dawson as skipper
Gold Coast - on paper have the tools to really challenge the 8 but have never put together a full season
GWS - will be inconsistent and Taranto and Hopper will be missed but Kingsley is a good appointment
West Coast - massively underperformed although ageing but still have some proven quality
St Kilda - big injury list and lack of genuine star quality
Essendon - just seems like more turbulence
Hawthorn - big calls taken in the off-season but think they will pay off in the medium term
North Melbourne - still a long way off Clarkson or no Clarkson

Revised mine.
Thought I'd mix it up and count down.
Predicting this to be the first year in ages (or ever??) that none of the top 3 H&A teams make the in GF.

Pies to sneak home over Giants to win sweet 16.

... WW3 won't commence till end of the year, so won't interrupt the season .. the last season ever .. :flushed:🤯 (Pies flag far more distressing to most of you than a nuclear apocalypse of course).

18. NORTH - Fitzroy all over again. Will scrape 1, 2 wins for the year, maybe. Becomes WHEN not IF for the poor old Roos. Their 27 fans will be gutted
17. SAINTS - Just about as disastrous as the Roos' year. The Sex Pest gone by the bye. Plenty of talk about this mob's long term future too. ST. Torture.
16. EAGLES - Simmo's last year. Only the dumpster fires below them will save them from the spoon. Probably back to finals in 24 though, typically.
15. HAWKS - Unremarkable season from a once mighty, now meek club. Review should almost destroy them, but this is Australia so it won't, sadly.
14. SUNS - The bad news stories keep coming. There'll be no optimism to be found for their future. Even the AFL will know this isn't a goer.
13. FREO - Big sliders, can't retain players, can't attract players, may kill the career of a very promising coach. Anchor prevents progress, yet they still drift.
12. BOMBERS - Gone after 7 games, again. This badly flawed club's fortunes won't improve with a new failed coach. Lacking quality, character and identity.
11. BULLDOGS - 16's joy now extinguished and credits expired. That flag's after effects almost as bad as 1990s for the Pies. Bevo another coach gone.
10. ADELAIDE - Threaten at stages to be the big surprise but fall just short. Play some invigorating footy at times. Set up for a brilliant let down in 24.
9. RICHMOND - After too long (out) of the wilderness, the Tigers will finally be back where they belong. Dimma a chance to be yet another to go.
8. PORT - Start well but fade. Elimination final mauling means Ken's future very much in doubt.
7. SWANS - More consistent this year, but consistently mediocre. A few kids slide after mental disintegration in GF. Buddy, sadly 1 year too long.
6. CARLTON - Bank enough wins in first half this time. Bounced out in elimination. Fans realise this false dawn is even more painful then Billy's goal.
5. COLLINGWOOD - Tough fixture and usual bad luck with injuries but show up every week and do enough to play finals. Ignite when it counts. 🏆
4. GWS - Big improvers with a great new coach and some luck with injuries. Toby to be close to MVP. Kelly and a few others return to superstardom.
3. GEELONG - Face a far more challenging year but their mates at AFL House will keep them close enough. Tired old legs to finally embarrass before the GF.
2. BRISBANE - 2nd strongest list will be unbeatable at home but only capable of 1/3 good finals performances and will miss GF yet again.
1. MELBOURNE - Play plenty of sublime footy, obliterating many teams. But (mental) demons to emerge come September. Will disappoint in true Dees style.

1. Richmond Tigers
2. Brisbane Lions
3. Melbourne Demons
4. Fremantle Dockers
5. Geelong Cats
6. Gold Coast Suns
7. Carlton Blues
8. Sydney Swans

9. Port Adelaide Power
10. Collingwood Magpies
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Adelaide Crows
13. Greater western Sydney Giants
14. West Coast Eagles
15. Essendon Bombers
16. North Melbourne Kangaroos
17. St Kilda Saints
18. Hawthorn Hawks

Glong
Brezbun
Melbum
Cartun
Freantel dukers
Callinwud Peyes
Sidknee swuns
Weston buloogs
Adilad kruws
Sant ilda sants
Whorethan whorks
Guld cost sunz
Nort melbum kengerus
Wes coat egals
S N dun
Greytr Westun gyants
Purt adolad puwr
Richtmund tygurs

1. Brisbane
2. Fremantle
3. Sydney
4. Carlton
5. Richmond
6. Melbourne
7. Bulldogs
8. Collingwood
-
9. Geelong
10. Port Adelaide
11. Adelaide
12. Gold Coast
13. GWS
14. Essendon
15. St Kilda
16. Eagles
17. North Melbourne
18. Hawthorn

Taking the unusual step of predicting ladder positions of all teams and comparing them to a team from recent years instead of an explanation on each.

68 GEEL - Geelong 2019
64 MELB - Collingwood 2019
60 BRIS - Richmond 2019
60 W.B - Collingwood 2018
56 CARL - West Coast 2019
56 SYD - GWS 2018
56 FREM - Geelong 2018
52 RICH - Richmond 2022
---------------------------------
52 COLL - Carlton 2022
48 ESS - St.Kilda 2022
40 P.A - Port Adelaide 2022
40 G.C - Gold Coast 2022
36 ADEL - Fremantle 2019
36 G.W.S - Carlton 2021
32 St.K - Essendon 2022
28 W.C - Gold Coast 2021
24 HAW - Collingwood 2021
20 N.M - North Melbourne 2021.

Taking the unusual step of predicting ladder positions of all teams and comparing them to a team from recent years instead of an explanation on each.

68 GEEL - Geelong 2019
64 MELB - Collingwood 2019
60 BRIS - Richmond 2019
60 W.B - Collingwood 2018
56 CARL - West Coast 2019
56 SYD - GWS 2018
56 FREM - Geelong 2018
52 RICH - Richmond 2022
---------------------------------
52 COLL - Carlton 2022
48 ESS - St.Kilda 2022
40 P.A - Port Adelaide 2022
40 G.C - Gold Coast 2022
36 ADEL - Fremantle 2019
36 G.W.S - Carlton 2021
32 St.K - Essendon 2022
28 W.C - Gold Coast 2021
24 HAW - Collingwood 2021
20 N.M - North Melbourne 2021.
A wooden spoon team getting 5 wins has happened twice in the AFL era. Can't see it this year.

Last chance I guess

Brisbane
Port Adelaide
Gold Coast
Greater Western Sydney
St. Kilda

Brissie beat Rich in grannie

Last revision

1. Brisbane
2. Western Bulldogs
3. Sydney
4. Melbourne
5. Greater Western Sydney
6. Carlton
7. Collingwood
8. Adelaide
9. Richmond
10. Geelong
11. Fremantle
12. St Kilda
13. Gold Coast
14. Port Adelaide
15. Essendon
16. West Coast
17. North Melbourne
18. Hawthorn

1. Melbourne - if they can get their forward line working, they'll be nigh on unbeatable I think. Still should be very good regardless, unless May misses a large chunk of the season.
2. Brisbane Lions - I think they still have a few question marks in defence, but everything else looks frankly amazing. Will be tough to stop.
3. Geelong - they'll be right up there again. Only worry is that the hunger might recede with so many players getting older, but they won the last 16 games for a reason.
4. Fremantle - after the Top 3 it's a bit of a crapshoot I think. Fremantle could get worse with a few key losses but there's still tons to like about their side, their youngsters should only get better and they have a big HGA.
5. Sydney - the post-GF smashing hangover is definitely something to worry about, but I think the structures of the side seem more solid than those who imploded after a big GF loss. What does worry me somewhat is that I don't think they can have the same kind of injury run they did last season, but we shall see.
6. Richmond - in theory should improve on last season (they blew a number of games they got into the lead in, and their main weakness has been rectified), but is the list otherwise just getting a bit old? I think they probably balance each other out.
7. Collingwood - they won't go 11-1 in close games again (or maybe they will, lol) and you wonder if their gameplan gets exposed a bit this season, but there's still more than enough to like to suggest that they'll do well.
8. Adelaide - my smokey. I think they're on the verge of making Adelaide Oval a fortress again and their list seems to have some pretty exciting weapons. Usually one club comes out of nowhere to crack finals and I think Adelaide might be it.

9. Carlton - sorry Carlton fans but something just smells. They've still got lots of very good players and I wouldn't be surprised if they kick on, but the injuries worry me somewhat and I'm still not sold on Voss as a coach.
10. Western Bulldogs - not sure. They've got class but I think something isn't quite right. Maybe I'm wrong and they'll gun it, but I'm not sold.
11. Gold Coast - hard to gague. Last year was promising but even then they did limp towards the end of the season again. Not really sure about anything other than their midfield. Until they prove otherwise I'll remain pessismistic about them.
12. Port Adelaide - another side I'm not sure about. I still think they've got a solid list, but the preseason games looked bad. Maybe I'm reading too much into it (I probably am), but given their hard start to the year I'm worried they'll fall into another slump. Hinkley goes mid-season.
13. Essendon - again, it wouldn't surprise if they did have a good season out of nowhere ala 2021, but I think there's just too many holes as things stand. Frankly it's probably better for them they have a season like this rather than a new coach bump.
14. Greater Western Sydney - could surprise, but while they still have a good top-end their depth is worrying and I think it'll take time for Kingsley to put his ideal structures into place. At least they'll show signs that the future looks brighter than it did last year.
15. West Coast - won't be as bad as last season (obviously), but frankly there's just not enough class there anymore to remain anything more than plucky. Strugglers.
16. St Kilda - maybe Lyon can get something more out of this list, but typically his sides take a good year to work out the best structure and he also has spent the last 3 years out of the game. Right now their list looks very bland and already they've got a nasty injury list before a ball has been bounced.
17. Hawthorn - yeah, they're in full tank mode. But I think there's probably just about enough talent to at the very least roll a few teams. There'll be a lot of ugly losses but I think they're just about good enough to avoid the spoon.
18. North Melbourne - should improve (how could they not?) but alas I think it's another season down the bottom. Should cause a few upsets but I don't think it's going to be enough.

I'm expecting to maybe get a third of that right at most.

I did A ladder predictor....

View attachment 1631910

Yes I was biased with freo getting 6th and a home final....

Again.... tightness of the ladder.
With Wright out you might be right for us. I reckon you've really overrated Port there, I have them nowhere near the 8 and a genuine bottom 4 chance.

I dont think I am overrating Port.

They could easily have a good season.

I wont be surprised if they get 14 wins and 9 losses.

I dont think I am overrating Port.

They could easily have a good season.

I wont be surprised if they get 14 wins and 9 losses.
I'd be shocked if they got more than 8 wins.

I did A ladder predictor....

View attachment 1631910

Yes I was biased with freo getting 6th and a home final....

Again.... tightness of the ladder.
Oh dear, now I am worried as a Suns supporter. You have them going from 10 wins to 3 and percentage from 102 to 81.

Yes, Suns start season missing 7 players (most I would consider best 22) but all will be back by round 3-4 except Budarick. Surely, with King back and one more preseason into young players in midfield I would hope that Suns at least maintain the last year position :)

Oh dear, now I am worried as a Suns supporter. You have them going from 10 wins to 3 and percentage from 102 to 81.

Yes, Suns start season missing 7 players (most I would consider best 22) but all will be back by round 3-4 except Budarick. Surely, with King back and one more preseason into young players in midfield I would hope that Suns at least maintain the last year position :)
I just looked at the 2022 AFL ladder. Bloody hell, I didnt know your mob got 10 wins and 12 losses.

I thought it was another typical 6-8 win season.

Suns are similar to the crows. 5-10 chance of making the finals this season. Dont be upset if Both crows and suns post a 9 win or 10 win or 11 win season.

Prediction 2023 Ladder Prediction Thread