MRP / Trib. 2023 MRP Lotto

If the AFL are serious about the head Tom Stewart should get a month for that. Intentional, high impact, resulted in concussion.

Because it’s Geelong he’ll get 1 week reduced to a fine for an early guilt plea.

Honestly never thought Stewart would be that dirty.

Where was the AFL’s outcry when McKay got concussed from Bowes

Do you have to suffer a broken jaw or a trip to hospital for impact to be graded as severe ?, i doubt subbed out concussed would be enough for one of the "good guys", and i bet the "potential to cause injury" clause will not be trotted out either.

Christian: The "potential to cause injury" standard has not been met, because it did cause injury. The rule specifically states it must be "potential" to cause injury. No case to answer.

If you look closely in the crowd, just prior to Prestia flipping the ball over to his mate, you will see someone in the crowd who drives a Camry. That person is both facing north and pointing. There is no pen. Thus, JHF is steadfast in refusing to sign his new contract and heading North, out of Melbourne in a Camry.

Lindsay Thomas would get 5, JZ would get 5. Tommy Hawkins'd get 2, Cotchin'd just about get off. Caleb Daniel would have got him in the ribs.

On the 'Ben Ainsworth Scale' this should be at least a $250 fine.

Stewart will rightfully get the high/high treatment, maybe even classified as severe due to potential to cause injury due to just how unprotected the bloke was.

Fyfe should get a week. Was pushing everyone, knew it was the ump, even with being pushed himself he wasn't going to fall into him or anything. It was straight up disregard. If Greene can be crucified for disregarding an ump and making contact while walking past them I don't see how this is much different.

As much as I have zero confidence in Michael Christian and the MRP, I do think they'll give Stewart a fair holiday for that

Then again, according to them:
Rip an opponent's headband out - $1000 fine
Elbow an opponent in the head, resulting in said opponent being concussed and subbed out - nothing to answer for

So perhaps if Stewart had've feigned a kick when he knocked Prestia out, he might've received the "nothing to see here" treatment as well

1656155869795.png

Of course he is. This was a bump that actually did make high contact.

Should have been 50 against Jones for running through the protected zone as well.

Mitigating factor: It's Parker that was hit. Discount on penalty for taking out a prick.

I just read that Sicily got a $1000 fine for taking off Naughton's headband. Sure, both might be flogs, but since when was taking off an opposition player's headband a reportable offence? AFL are just making this up as they go along.
I don't care one way or another if a player wants to have long hair, but it is rediculous that the AFL MRP fines somebody for taking off an opposition player's headband. In some high spirited moments we've seen players having jumpers ripped, occasionally ripped right off - there is no penalty applied.

But in this instance, the MRP has graded the taking off of an opposition player's headband to be more severe than concussing an opponent and that makes them an absolute farce.

I just read that Sicily got a $1000 fine for taking off Naughton's headband. Sure, both might be flogs, but since when was taking off an opposition player's headband a reportable offence? AFL are just making this up as they go along.
I bet they are wishing they could go back in time and suspend Buckets for tipping out that * flog's beer.

I think Stewart will be sent straight to the tribunal and they will give him 4 weeks. He had a brain fade and ran past the ball and in truth it was out of character, nevertheless he will get weeks.

I'm not so sure about Jones. If you watch the footage carefully, he was stationary prior to impact, turned sideways to brace himself for contact. Surely he has the right to protect himself from injury, because if he hadn't he would have been carted off on a stretcher in all sorts of trouble. He would have reacted instinctively to protect himself, without even thinking, because self preservation kicks in, in most cases like that.

Irrespective of where he was looking, Fyfe has to get a week. Umpire contact is taboo, even though the umpire looks like a dweeb and should never have been in the middle of that little fracas in the first place.

As to Sicily, he should have realised that Naughton is a bulldogs player and he is nearly as much of a protected species as is the bont.

Having said all that, after, seeing Ainsworths raised elbow to concuss Ben McKay go unpunished, my view is the system is a joke and the word Lotto in this thread says it all.

I think Stewart will be sent straight to the tribunal and they will give him 4 weeks. He had a brain fade and ran past the ball and in truth it was out of character, nevertheless he will get weeks.

I'm not so sure about Jones. If you watch the footage carefully, he was stationary prior to impact, turned sideways to brace himself for contact. Surely he has the right to protect himself from injury, because if he hadn't he would have been carted off on a stretcher in all sorts of trouble. He would have reacted instinctively to protect himself, without even thinking, because self preservation kicks in, in most cases like that.

Irrespective of where he was looking, Fyfe has to get a week. Umpire contact is taboo, even though the umpire looks like a dweeb and should never have been in the middle of that little fracas in the first place.

As to Sicily, he should have realised that Naughton is a bulldogs player and he is nearly as much of a protected species as is the bont.

Having said all that, after, seeing Ainsworths raised elbow to concuss Ben McKay go unpunished, my view is the system is a joke and the word Lotto in this thread says it all.
Reckon Fyfe would be stiff to go. He was pushed towards umpire and put his hand out to brace expecting further contact. Ump didn't even react at all.

They are saying the Stewart one is only reckless because it’s in play, yet JHF was intentional and no later than Stewart.

Let’s what Christen make up a new interpretation to lessen the suspension for Stewart.

I wouldn’t be surprised if he finds a way to give him 2 weeks just for the LOL’s.