Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

I'll be open from the start here- I wouldn't have Duursma in the top 10 players, and dare I say even as far as the top 15 of this draft class and so my evaluation will reflect that. He and Moir are two I haven't understood since the beginning of this season, and Moir has more obviously bombed with his performances, leading to him dropping, but I think with Duursma the concerns are not so much output related as there being a lack of standout AFL traits.

Zane Duursma
189cm, 79kg
91 vertical
3.036 20m
8.379 agility
640 yo-yo

2022 Coates stats (14 games)
15.5 disposals, 3.7 marks, 2.5 tackles, 3.6 clearances, 2.2 goals, 5.8 score involvements, 127 ranking points

2023 Coates stats so far (5 games)
21.2 disposals, 5.2 marks, 4.8 tackles, 3.6 clearances, 2.4 goals, 7.0 score involvements, 106 ranking points

Pros
  • Exciting athletic profile
  • Genuine threat in the forward 50m due to his ability above his head
  • Can impact all over the ground and is a difficult match-up due to height/athletic profile/ability overhead
  • Was really impactful last year and has backed it up this year
  • Provides really good outside run and projects well as a potential AFL-level winger
  • Really nice finisher in front of goals

Cons
  • Handballing under pressure/in tight is quite poor
  • He tends to avoid contact despite his height
  • Can make the odd poor decision by foot too often for my liking
  • Do we need another midfielder or medium-forward?
  • Lack of power, leads to him not being able to break through tackles and being more outside
  • Can lack cleanliness below the knees

Nick Watson
170cm, 67kg
94 vertical
2.932 20m
8.103 agility
640 yo-yo

2022 Coates stats (7 games)
11.9 disposals, 2.4 marks, 2.4 tackles, 0.9 clearances, 2.6 goals, 6.9 score involvements, 91 ranking points

2023 Coates stats (3 games)
26 disposals, 5.7 marks, 3.7 tackles, 2.3 clearances, 1.7 goals, 8.7 score involvements, 143 ranking points

Pros
  • Athletic
  • Versatile (can play in any 3rd)
  • Excellent skills, particularly by foot
  • Excellent below the knees
  • Great body control in tackles and power which allows him to slip them
  • Elite goal sense
  • Dynamic

Cons
  • Height
  • Limited scope for development due to height/weight and athletic profile already being very good.

Good stuff mate.

How would you compare 2023 Duursma vs 2020 Hollands?

Do you think Watson would lose or enhance his strengths if he happened to grow another 2-3cm? Not out of the question at 17-18yo.

Good stuff mate.

How would you compare 2023 Duursma vs 2020 Hollands?

Do you think Watson would lose or enhance his strengths if he happened to grow another 2-3cm? Not out of the question at 17-18yo.

Hollands was a mercurial forward flanker with a skill-set that is right up there with what you might see at underage level. His foot-skills in particular were excellent but he struggled with his defensive game and was poor in congestion as he really lacked composure in traffic. He had a game that led itself to having an amazing highlight reel, but he struggled to consistently bring a well-rounded game.

Duursma has solid exposed form in the midfield and could develop to be a good AFL midfielder, but right now he does his best work as a forward who works hard between the arcs. He doesn't have anywhere near the same foot-skills as Hollands, but applies himself defensively in a way Hollands didn't and he is also better overhead. I think if I could really sum up my biggest concern with Duursma - he lacks power, avoids contact but also isn't super agile. This combination is a big red flag for me.

Watson - Enhance for sure.

I'll be open from the start here- I wouldn't have Duursma in the top 10 players, I'd struggle to get him in the top 15 and the reality is he's probably in the early 20's for me right now, so my evaluation will reflect that. He and Moir are two I haven't understood since the beginning of this season, and Moir has more obviously bombed with his performances, leading to him dropping, but I think with Duursma the concerns are not so much output related as there being a lack of standout AFL traits.

Zane Duursma
189cm, 79kg
91 vertical
3.036 20m
8.379 agility
640 yo-yo

15.5 disposals, 3.7 marks, 2.5 tackles, 3.6 clearances, 2.2 goals, 5.8 score involvements, 127 ranking points

21.2 disposals, 5.2 marks, 4.8 tackles, 3.6 clearances, 2.4 goals, 7.0 score involvements, 106 ranking points

Pros
  • Can impact all over the ground and is a difficult match-up due to height/athletic profile/ability overhead
  • Provides really good outside run and projects well as a potential AFL-level winger

Cons
  • Lack of power, leads to him not being able to break through tackles and being more outside

Nick Watson
170cm, 67kg
94 vertical
2.932 20m
8.103 agility
640 yo-yo

11.9 disposals, 2.4 marks, 2.4 tackles, 0.9 clearances, 2.6 goals, 6.9 score involvements, 91 ranking points

26 disposals, 5.7 marks, 3.7 tackles, 2.3 clearances, 1.7 goals, 8.7 score involvements, 143 ranking points

Pros
  • Athletic
  • Elite goal sense
  • Dynamic

Cons
  • Height
  • Limited scope for development due to height/weight and athletic profile already being very good.
Sounds like Kale Morton

I'll be open from the start here- I wouldn't have Duursma in the top 10 players, I'd struggle to get him in the top 15 and the reality is he's probably in the early 20's for me right now, so my evaluation will reflect that. He and Moir are two I haven't understood since the beginning of this season, and Moir has more obviously bombed with his performances, leading to him dropping, but I think with Duursma the concerns are not so much output related as there being a lack of standout AFL traits.

Zane Duursma
189cm, 79kg
91 vertical
3.036 20m
8.379 agility
640 yo-yo

Pros

Cons

Nick Watson
170cm, 67kg
94 vertical
2.932 20m
8.103 agility
640 yo-yo

Pros
  • Athletic
  • Elite goal sense
  • Dynamic

Cons
  • Height
Thanks Souup - In your opinion who are the key competition with Watson at Pick 2? McKercher? Caddy? Other?

I like Watson, Edwards, Caddy and Wilson. I want to go back and review some footage of McKercher before I make a more educated call on him, but at this stage I have him closer to 10 than 1, but I could easily push him into the top 5 if I see things on vision that catch my eye.

Consensus doesn't seem to be as high on Edwards and Wilson, so reality is it's probably Watson and Caddy at this stage.

Would O’Sullivan be a good McKay replacement if he left. Guess O’Sullivan would be a 10-20 pick. Could get O’Sullivan + another player for McKay.

I don't know as much as others but in terms of needs I'd have Watson or Caddy at pick 2.
If McKay goes and we get band 1, welcome wizard and shack at picks 2 and 3.
Could we trade a future 1st into this year for top 5 and get a future 2nd back and target Wilson?

Zane Duursma
189cm, 79kg
91 vertical
3.036 20m
8.379 agility
640 yo-yo

Pros

Cons

Nick Watson
170cm, 67kg
94 vertical
2.932 20m
8.103 agility
640 yo-yo

Pros
  • Athletic
  • Elite goal sense
  • Dynamic

Cons
  • Height
You don’t have serious concerns Souup that he’s Caleb Daniel height? All his stats are amazing, but the height a massive worry for me.

None at all. If anything, it'll help him win a fair share of high free kicks.

His combination of skills, smarts, composure, cleanliness, athletic traits and goal sense is crazy. He'll be a fan favourite and get people through the gates.

I've said it before, but if he was 10cm taller we'd be talking about whether it should be Reid or Watson at #1.

dont understand why height is a major consideration, the ball is often on the ground in afl footy
Yeah fair call. I guess I’m more concerned re size in the contest, but he does sound pretty special.
I also feel like we’ve got too many blokes around the 180cm, so then going one at 170 feels like we will be a very small side.

None at all. If anything, it'll help him win a fair share of high free kicks.

His combination of skills, smarts, composure, cleanliness, athletic traits and goal sense is crazy. He'll be a fan favourite and get people through the gates.

I've said it before, but if he was 10cm taller we'd be talking about whether it should be Reid or Watson at #1.
Perfect summation mate. Appreciate it.

AFL Draft 2023: Harley Reid set to return in under-18 national championships​

One of the best runners in this year’s pool is set to be one of the most-watched players in the Under-18 carnival as he continues to surge up draft boards.

Chris Cavanagh

June 16, 2023 - 6:00AM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

Vic Country is set to begin its campaign in the under-18 national championships on Sunday with a match against South Australia at Princes Park.

But some teams have already played two matches in the championships, with a number of players putting their names up in lights.

Here is all the latest AFL Draft news from around the country.

REID READY FOR RETURN
Expected No. 1 draft pick Harley Reid will play his first game in more than a month this weekend as Vic Country begins its campaign in the AFL under-18 national championships.

Reid has not played since suffering a concussion when he copped an accidental knee during an exhibition match for the AFL Academy side on May 13.

The 18-year-old had planned to return for the Bendigo Pioneers in the Coates Talent League a fortnight ago but was held back to further rest and recover after a busy start to the season which saw him play games for the Pioneers, AFL Academy and Carlton’s VFL side.

Vic Country will meet South Australia in its first game of the championships at Princes Park on Sunday.

“He can’t wait to get out there,” Vic Country coach Paul Corrigan said of Reid.

“What he was able to do last year was super important as a bottom-ager and we’re looking forward to seeing what he can do as a top-ager.”

Reid was named on a halfback flank in the under-18 All-Australian team last year after playing for Vic Country as a 17-year-old in last year’s championships.

However, he is likely to spend more time in the front half of the ground for Vic Country this year.

“He could play a bit of everywhere because he is so versatile,” Corrigan said.

“We’ll use him in a range of different positions. We probably see him playing midfield-forward but he did play down back a little bit last year for us a bottom-ager. So he does have adaptability to play in multiple positions.”

The match will be broadcast on Fox Footy from 10.30am on Sunday, available through Foxtel and Kayo.

Likely No. 1 draft pick Harley Reid has not played a game in over a month. Picture: Michael Klein

SANDERS STARRING
A Tasmanian midfielder has made a dazzling start to the under-18 national championships, playing a starring role in each of the Allies’ first two matches.

Ryley Sanders, who is described as a “midfield bull”, was best afield in the Allies’ first match against South Australian with 35 disposals and two goals and backed up that performance with 39 disposals and one goal against Western Australia last weekend.

Originally from Launceston, Sanders moved to Melbourne last year to attend school at Melbourne Grammar and has been playing for Sandringham Dragons in the Coates Talent League.

He lists Melbourne’s Clayton Oliver as a player he looks up to.

“Everyone sees the volume of disposals he gets but the way he gets his ball and his running patterns have just improved enormously through this year,” Sandringham Dragons coach Rob Harding said.

“I think he’s always been a ball magnet. He’s always found a way to do it. But even from round 1 to his games now, he’s playing an AFL standard for contest work and midfield running patterns.

“He’s worked hard on his fitness. He’s ultra-professional, Riley. You’d struggle to find a more professional player in the Coates League.

“He’s a midfield bull, but he’s a nice kick when he gets out in some space and he brings his teammates in the game really well. He’s quite selfless player.”

Ryley Sanders is a midfield bull who originally hails from Tasmania. Picture: Getty Images

DASHING DARCY

A running machine who has been racking up plenty of touches this season is fast firming as a top-end draft selection.

Murray Bushrangers midfielder Darcy Wilson has impressed at every turn this season and recruiters will be eagerly watching what he can do for Vic Country in the under-18 national championships.

Across six games for the Bushrangers in the Coates Talent League, Wilson has averaged 22.7 disposals, 3.7 clearances, 5.7 score involvements and 1.7 goals.

He also played a key role in the AFL Academy’s two games in April and May, logging 19 disposals against Port Adelaide’s SANFL side and backing it up with 12 disposals and a goal against Carlton’s VFL team.

Wilson finished ninth in the Yo-Yo test during pre-season Victorian testing, clocking a level of 21.08.

“He’s a super athlete in how he runs and works up the ground and gets back as a high half-forward or playing on a wing,” Vic Country coach Paul Corrigan said.

“He uses the ball really well and what we like about him too is he does finish his work in front of goal. So I’m looking forward to seeing him clock up the kilometres throughout the carnival. He’s been really impressive all through the year and when he’s played for the AFL Academy as well.”

Darcy Wilson is a running machine on a wing or across half-forward. Picture: Michael Klein

SUNS SET TO HIT JACKPOT
Gold Coast will have priority access to two of the top talls in the country in this year’s draft, with key forward Jed Walter and mobile ruckman Ethan Read quickly climbing up the draft boards of recruiters.

Walter has firmed as a top-five draft prospect after a bumper first two games of the under-18 national championships with the Allies, while Read is also firmly in the first-round mix after producing some equally impressive performances in the same team.

Both are members of the Gold Coast Suns Academy.

A strong and powerful 195cm forward who crashes packs and has drawn comparisons to Port Adelaide’s Charlie Dixon, Walter has averaged 13.5 disposals and has kicked six goals across his first two matches for the Allies.

Read – who has been likened to former AFL ruckman Paddy Ryder – has averaged 19.5 disposals, 7.5 marks, 12 hit-outs and 0.5 goals in his first two matches of the championships.

Allies coach Mark McVeigh last week predicted Walter would be playing in the AFL by this time next year.

“Jed is clearly an exciting talent,” McVeigh said.

“I don’t like putting a number on it but he is a top-five (draft pick) in my mind.

“Teams will be out there saying ‘Gee I’d love to get him’ because he can lead the way for a long time but the Suns won’t let that happen.”

ADAPTABLE GEORGE

One of the best-performed players in the Coates Talent League this season is ready for his chance to shine on the national stage this weekend.

Greater Western Victoria Rebels midfielder George Stevens will play for Vic Country in the under-18 national championships as he looks to continue what has been a stunning season so far.

After missing the entire 2022 season with an ACL injury, Stevens has not missed a beat this year and has averaged 150 SuperCoach ranking points across his six matches in the Coates Talent League – the seventh-highest average of any player in the competition.

He also featured for Geelong in one VFL match in round 6 and did not look out of place as he racked up 16 disposals and three clearances.

While he is primarily a big-bodied midfielder, Stevens has also spent time across halfback this season and is likely to play in both positions during the championships.

“He’s adaptable,” Vic Country coach Paul Corrigan said.

“He’s one that can be really strong for us in the contested side of things winning clearances as an inside midfielder, but he can also give you stability across the halfback line as well with the way he controls and he reads the play really well as well. He can really set your offence up from behind the ball so we’ll use him in a number of positions as well.”

Hailing from the Victorian town of Warrnambool, Stevens is the younger brother of Carlton VFL player Archie Stevens.

Love that VC team, lots of interesting prospects.
Looking forward to seeing D. Wilson & Freijah on either wing. Obviously H. Reid & Duursma hopefully in the middle. Anastasopoulos & A. Reid up forward. Hastie, B. Wilson & Lual down back. DeMattia also one I’ll look out for. They all should come into our thinking at a variety of picks.

Country championships coach reveals Reid plans​

Matthew Forrest

Geelong Advertiser

Clear favourite for the number one pick, Harley Reid’s role in the upcoming has been revealed by his coach.

Vic Country and Geelong Falcons coach Paul Corrigan has revealed where he will play outstanding prospect Harley Reid in the upcoming under-18s national championships.

The 2022 ‘runners up are set to begin their campaign for redemption on Sunday against South Australia after suffering a seven-point defeat in the final round of the season to hand the premiership to Vic Metro.

Corrigan said the clear number one prospect in the 2023 draft would primarily play through the midfield and forward line throughout the championships after spending much of the 2022 championships on the half back line.

“I think it’ll be in that midfielder-forward mix, but we won’t be afraid to throw him behind the footy if we need to after what we saw him do last year,” he said.

“He’s been playing more as that forward and midfielder for Bendigo in the games that he has played, so he’ll probably start with that and we’ll see how he’s performing.

“He’s just a no-fuss type of player, he puts his head down and gets the work done, so I’m sure if we ask him to play a different sort of role he’ll really take that on with no worries.”

Through Reid’s three games in the Coates Talent League this season he has averaged 22.3 disposals at 78.p per cent efficiency, 14.7 contested possessions, 5.3 clearances, 7.3 score involvements, four tackles and 1.7 goals per game.

He has also impressed against bigger bodies in the VFL for Carlton, averaging 17 disposals, six tackles, 5.5 contested possessions, 5.5 marks and five score involvements in his two games there.

Corrigan said Reid was every bit the top-line prospect football fans were salivating over, with the Dustin Martin clone set to be the first picked in the 2023 AFL Draft.

“Obviously he’s got immense talent but we challenged him last year to play in the back line and he took it on board, he could’ve quite easily said he wanted to play midfield or forward,” he said.

“Instead he took that challenge and did it really well, he was super consistent for us through the carnival.

“He’s got that ability to play anywhere, he’s got that carefree attitude where he doesn’t get bottled down by mistakes, I’m really looking forward to seeing what he can do.

“Whatever club is lucky enough to get him has got a good one.”