Puff the magic dragon.
Keviitt still looks like he needs to hit the weights. Good to see lesser known names being mentioned.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
PFD has not helped with his innocent conclusions.. and he might be right but id hold my tongue on analogies like that for a while.
Judd is a ridiculously high bar - and while Max appears to have the tools... im not sure the pressure and hyperbole is needed.
But the toothpaste is out now so it is what it is.
GO Catters
Always liked Bobby. Many of his earlier contributions were "collectors items"!Actually had an exchange via private conversation, won’t share the messages Without permission from bob out of good will, but all I will say was Bobby was all class and humble about everything. I have a lot of respect for him, and I would find it hard pressed for anyone else to take issue if they heard similar praise for the coach and team.
Am very happy to back him in catscollector
Henry is signed to 2024 footywire is wrong.So a bit bored (Cricket doesn't do it for me) - thought I would go through the players who have one year left (to end of 23)
From footywire (in first name alphabet order)
Close, Whyte, Rat, Kroeger, Rohan, Miers, Smith, Willis, Cegs, Blitz, Knevitt, Henry, Dempsey, Riccardi, Murdoch, Stanley, Menegola, Simpson, Neale, Hawke, Stengle, Tuohy
So that is 22 (half the list) that the club has a choice to keep or let go. Wow - what great flexibility for a club with a strong list and coming off a premiership.
In my mind there is 6 MUST signs…maybe 7
Close, Miers, Blitz, Henry, Neale, Stengle…one of Cegs/Stanley
Add Hawke who will get the choice…
Of the young youngs I think you have to sign at least 3 as “almost musts”
Dempsey, Henry, Mitch
So that is only 10-11 that I expect the club will think they dont have a choice (in a good way) but that still leaves 11 spots for them to be pretty ruthless in terms of upgrading the list and looking to the next dynasty…
Of the older crew we have Rohen, Tuohy, Menegola, Smith depending on how they are holding up for one more year.
And then the young ones will depend I expect on clubs view of potential vs other options to fill the list…
I would think they wouldn’t change more than 6-7 so a handful of the rest will be signed but by definition they will be highly regarding by the club! Exciting times
With good reason. The club absolutely revived him too, so it's not like the relationship has been all one way. We'll see if he blows out the cap. If someone godfathers him he's a DFA so we get whatever we get in compo reallyStengle is gonna be looking for quite a pay rise.
The issue wont be $ we will have stacks of cap (retirements)unless some club goes stupid and offers him like 850k. It will be balancing a long term deal to give him the security he needs but with clauses to protect us if he goes off the rails again.With good reason. The club absolutely revived him too, so it's not like the relationship has been all one way. We'll see if he blows out the cap. If someone godfathers him he's a DFA so we get whatever we get in compo really
The older players i guess it's a wait and see, as we don't no what ones will drop in form, but not all will go on again in 2024So a bit bored (Cricket doesn't do it for me) - thought I would go through the players who have one year left (to end of 23)
Close, Whyte, Rat, Kroeger, Rohan, Miers, Smith, Willis, Cegs, Blitz, Knevitt, Henry, Dempsey, Riccardi, Murdoch, Stanley, Menegola, Simpson, Neale, Hawke, Stengle, Tuohy
So that is 22 (half the list) that the club has a choice to keep or let go. Wow - what great flexibility for a club with a strong list and coming off a premiership.
Dempsey, Henry, Mitch
So that is only 10-11 that I expect the club will think they dont have a choice (in a good way) but that still leaves 11 spots for them to be pretty ruthless in terms of upgrading the list and looking to the next dynasty…
Of the older crew we have Rohen, Tuohy, Menegola, Smith depending on how they are holding up for one more year.
And then the young ones will depend I expect on clubs view of potential vs other options to fill the list…
I would think they wouldn’t change more than 6-7 so a handful of the rest will be signed but by definition they will be highly regarding by the club! Exciting times
Agree. We had only two drop off in 2022 when most predicted a few more.The older players i guess it's a wait and see, as we don't no what ones will drop in form, but not all will go on again in 2024
I am old enough to remember when a premiership team (hawks in 80’s and 90s and cats in 00’s and others) were built in the VFL. Ie. A large core of players played 2-3 years or more in the vfl. Looked to win a VFL premiership while the AFL team was also competing with “older guys”.On the older guys I reckon they’ll squeeze every last drop out of them particularly given the Tassie team coming in soon.
Apart from Selwood who deserved to finish on his own terms but could’ve gone on, Higgins and Dahl looked shot going into the season.
None of the senior guys appear that way this time around.
Game management will be huge given the depth we now have. And as much as shiny new toys are nice I’m more than happy for us to double down on the old guys, look at the odd free agent and hope Wells and Mackie can find the odd diamond to complement the new group coming through in 3-4 years.
Yep. Patience grasshopper.I am old enough to remember when a premiership team (hawks in 80’s and 90s and cats in 00’s and others) were built in the VFL. Ie. A large core of players played 2-3 years or more in the vfl. Looked to win a VFL premiership while the AFL team was also competing with “older guys”.
It feels like maybe we are in that position? A few of these boys might play 50 plus games in VFL and build a core group to continue the dynasty? Just need patience, the odd taste and continued development. Whilst I am keen to see these “shiny new toys” I am ok to continue to get that fix by watching the VFL
Here is my list per the Cat Scan Contracts thread I keep.So a bit bored (Cricket doesn't do it for me) - thought I would go through the players who have one year left (to end of 23)
Dempsey, Henry, Mitch
i am interested in your opinion of how many get re-signed overall. And they must signs as it stands nowHere is my list per the Cat Scan Contracts thread I keep.
1. Rhys Stanley 2023 Rhys Stanley Article Link
2. Zach Touhy 2023: Zach Touhy Article Link
7. Isaac Smith 2023: Isaac Smith Article Link
10. Mitch Knevitt 2023: Mitch Knevitt Article Link
11 Cooper Whyte 2023 Cooper Whyte Article Link
15. Johnathon Ceglar 2023 Johnathon Ceglar Article Link
17. Esava Ratugolea 2023 Esava Ratugolea Article Link
18. Tyson Stengle 2023 Tyson Stengle Article Link
20. James Willis 2023: James Willis Article Link
23. Gary Rohan 2023 Gary Rohan Artlcle Link
25. Flynn Kroeger 2023: Flynn Kroeger Article Link
26. Tom Hawkins 2023 Tom Hawkins Article Link
27. Sam Menegola 2023 Sam Menegola Article Link
28. Oliie Dempsey 2023 : Ollie Dempsey Article Link
32. Gryan Miers 2023 Two More For Miers
33. Shannon Neale 2023: Shannon Neale Article Link
37. Sam Simpson 2022 Simpson Signs Contract Extension
45. Bradley Close 2023 Brad Close Article Link
46. Mark Blicavs 2023 Blicavs a Cat until 2023
GO Catters
Ok. So you might be older than me then!Yep. Patience grasshopper.
I posted this in the Drafting and Trading thread 3 days ago....i am interested in your opinion of how many get re-signed overall. And they must signs as it stands now
i am interested in your opinion of how many get re-signed overall. And they must signs as it stands now
I'm 46.Ok. So you might be older than me then!
I posted this in the Drafting and Trading thread 3 days ago....
So im bored and there is no news...
thus:
2023 Senior list changes -
Locks to call it IMO or be told:
Zac Touhy
Isaac Smith
Gary Rohan
Maybes;
Rhys Stanley
Johnathon Ceglar
Esava Rategolea
Sam Menegola
Tom Hawkins
Thats 3 for sure IMO and up to 8 if all the maybe bounce out - its unlikely they'd all go.
But you'd imagine it will give us some TPP and SC space too. We'd have some we really need to re-sign as well so that cash will be redeployed but id imagine we could chase a FA if someone wanted to be here.
GO Catters
Next year we're going to make sure we catch up again.whipper snapper
GO Catters
And whilst Eddie is gone from the club, Stengle is his personal mate and success story.The issue wont be $ we will have stacks of cap (retirements)unless some club goes stupid and offers him like 850k. It will be balancing a long term deal to give him the security he needs but with clauses to protect us if he goes off the rails again.