Preview 2023 Pre-Season discussion

Right on the money geelong_crazy26
Neale was a National 400 & 800m runner as a Junior athlete , also ran a 6.35 2km in the WA combine.
Also recorded a standing vertical of 73cm and a running vertical of 86cm in the Combine.

Was lucky enough to see him do a 10 minute session over here after the match along with the other travelling emergencies - geez he looked good in the running and skills drills for a 203cm player :thumbsu:
Neale looked pretty good in the Grand Final 100m sprint.

I agree that "once in a generational talent" is way over the top.
However I'm also a big fan as 203cm athletes with his footy IQ and skills are rare and well worth persevering with - plus he's still very young and still developing. His goal kicking has the potential to be elite.
I think he played all over the shop in the VFL but he did well in the games where he was predominantly forward.
We will get a better look at him this season - wish him well :thumbsu:

I have watched heaps of footy in the lower leagues and some players stand out for some reason.
Neale is a rare one that catches my eye.

If Neale stays fit and gets a shot I think he has this potential.
It is my opinion and is not based on facts.

Time will tell.

Locking the thread for cleaning - there seems a good amount of unnecessary crap posted during the day

Note though that it may take a while... I've not long got home from work and have a few things to do, such as cooking dinner, eating & such

After reading through content from the past 24 hours I decided to take time to read things a second & third time before acting - rather disappointed to see those still taking pot shots & seemingly thinking nothing of doing so

WE DON'T ALL KNOW what's going on in the personal lives of our Big Footy mates, and no-one should be put in a position of just laughing it off negative interactions - whether it's a direct response/reply to a poster or how one reacts to what another has said. SO START ACTING LIKE ADULTS and realise that all interactions on here have the power to have a positive & unfortunately negative impact on others

There's an expectation of behaviour when posting on this forum, Setting The Tone
and while the thread may say 2022, trust me when I say there's a common theme year on year:
- Argue the point without going the poster

Healthy debate & discussion is encouraged, but keep to the topic being discussed - note that that doesn't include pot shots at others simply because you don't agree with them. Surely that's not a difficulty concept to understand...

Our first hit out for the year is less than 18 days away and Round 1 just 40 days away - so time to get our heads back into sensible conduct, because I know that no one here wants to be sitting on the sidelines once the team is back out on the field

I would argue that it was Blicavs’ work ethic that got him where he is, I’m not suggesting he had ZERO talent but in terms of his skill set he was definitely an athlete first and a footballer second when he arrived at the club. His determination to work on his deficiencies and perseverance helped him to consolidate his football game to the point that we now have a bonafide AA utility.

Neale came through the national draft so his perceived talent as a footballer is already acknowledged by the people that matter - the club. He too possesses an admirable work ethic and as a result has built his fitness and strength in a shorter time frame than might have been expected.

Words like talent and skill can mean different things to different people

On a conceptual level this is how I perceive it

1. Talent: Innate usually physical
2. Skill: Developed through practice/training

Whether a player is successful in performing an action on the ground is based on numerous skills and talents

Think about the act of marking on the lead

Talent: the players height, frame, hand size, arm length, natural speed, hand eye coordination

Skill: Weight, running technique, power/speed gained from training, ability to read the play, experience in activity

Think about how you would measure some of those, while others are unmeasurable

The less talent a player has the more skilled they need to be to reach a given output and vice versa

If you look at the 2nd tier of football you find a lot of sub 180cm, slow (relative to AFL level), unexplosive ball winners. These guys are crazy skilled but from a talent perspective the edges of the bell curved are a bitch, fractions of a second on the ground becomes the difference between 10 years at VFL and at least mediocre AFL career. It isn't drive that holds these players back, they just don't (or at least perceived to not) have enough talent in the right places to compensate or they have some deficiencies that can't be overcome through strong performance in other areas.

Promotion and relegation makes these types of players extremely valuable, the current AFL structure makes them near worthless.

IMO clubs should be more willing to give these types of players a go. From a talent perspective what separates Tom Atkins from Jye Chalcraft, they'd be 50 other Chalcrafts out there.

Goes back to the million dollar recruitment question how **** did they find Close. Not much measurable in what makes Close Close

Back to Neale, plenty of talent, skills look good at this stage. But KPF is a hard role to break into, that being said we're about to have some vacancies. Won't know how good he is until he gets some games.

I have watched heaps of footy in the lower leagues and some players stand out for some reason.

Time will tell.
I have said he has all the tools, so not saying a star yet like i did with Holmes, but Neale can take pack marks gold in the AFL these days.

Geelong being extremely quiet
Apart from comment by Dwanye Russell we would have no idea how any of our new recruits/draftees are going.
I noticed that too. To be fair we have had a bit on Tanner and O Henry but nothing on Jack?

But on the draftees it has been very low hype which feels much different to last year. I made an earlier post saying that I have found it hard to have the same love for this years crop that I have for dempsey Toby Mitch Whyte etc and I think that is purely due to my knowledge or lack of them.

Maybe my mind is playing tricks and I developed that through the practice and vfl games to come…. But I am pretty sure this time last year we had a good sense of hype around the draftees?

I hope we start to get to know this crop soon. And on Jack I have no clue as to where he fits into the priority list?

I noticed that too. To be fair we have had a bit on Tanner and O Henry but nothing on Jack?

But on the draftees it has been very low hype which feels much different to last year. I made an earlier post saying that I have found it hard to have the same love for this years crop that I have for dempsey Toby Mitch Whyte etc and I think that is purely due to my knowledge or lack of them.

Maybe my mind is playing tricks and I developed that through the practice and vfl games to come…. But I am pretty sure this time last year we had a good sense of hype around the draftees?

I hope we start to get to know this crop soon. And on Jack I have no clue as to where he fits into the priority list?
Even the little bit of info we have had on Tanner and Oliver has been throw away lines by Russell and Jenkins.
We aren’t getting this from coaches or vision.
Unless they’re keeping stuff close to there chest which wouldn’t surprise me.

I’m pretty sure Bowes has mentioned in an interview that he will play mid.
But so will Tanner, going to be an exciting season ahead and our future is looking nice atm

Last year was all about giving some kids a go, this year we do not need to put pressure on any of them just let them play, Henry. Bruhn and Bowes is enough.

Someone said Bruhn had the ball on a string in a training drill yesterday... Not sure if that means much to me but it's positive at least.
I am surprised there’s been no one from here that went last night and gave an update
It was training though, so injury news would be the only legitimate thing you could gain from watching

Someone said Bruhn had the ball on a string in a training drill yesterday... Not sure if that means much to me but it's positive at least.
Its a negative, the ball on a string isn't what you think it means.

Its one of these;
1675738931285.png

It seems GWS has ruined him so badly, we have had to train him as if he was in u10s footy. Thats the Leon Cameron effect for you.

Love the turnout down in Warrnambool today, and how awesome that our Premiership last year has converted some youngsters too seeing the light

Loved the kid saying they were changing from Richmond to Geelong! :D Club should give him a membership to make sure he sticks!

Time will tell.
If nothing else the vibe around him and from him is solid I reckon
FBKOd6mVEAgWHWp

Preview 2023 Pre-Season discussion