Training 2023 Pre Season

Before Ryder came Marshall was one of the best rucks in the comp. I think we tend to forget that. He's still young for a ruck so if he can get back to dominating games our midfield will be significantly better.

The roles Marshall has played over the past three years have been really selfless. It just became what it was because Ryder was so good at tapping but I think in hindsight we didn't manage the situation that well.

Injury has hurt him too. He's really struggled to get fit.

I thought that last season, the club was sloppy (for want of a better word) in how it was going about things on-field..like there wasn't enough attention to detail in how the guys went about their game. No doubt RL is extremely thorough in his preparation, where Ratts seemed to be more into enpowering the players, at the expense of playing to a system. Dunno..anyway let's see what happens.
Spot on. It was a poor Aldi version of Richmond without the structure. Watching Geelong live, I realised how far behind we were.
If you play like you train, we will be much better structured on field next year.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Fair comment.

I think the only senior player who could find another level is Gresham, who is a betweener, at only 25 years of age.

I think we have heaps. Jones, Hill, Billings, Marshall, Clark, Coffield, Butler, Higgins, Paton, Gresham have all played good footy and just need consistency. Byrnes and Bytel types are old enough to start stepping up and even old man Campbell looked good enough at Sandy to do a late career Hickey.

This is contrary to the message that the club has been saying. Premierships are built not bought, we need to attack the draft and fill holes in the list there (think Melbourne with Jackson and Pickett). As a fanbase, we've been so obsessed with this idea of bringing in a big fish that we've completely ignored the fundamentals of building a team.
I’m 100% sure you have to do drafting and trading. You mention those 2 but then ther is lever and may. Unfortunately our players we brought in aren’t good enough to help a list that needs some of our young kids to become stars. I think some can.

This is contrary to the message that the club has been saying. Premierships are built not bought, we need to attack the draft and fill holes in the list there (think Melbourne with Jackson and Pickett). As a fanbase, we've been so obsessed with this idea of bringing in a big fish that we've completely ignored the fundamentals of building a team.
De Goey was a free agent.

Geelong had about 6 to 8 players who were brought into the club to fill gaps.

Totally true. In saying that the list still needs a big turnover.
40 odd players on the list, at least 6 to 8 will be turned over every year. So 15 to 20% - thats a big turnover.

Won't be any different this year for us.

I think we have heaps. Jones, Hill, Billings, Marshall, Clark, Coffield, Butler, Higgins, Paton, Gresham have all played good footy and just need consistency. Byrnes and Bytel types are old enough to start stepping up and even old man Campbell looked good enough at Sandy to do a late career Hickey.
I don’t think he means 25 and under. I loved the recruitment of jones but his career suggests he he is nothing more than than an average player who can play about 2 above average games a year. I’d say butler had hit his best and it’s downhill from here. Agree on Marshall. The others are younger and I’m not sure that was his point

They have been doing more work and in a more professional structure I.e man on mark. Man running off the line when players snap from the boundary etc then I can ever remember.

Apparently last year Collingwood did a lot of training around game situations and a big part of why they were able to move to more set play stuff in red time. Good that we are modernising.

Last year’s midfield was very good of you look at stats. If you look at how they help the side it was average at best which every single person in the media tasted it. And you you have answered why our midfield was average. They played with very minimal inside mids. We had far too many. And those fat to many had no ability to play elsewhere except for being very average.

They can't score for us. Our forward structure and game plan seemed like something from the 1980s.

Gringo you can’t honestly think the midfield has no bearing on scoring? Come on you are better than that. Based on that theory how the hell did Melbourne win a flag? It wasn’t through anything better than an average forward group.

Being in the media isn't going to have made him a better tactical coach I don't think. Thankfully he doesn't need that to be better coach and the idea that he would lose an understanding of the game is ridiculous I think. But there are plenty of AFL analysts on TV that wouldn't be good coaches.

I actually think it's good he has been able to step away from the intensity of coaching for a while and will have picked up fresh perspectives on how to do things from outside the AFL. Even looking at how to present and edit videos for an audience will be a great asset for a modern day coach.

A few people who went into media during covid have said that they got a fresh perspective on footy from time out of the game. Leppitsch and even Bucks says it gave him a bigger picture look and improved skills. I think it might actually help.

Bucks sacked and the other just an assistant. I totally agree many things learnt over covid but not sure they hel footy clubs.

They said they watched more games and got more out of it. I said it helps coaches get a different perspective which is a benefit. I'm not sure it's a negative.

You're on fire today lol

Totally true. In saying that the list still needs a big turnover.
I love and respect your opinion. Who do you think need to be turned over?
Might actually make an interesting new thread.

I’ll admit I’m another on the side of saying finals is not necessarily our pass-fail this year. There’ll be a lot of “eight point games” with such a logjam in the middle band of sides - pinch our share and we’re absolutely a live chance no doubt. The biggest thing I’m hoping to see improve is our percentage, and by extension the way we lose games. As a broad generalisation it feels we have “won small, lost big” for a little while now, and the blowouts kill us in a few ways, especially if/when we’re in the finals hunt.

We have to lose “better”.

I’m 100% sure you have to do drafting and trading. You mention those 2 but then ther is lever and may. Unfortunately our players we brought in aren’t good enough to help a list that needs some of our young kids to become stars. I think some can.
Melbourne's list was basically ready to go when they brought in Lever and May. The core talent was mostly there as they did their due diligence at the draft. I understand the importance of bringing in players just to top up and help compete, but we won't know whether our list is at that point or not until we see how this season goes. I think we'll have a very clear plan of action once the season is up.

Yep the plan should be simple. Use every possible draft and trading method to improve. Don’t just say it’s the draft or tge trade.

Obviously a year to early but it could easily be tge likes of Ross billings crouch hill but they also could be fine.
Probably add Gresh and Doogs to that list.
Wonder who has been copping a bit of a rev from Ross and whether they’re taking it on the chin or sooking about it?

Probably add Gresh and Doogs to that list.
Wonder who has been copping a bit of a rev from Ross and whether they’re taking it on the chin or sooking about it?
I really rate gresh as a very important player so I hope it isn’t him. The only thing he has done wrong since being recruited is get injured. His form when okaying is very good.

Same.
I hope they can all play to their potential.

Training 2023 Pre Season