Training 2023 Pre Season

Far out Gringo , smashed faces shoulders and ACL’s give these guys a chance.

At what point does potential run out and turn into just not good enough? 6 years is plenty of time even with injury I'd say. Most from that draft should be on their last chance or we start to put the kids development in front of them. Nathan Freeman was gone after 4 seasons of AFL. That 2017 draft is full of stars, our guys are running out of time to step up. Even Snags who came from the same draft should be under pressure.

Relieved Howard isn’t in the leadership group any more!

He's meant to be quite a vocal leader type so probably a bit unlucky. Perhaps they intend to move him on if they can get McKay?

Our picks all look pretty good this year but only time will tell. You probably need about 4 years to see what you've got unless you hit an absolute freak.

Paton just hasn't really stepped up and looks a like a solid GOP. No shame in that but not likely to make a huge jump now. Coffield had the one good season in 2020. Clark has been unlucky with injury but some limits on his aerobic stamina are starting to show up and he was close to being traded out.

King is by far our best hit at the draft since about 2001.
Phillipou, may even surpass the King, & Marshall must be our most astute pick up.

The rookie stuff is a bit of a dice roll. Sinclair off the rookie list has to be even better than Marshall. He still hasn't quite met expectations so far Marshall. Hopefully Phillipou is the next superstar to come on.

Sinclair was lucky for having Billings as a mate haha, Marshall hasn't met expectations? The guy is a hybrid ruck- ruck & rover & a booming kick from c.h.f. Not too many of them around.

Since 2020, Marshall & Ryder's input were down, through inconsistency, because of injury.
Coffield & Paton, lost a season through injury.
Jones was a loss at times, with his speed & point of difference in the midfield
Dmac was a loss at times because of his energy & speed through the midfield
Battle was thrown all over the place
I'll keep banging on, that our list is not that bad.
We still need a 'burst speed bull' of any size in the midfield, another classy ruckman & possibly a small speedy & tough backman.
Our last two drafts, we have not only chosen talented players, but on a needs basis too.
Thing's aren't that bad, even if this year is?
And its not as if, we didn't try & lure a Goldstein or DeGoey

We didn't specifically trade into that draft , we shamelessly sold our pick 10 the year before , for the gain of a second and 3rd round pick.
It gave us Battle and Long. ( We traded our own second for Freeman the year before ).
A long time ago now i met Michael Rix at an Auskick clinic , and i was struck by what a ripper bloke he was, so i can see why people really "like " Ben Long, but he was a really crappy pick. "like" does not equal, a sensible pick .

So we got Battle and Long, and we then had as many first round picks as we ever would have , except the year later.

If we'd kept our pick would we have picked Florent?

We were not alone in the 2017 draft , it was pretty hit or miss.
Raynor.
Brayshaw.
Dow ( if i was a Blue, i'd be as disappointed as i am with Clark, perhaps more ).
Davies-Uniacke
Cerra
Stephenson ( Disappointing ).
Clark ( Disappointing ).
Coffield, ( He's been slow to come on, but seems to be moving really nicely at the moment ).
Naughton , the big one that got away, but we'd have cracked up at the time if we'd picked him.
O'Brian, ( Now on the rookie list i think ).
Bonar ( lots of you had a boner for bonar , but it was groundless ).
Fogarty
Brander Gone
Ling VFL
Zac Bailey
Ed Richards
Jack Higgins, you want him, we have him.

It was the second round where some of the teams picked up some really handy players. Our second had gone on Jack Steele.
The really good choices ( Fritsch , Balta , Kelly , DeKoning etc ) had gone by the time we got Clav ( who was rated fairly highly but slid past the "smarter" recruiters, but even then were some decent midfield depth options, Worpel, Constable.
I remember, I wanted Constable. I was quite disappointed.

Sinclair was lucky for having Billings as a mate haha, Marshall hasn't met expectations? The guy is a hybrid ruck- ruck & rover & a booming kick from c.h.f. Not too many of them around.

He looked ready to become a star and has dropped off since injury and paddy Ryder took games off him. I have hope he steps back up this year but he's been average for a few years now. Sinclair is proper elite.

The word coming out of the club even after his break out year is that we saw him as a forward-ruck

No saying it wasn't worth exploring but I think it's obvious bow he plays his best footy in the ruck and is a below average key forward

Keen to see how he goes this year as the main man

puss in boots awww GIF
So, are there any training write ups for this week at all, or is that secret PM group an actual real thing?
If so, can someone please PM me...I'm ever so good & well behaved.

Just to remind us - Cam McKenzie had 24 disposals today against Collingwood.
It's a pity he went to our direct competition for the peninsula...I liked the idea of us prying him away in a couple of years time, but it will be doubtful with the Hawks. He looks a solid potentially upper tier player...would've complimented King, Pou, & Windy nicely.

I wonder if Cornes will come out and do 2 full days on the radio discussing how bad Geelong are and that they are in for a world of hurt after this game against Brisbane? Honestly look worse than us last week.

Also feeling a lot better about us after watching this Freo v Port game.
Terrible decision making and skills on display.

We literally came up against probably the red hot premiership favourites that had their best 22 on the park.

Training 2023 Pre Season