Max KingShoulder6-9 weeks
Isaac KeelerKnee6-9 weeks
Jack HayesFoot10-12 weeks
Dan McKenzieCalfIndefinite
Zak JonesAchillesIndefinite
Matthew AllisonFootIndefinite
Olli HottonBackIndefinite
Angus McLennanBackIndefinite
We are all happy to see the step up in training intensity, but it has come with some serious injuries to the list. The numbers are ludicrous and questions have to be asked whether we increased the work load and intensity too hard too soon?

We are all happy to see the step up in training intensity, but it has come with some serious injuries to the list. The numbers are ludicrous and questions have to be asked whether we increased the work load and intensity too hard too soon.
I don’t think the majority of those are the result of “increased work load”.

We are all happy to see the step up in training intensity, but it has come with some serious injuries to the list. The numbers are ludicrous and questions have to be asked whether we increased the work load and intensity too hard too soon?
What happened was a mix between a late start for Ross and co and the afl mandated breaks which had our senior core back for like a week before another break for Christmas.

To get the required work in - they increased the workload substantially post new year with the risk this could happen.

And it has.

I don’t think the majority of those are the result of “increased work load”.
The other term was intensity?

King shoulder at training.
Hayes foot at training.
Ross calf training.
McKenzie calf training.
Coffield hamstring then calf training.
Membrey knee training.
Keeler knee training.
Jones achillies training.
Allison foot training.
McLennan (NGA) back training.

The only non training injuries are -
Billings broken leg practice match.
Heath ankle practice match.
Windhager hand practice match.
Hotton back possibly injured before he joined the club.

Stavro we are already making excuses - blaming the AFL for their scheduled breaks. When it is blatant as the nose on your face that the increased training workload & intensity has gone way too far too quickly for this group.

The other term was intensity?

King shoulder at training.
Hayes foot at training.
Ross calf training.
McKenzie calf training.
Coffield hamstring then calf training.
Membrey knee training.
Keeler knee training.
Jones achillies training.
Allison foot training.
McLennan (NGA) back training.

The only non training injuries are -
Billings broken leg practice match.
Heath ankle practice match.
Windhager practice match.
Hotton back possibly injured before he joined ther club.
What’s the alternative?
Would only consider the soft tissue injuries potential “over training” injuries. Then again, what’s the alternative, not train?

What’s the alternative?
Would only consider the soft tissue injuries potential “over training” injuries. Then again, what’s the alternative, not train?
To be perfectly honest, the only one I believe was avoidable was Kings and if the story I was told is true - about how it happened.

It would boil the piss of the fan base.

To be perfectly honest, the only one I believe was avoidable was Kings and if the story I was told is true - about how it happened.

Broken legs and hands avoidable?

Yes I have heard the story, I got that PM. Not ideal, but if his arm can’t handle a yank in training, it would happen in-game also.

Plenty a training report during the season helped provide a guide and some hope for the following week.

Track watching is one of the best things about footy forums. Gives a little insight to what the club are doing.

It is just funny watching people snipe away at those that provide them. Yet I’ve never seen one of those guys provide a quarter of the value to this forum in comparison to someone who is spending their time in real life to supply info for a group of fans online.

Might explain why the saints board is so poorly represented on big footy in comparison to most clubs
The main reason to be here is those track watchers. Those who give enough of a **** to get off the couch and go do some spying for us. Otherwise I’d just talk to my mates who know just as much of nothing as I do

What happened was a mix between a late start for Ross and co and the afl mandated breaks which had our senior core back for like a week before another break for Christmas.

To get the required work in - they increased the workload substantially post new year with the risk this could happen.

And it has.
That’s dumb from the club.

Broken legs and hands avoidable?

Yes I have heard the story, I got that PM. Not ideal, but if his arm can’t handle a yank in training, it would happen in-game also.
It all depends on if the “yank” was done in frustration - which it was made to seem like it was

I have heard the King version also - but to suggest the number of injuries we have are not related to their increased work load and or training intensity is 'head in the sand' stuff. Clearly our blokes weren't doing the work of professional footballers before the changes, but the step up has obviously been increased way too quickly. All the experts quote that the most injuries occur when players are fatigued. You have to train under match like fatigued conditions, but do it later in the preseason when players bodies are ready for it.

Lets not make excuses for the clubs player and injury management, when it has been poor!

Mate we appreciate any training pics or reports you put up, thank you so much for these over the off-season I especially loved the King photos. Got me salivating for his return.

If you have certain things you prefer to share with a small group then no worries, but can I suggest not sharing about that on the forum? It just brings down the vibe and you can imagine it would turn off new posters to always be hearing about secret PM groups where the real gold is shared.

Just a suggestion and feel free to dismiss it, obviously I'm not a mod but in my opinion it brings down the vibe and community feel of the forum.
I have my own secret group I give reports to. I see nothing wrong with that but I’m sick of only pming myself and that idiot never says thank you. If anyone wants join I can send you a report on Ormond.

I have heard the King version also - but to suggest the number of injuries we have are not related to their increased work load and or training intensity is 'head in the sand' stuff. Clearly our blokes weren't doing the work of professional footballers before the changes, but the step up has obviously been increased way too quickly. All the experts quote that the most injuries occur when players are fatigued. You have to train under match like fatigued conditions, but do it later in the preseason when players bodies are ready for it.

Lets not make excuse for the clubs player and injury management, when it has been poor!
Last time Ross was here the same thing happened.

Yeah it’s shit.

But it highlights what was wrong prior. I’d rather go in with 28 blokes to choose from who can do what’s required instead of looking good for 3/4 and falling apart when it matters.

Training 2023 Pre Season